Softwr

Smart Home · head to head

Lutron Caseta vs Particle

Lutron Caseta logo

Lutron Caseta

Smart Home

Professional-grade smart lighting with reliability

From
On request
Rated
-
Particle logo

Particle

Smart Home

Edge-to-cloud IoT platform for connected devices

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Particle has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Lutron Caseta no pricing published on Lutron website; customers directed to retail channels; Particle paid capacity is sold in blocks of 100 devices rather than per device, so 101 devices costs the same as 200
  • They diverge on capability: Lutron Caseta covers Clear Connect RF, Particle covers Device OS.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Lutron Caseta and Particle actually diverge.

Attributes where Lutron Caseta and Particle differ
AttributeLutron CasetaParticle
Starting priceOn requestFree
Pricing modelone-timesubscription
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsIOS, Android, WebParticle devices, Custom hardware, Cloud, Mobile apps
Founded19612013

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Smart Home).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Lutron Caseta

  • Clear Connect RF
  • Reliable Wireless
  • Pico Remotes
  • Geofencing
  • HomeKit
  • Alexa
  • Google Home
  • SmartThings

Only in Particle

  • Device OS
  • Cloud Platform
  • Device Management
  • OTA Updates
  • REST API
  • WebHooks
  • Integration marketplace
  • 3rd party services

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Lutron Caseta

  • Controlling home lighting and shades from a wireless smart switch systemnot Particle

Particle

  • Connecting cellular and wifi IoT devices to a managed cloud platformnot Lutron Caseta
  • Deploying firmware updates and collecting device telemetry at fleet scalenot Lutron Caseta

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Lutron Caseta

  • No pricing published on Lutron website; customers directed to retail channels
  • Costs vary by individual product and must be checked at Amazon, Home Depot, Lowe's, Best Buy, or Target
  • No centralized pricing information available on official Lutron site

Particle

  • Paid capacity is sold in blocks of 100 devices rather than per device, so 101 devices costs the same as 200
  • The Basic block is $299 a month and the Plus block $599 a month
  • The free tier allows 100 devices and 100,000 data operations a month
  • Data operations are the billing unit, so chatty firmware costs more than the device count suggests
  • No overage rates are published at any tier, so exceeding an allowance has no stated cost

Pricing, plan by plan

Lutron Caseta

On request
  • Starter Kit$80/month
    • Bridge
    • Dimmer
    • Remote
  • Dimmer Switch$50/month
    • In-wall dimmer
    • Pico remote compatible

Particle

Free
  • MakerFree
    • 5 free devices
    • Cloud access
    • Basic features
  • Production$100/month
    • Unlimited devices
    • Advanced analytics
    • Enterprise support

Which should you pick?

Choose Lutron Caseta if

  • You need clear connect rf.
  • You work on IOS, Android, Web.
  • You also want reliable wireless.

Choose Particle if

  • You need device os.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Particle devices, Custom hardware, Cloud, Mobile apps.
  • You also want cloud platform.

Questions people ask

Is Lutron Caseta or Particle better?
Neither clearly leads. Lutron Caseta starts at On request and Particle at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Lutron Caseta or Particle?
Particle has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at On request for Lutron Caseta and Free for Particle.
Does Lutron Caseta or Particle run on more platforms?
Lutron Caseta runs on IOS, Android, Web. Particle runs on Particle devices, Custom hardware, Cloud, Mobile apps.
Can I use Particle for free?
Yes. Particle has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Lutron Caseta starts at On request.
What is Lutron Caseta best used for?
Lutron Caseta is most often used for controlling home lighting and shades from a wireless smart switch system. Of those, controlling home lighting and shades from a wireless smart switch system is not what Particle is typically brought in for.
What can Lutron Caseta do that Particle cannot?
Lutron Caseta covers Clear Connect RF, Reliable Wireless, Pico Remotes, Geofencing. Particle covers Device OS, Cloud Platform, Device Management, OTA Updates.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Lutron Caseta: How much does Lutron Caseta cost?

Lutron Caseta does not publish pricing on its official website. Individual product costs must be checked at retail partners including Amazon, Home Depot, Lowe's, Best Buy, and Target where pricing varies by location and availability.

Source
Particle: What are the Particle pricing tiers and their costs?

Particle offers Free ($0, 100 devices, 100K Data Operations/month), Basic ($299/month per block), Plus ($599/month per block), Professional (custom pricing), and Enterprise (custom pricing). Each block supports 100 devices.

Source
Particle: What is a Data Operation and how is it charged?

A Data Operation is Particle's billing unit for user-controlled activities. One operation is charged per device-to-cloud message, cloud-to-device message, Location Fusion call, Ledger sync, or Logic function run. Network transmission and management tasks are included at no additional cost.

Source
Particle: What location data retention does each tier provide?

Location data retention ranges from 3 days in the Free tier up to 6+ months in Professional and Enterprise tiers.

Source
Particle: Are there additional costs for support or single sign-on?

Premium support and SSO are available as optional add-ons to all Particle plans. The pricing page does not specify the cost of these add-ons.

Source
Particle: Is there a minimum contract length or can I cancel anytime?

The Particle pricing page does not specify a minimum contract length, suggesting monthly billing without long-term lock-in.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads