Softwr

News · head to head

Flipboard vs Prowly

Flipboard logo

Flipboard

News

Your personal magazine for news and stories

From
Free
Rated
-
Prowly logo

Prowly

News

PR software to tell your story and track results

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Flipboard has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Flipboard no pricing information is published on the website; Prowly no pricing published on the website
  • They diverge on capability: Flipboard covers Magazine-style layout, Prowly covers Media database.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Flipboard and Prowly actually diverge.

Attributes where Flipboard and Prowly differ
AttributeFlipboardProwly
Starting priceFreeOn request
Pricing modelfreesubscription
Free tierYesNo
PlatformsWeb, Ios, AndroidWeb
Founded20102013

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (News).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Flipboard

  • Magazine-style layout
  • Content curation
  • Topic discovery
  • Smart magazines
  • Social sharing
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn

Only in Prowly

  • Media database
  • Press release builder
  • Online newsroom
  • Email pitching
  • Coverage tracking
  • Semrush
  • Google Analytics
  • Slack

Both cover

  • Web support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Flipboard

  • News consumptionnot Prowly
  • Content discoverynot Prowly
  • Magazine creationnot Prowly
  • Social readingnot Prowly

Prowly

  • Media outreachnot Flipboard
  • Press release creationnot Flipboard
  • Journalist discoverynot Flipboard
  • PR measurementnot Flipboard

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Flipboard

  • No pricing information is published on the website

Prowly

  • No pricing published on the website
  • Pricing tiers and costs must be requested through signup or sales inquiry

Pricing, plan by plan

Flipboard

Free
  • FreeFree
    • Unlimited reading
    • Personalized feeds
    • Magazine creation

Prowly

On request
  • Essential$369/month
    • Media database
    • Press release creator
    • Online newsroom
  • Professional$589/month
    • All Essential features
    • Coverage tracking
    • Advanced analytics
  • EnterpriseFree
    • Unlimited features
    • API access
    • Custom integrations

Which should you pick?

Choose Flipboard if

  • You need magazine-style layout.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, Ios, Android.
  • You also want content curation.

Choose Prowly if

  • You need media database.
  • You also want press release builder.

Questions people ask

Is Flipboard or Prowly better?
Neither clearly leads. Flipboard starts at Free and Prowly at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Flipboard or Prowly?
Flipboard has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for Flipboard and On request for Prowly.
Does Flipboard or Prowly run on more platforms?
Flipboard runs on Web, Ios, Android. Prowly runs on Web.
Can I use Flipboard for free?
Yes. Flipboard has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Prowly starts at On request.
What is Flipboard best used for?
Flipboard is most often used for news consumption, content discovery, magazine creation, social reading. Of those, news consumption and content discovery are not what Prowly is typically brought in for.
What can Flipboard do that Prowly cannot?
Flipboard covers Magazine-style layout, Content curation, Topic discovery, Smart magazines. Prowly covers Media database, Press release builder, Online newsroom, Email pitching. Both handle Web support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Flipboard: How much does Flipboard cost?

No pricing information is disclosed on Flipboard's website. The service provides options to sign up and log in, but the specific pricing model or whether the service is free or paid is not stated.

Source
Prowly: How much does Prowly cost?

Prowly does not display pricing on its website. Users must sign up for the platform or contact the sales team to learn about available plans and pricing.

Source
Flipboard: Is Flipboard free or paid?

Flipboard's pricing model is not disclosed on their public website. Users can access the platform by signing up or logging in, but costs and features associated with different tiers are not published.

Source
Prowly: What payment model does Prowly use?

The pricing page references plan selection but does not display available tiers, pricing models, or billing options. Contact Prowly sales for details on subscription or usage-based pricing.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads