Softwr

CAD · head to head

Inventor vs DraftSight

Inventor logo

Inventor

CAD

Professional-grade 3D mechanical design

From
$29/month
Rated
-
DraftSight logo

DraftSight

CAD

Professional 2D CAD drafting

From
$29/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Inventor pricing shown as template variables on the page, suggesting dynamic or region-specific pricing; DraftSight specific pricing amounts not disclosed on website
  • They diverge on capability: Inventor covers Parametric modeling, DraftSight covers DWG/DXF support.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Inventor and DraftSight actually diverge.

Attributes where Inventor and DraftSight differ
AttributeInventorDraftSight
PlatformsWindowsWindows, MacOS, Linux
Founded19821981

Identical on both: starting price ($29/month), pricing model (subscription), free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (CAD).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Inventor

  • Parametric modeling
  • Assembly design
  • Sheet metal
  • Simulation
  • Rendering
  • Technical documentation
  • Frame generator
  • AutoCAD

Only in DraftSight

  • DWG/DXF support
  • 2D drafting
  • 3D modeling
  • Batch printing
  • PDF import
  • Layer management
  • SolidWorks
  • CATIA

Both cover

  • Windows support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Inventor

  • Mechanical designnot DraftSight
  • Product developmentnot DraftSight
  • Manufacturing documentationnot DraftSight

DraftSight

  • 2D drafting and annotation on DWG filesnot Inventor
  • Opening and editing DWG drawings without AutoCADnot Inventor
  • Architectural and engineering drawing productionnot Inventor
  • Working alongside SOLIDWORKS in a Dassault toolchainnot Inventor

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Inventor

  • Pricing shown as template variables on the page, suggesting dynamic or region-specific pricing
  • No clear pricing information readily available on the overview page

DraftSight

  • Specific pricing amounts not disclosed on website
  • Directs customers to contact sales or visit store for pricing
  • Three tiers available but feature differences not fully detailed

Pricing, plan by plan

Inventor

$29/month
  • Inventor$2085/month
    • Full mechanical design
    • Simulation
    • Documentation
  • Product Design & Manufacturing Collection$2475/month
    • Inventor + AutoCAD + more

DraftSight

$29/month
  • Standard$99/month
    • 2D drafting
  • Professional$199/month
    • 2D + 3D
  • Premium$499/month
    • Advanced features

Which should you pick?

Choose Inventor if

  • You need parametric modeling.
  • You work on Windows.
  • You also want assembly design.

Choose DraftSight if

  • You need dwg/dxf support.
  • You work on Windows, MacOS, Linux.
  • You also want 2d drafting.

Questions people ask

Is Inventor or DraftSight better?
Neither clearly leads. Inventor starts at $29/month and DraftSight at $29/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Inventor or DraftSight?
Inventor starts at $29/month and DraftSight at $29/month.
Does Inventor or DraftSight run on more platforms?
Inventor runs on Windows. DraftSight runs on Windows, MacOS, Linux.
What is Inventor best used for?
Inventor is most often used for mechanical design, product development, manufacturing documentation. Of those, mechanical design and product development are not what DraftSight is typically brought in for.
What can Inventor do that DraftSight cannot?
Inventor covers Parametric modeling, Assembly design, Sheet metal, Simulation. DraftSight covers DWG/DXF support, 2D drafting, 3D modeling, Batch printing. Both handle Windows support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Inventor: How much does Autodesk Inventor cost?

Autodesk Inventor pricing is not displayed on the overview page. Monthly and annual subscription options are available, including single-year and multi-year terms. Customers can access pricing through their Autodesk Account or contact sales.

Source
DraftSight: Is there a free trial for DraftSight?

Yes, DraftSight offers a 30-day full-featured trial available for download. The trial provides complete access to all 2D/3D tools and advanced features.

Source
Inventor: Is there a free trial for Autodesk Inventor?

Yes, Autodesk offers a 30-day free trial of Inventor. You can start your project and try the software for free during this period.

Source
DraftSight: What DraftSight tiers are available?

DraftSight offers three pricing tiers: Professional (core 2D CAD tools), Premium (adds advanced tools, STEP import, and BIM module), and Enterprise (for large organizations with multiple sites).

Source
DraftSight: What licensing options does DraftSight provide?

DraftSight offers Named-User Licensing for individuals and dedicated workstations, Network Licensing for shared access across users and locations, Perpetual Licensing for one-time purchase, and Cloud and Remote Access options.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads