Softwr

Smart Home · head to head

Particle vs Zigbee Alliance

Particle logo

Particle

Smart Home

Edge-to-cloud IoT platform for connected devices

From
Free
Rated
-
Zigbee Alliance logo

Zigbee Alliance

Smart Home

Low-power wireless standard for IoT and smart home

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Particle paid capacity is sold in blocks of 100 devices rather than per device, so 101 devices costs the same as 200; Zigbee Alliance the Internet Archive's capture of the Connectivity Standards Alliance's Zigbee page on 4 January 2024 confirmed Zigbee is a protocol standard rather than a purchased product, with the Alliance's revenue coming from member dues and per-device certification fees rather than a software price list.
  • They diverge on capability: Particle covers Device OS, Zigbee Alliance covers Low Power.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Particle and Zigbee Alliance actually diverge.

Attributes where Particle and Zigbee Alliance differ
AttributeParticleZigbee Alliance
Pricing modelsubscriptionopen-source
PlatformsParticle devices, Custom hardware, Cloud, Mobile appsZigbee devices, Mesh networks, Smart home hubs, IoT platforms
Founded20132002

Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Smart Home).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Particle

  • Device OS
  • Cloud Platform
  • Device Management
  • OTA Updates
  • REST API
  • WebHooks
  • Integration marketplace
  • 3rd party services

Only in Zigbee Alliance

  • Low Power
  • Mesh Networking
  • Self-Healing
  • Scalable
  • Smart home devices
  • Hubs
  • Controllers
  • Integration platforms

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Particle

  • Connecting cellular and wifi IoT devices to a managed cloud platformnot Zigbee Alliance
  • Deploying firmware updates and collecting device telemetry at fleet scalenot Zigbee Alliance

Zigbee Alliance

  • Smart lightingnot Particle
  • Sensor networksnot Particle
  • Home automationnot Particle
  • Industrial monitoringnot Particle

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Particle

  • Paid capacity is sold in blocks of 100 devices rather than per device, so 101 devices costs the same as 200
  • The Basic block is $299 a month and the Plus block $599 a month
  • The free tier allows 100 devices and 100,000 data operations a month
  • Data operations are the billing unit, so chatty firmware costs more than the device count suggests
  • No overage rates are published at any tier, so exceeding an allowance has no stated cost

Zigbee Alliance

  • The Internet Archive's capture of the Connectivity Standards Alliance's Zigbee page on 4 January 2024 confirmed Zigbee is a protocol standard rather than a purchased product, with the Alliance's revenue coming from member dues and per-device certification fees rather than a software price list.

Pricing, plan by plan

Particle

Free
  • MakerFree
    • 5 free devices
    • Cloud access
    • Basic features
  • Production$100/month
    • Unlimited devices
    • Advanced analytics
    • Enterprise support

Zigbee Alliance

Free
  • Open SpecificationFree
    • Low power mesh
    • Self-healing
    • Interoperable

Which should you pick?

Choose Particle if

  • You need device os.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Particle devices, Custom hardware, Cloud, Mobile apps.
  • You also want cloud platform.

Choose Zigbee Alliance if

  • You need low power.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Zigbee devices, Mesh networks, Smart home hubs, IoT platforms.
  • You also want mesh networking.

Questions people ask

Is Particle or Zigbee Alliance better?
Neither clearly leads. Particle starts at Free and Zigbee Alliance at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Particle or Zigbee Alliance?
Particle starts at Free and Zigbee Alliance at Free.
Does Particle or Zigbee Alliance run on more platforms?
Particle runs on Particle devices, Custom hardware, Cloud, Mobile apps. Zigbee Alliance runs on Zigbee devices, Mesh networks, Smart home hubs, IoT platforms.
Can I use Particle for free?
Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
What is Particle best used for?
Particle is most often used for connecting cellular and wifi iot devices to a managed cloud platform, deploying firmware updates and collecting device telemetry at fleet scale. Of those, connecting cellular and wifi iot devices to a managed cloud platform and deploying firmware updates and collecting device telemetry at fleet scale are not what Zigbee Alliance is typically brought in for.
What can Particle do that Zigbee Alliance cannot?
Particle covers Device OS, Cloud Platform, Device Management, OTA Updates. Zigbee Alliance covers Low Power, Mesh Networking, Self-Healing, Scalable.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Particle: What are the Particle pricing tiers and their costs?

Particle offers Free ($0, 100 devices, 100K Data Operations/month), Basic ($299/month per block), Plus ($599/month per block), Professional (custom pricing), and Enterprise (custom pricing). Each block supports 100 devices.

Source
Zigbee Alliance: Does the Connectivity Standards Alliance charge membership fees?

Membership information is not publicly disclosed on the main website. Prospective members must contact the organization directly or access the member login portal at community.csa-iot.org.

Source
Particle: What is a Data Operation and how is it charged?

A Data Operation is Particle's billing unit for user-controlled activities. One operation is charged per device-to-cloud message, cloud-to-device message, Location Fusion call, Ledger sync, or Logic function run. Network transmission and management tasks are included at no additional cost.

Source
Zigbee Alliance: What are the costs for CSA certification or standards development?

Pricing for certification and standards development services is not posted online. Contact the CSA directly through their contact page for specific pricing.

Source
Particle: What location data retention does each tier provide?

Location data retention ranges from 3 days in the Free tier up to 6+ months in Professional and Enterprise tiers.

Source
Zigbee Alliance: Is there a free tier or trial for CSA services?

The homepage does not disclose trial or free tier information. Contact the organization to learn about available options.

Source
Particle: Are there additional costs for support or single sign-on?

Premium support and SSO are available as optional add-ons to all Particle plans. The pricing page does not specify the cost of these add-ons.

Source
Particle: Is there a minimum contract length or can I cancel anytime?

The Particle pricing page does not specify a minimum contract length, suggesting monthly billing without long-term lock-in.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads