Softwr

Smart Home · head to head

Particle vs Ring

Particle logo

Particle

Smart Home

Edge-to-cloud IoT platform for connected devices

From
Free
Rated
-
Ring logo

Ring

Smart Home

Home security with video doorbells and cameras

From
$4.99/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Particle has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Particle paid capacity is sold in blocks of 100 devices rather than per device, so 101 devices costs the same as 200; Ring many false motion alerts triggered by sidewalks, cars, pets, and trees reducing usability
  • They diverge on capability: Particle covers Device OS, Ring covers Video Doorbell.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Particle and Ring actually diverge.

Attributes where Particle and Ring differ
AttributeParticleRing
Starting priceFree$4.99/month
Pricing modelsubscriptionUnknown
Free tierYesNo
PlatformsParticle devices, Custom hardware, Cloud, Mobile appsiOS, Android, Web, Amazon Alexa

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Smart Home), founded (2013).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Particle

  • Device OS
  • Cloud Platform
  • Device Management
  • OTA Updates
  • REST API
  • WebHooks
  • Integration marketplace
  • 3rd party services

Only in Ring

  • Video Doorbell
  • Motion Detection
  • Two-Way Talk
  • Night Vision
  • Alexa
  • SmartThings
  • IFTTT
  • Neighbors app

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Particle

  • Connecting cellular and wifi IoT devices to a managed cloud platformnot Ring
  • Deploying firmware updates and collecting device telemetry at fleet scalenot Ring

Ring

  • Video doorbell monitoringnot Particle
  • Security camera recording and event reviewnot Particle
  • DIY alarm system with optional professional monitoringnot Particle
  • Motion alerts and package-theft deterrencenot Particle
  • Remote live view while away from homenot Particle

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Particle

  • Paid capacity is sold in blocks of 100 devices rather than per device, so 101 devices costs the same as 200
  • The Basic block is $299 a month and the Plus block $599 a month
  • The free tier allows 100 devices and 100,000 data operations a month
  • Data operations are the billing unit, so chatty firmware costs more than the device count suggests
  • No overage rates are published at any tier, so exceeding an allowance has no stated cost

Ring

  • Many false motion alerts triggered by sidewalks, cars, pets, and trees reducing usability
  • Night vision and HDR capabilities are weaker than premium competitors
  • Limited monitoring range covers only front or back door area
  • Requires Ring Protect subscription for cloud video history, person/vehicle detection, and advanced motion zones
  • Documented security breaches with hackers remotely accessing cameras and microphones to speak to users

Pricing, plan by plan

Particle

Free
  • MakerFree
    • 5 free devices
    • Cloud access
    • Basic features
  • Production$100/month
    • Unlimited devices
    • Advanced analytics
    • Enterprise support

Ring

$4.99/month
  • Basic$4.99/month
    • Video history up to 180 days
    • Snapshot capture
    • Smart alerts (people, packages, pets)
  • Plus$10/month
    • Video recording for all Ring devices
    • Single address coverage
    • All Basic features
  • Pro$undefined/month
    • 24/7 professional monitoring
    • Cellular backup service
    • All Plus features

Which should you pick?

Choose Particle if

  • You need device os.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Particle devices, Custom hardware, Cloud, Mobile apps.
  • You also want cloud platform.

Choose Ring if

  • You need video doorbell.
  • You work on iOS, Android, Web, Amazon Alexa.
  • You also want motion detection.

Questions people ask

Is Particle or Ring better?
Neither clearly leads. Particle starts at Free and Ring at $4.99/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Particle or Ring?
Particle has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for Particle and $4.99/month for Ring.
Does Particle or Ring run on more platforms?
Particle runs on Particle devices, Custom hardware, Cloud, Mobile apps. Ring runs on iOS, Android, Web, Amazon Alexa.
Can I use Particle for free?
Yes. Particle has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Ring starts at $4.99/month.
What is Particle best used for?
Particle is most often used for connecting cellular and wifi iot devices to a managed cloud platform, deploying firmware updates and collecting device telemetry at fleet scale. Of those, connecting cellular and wifi iot devices to a managed cloud platform and deploying firmware updates and collecting device telemetry at fleet scale are not what Ring is typically brought in for.
What can Particle do that Ring cannot?
Particle covers Device OS, Cloud Platform, Device Management, OTA Updates. Ring covers Video Doorbell, Motion Detection, Two-Way Talk, Night Vision.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Particle: What are the Particle pricing tiers and their costs?

Particle offers Free ($0, 100 devices, 100K Data Operations/month), Basic ($299/month per block), Plus ($599/month per block), Professional (custom pricing), and Enterprise (custom pricing). Each block supports 100 devices.

Source
Ring: Can I use Ring without a subscription?

Yes, Ring doorbells work without a subscription. Users can view live video, speak through the camera, and receive motion alerts for free. However, video recording storage, advanced person/package detection, and video history require a subscription.

Source
Particle: What is a Data Operation and how is it charged?

A Data Operation is Particle's billing unit for user-controlled activities. One operation is charged per device-to-cloud message, cloud-to-device message, Location Fusion call, Ledger sync, or Logic function run. Network transmission and management tasks are included at no additional cost.

Source
Ring: What are Ring's subscription plan options and pricing?

Ring offers Basic ($4.99/month or $49.99/year) for video history up to 180 days from one device; Plus ($10/month or $100/year) for all devices at one address; and Pro with 24/7 professional monitoring.

Source
Particle: What location data retention does each tier provide?

Location data retention ranges from 3 days in the Free tier up to 6+ months in Professional and Enterprise tiers.

Source
Ring: What platforms can access Ring?

Ring is accessible via iOS and Android mobile apps, web browser at ring.com, and integrates with Amazon Alexa for voice control and display on Echo devices.

Source
Particle: Are there additional costs for support or single sign-on?

Premium support and SSO are available as optional add-ons to all Particle plans. The pricing page does not specify the cost of these add-ons.

Source
Ring: What are Ring's battery life expectations?

Ring battery doorbell battery life varies by usage patterns and motion alert frequency. High-traffic areas may require recharging every few weeks.

Source
Particle: Is there a minimum contract length or can I cancel anytime?

The Particle pricing page does not specify a minimum contract length, suggesting monthly billing without long-term lock-in.

Source
Ring: Does Ring have privacy concerns?

Ring has faced documented security breaches. In 2019, hackers remotely accessed Ring systems, watching and speaking to users. The use of cameras and microphones raises privacy concerns for some users.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads