Softwr

CAD · head to head

DraftSight vs MoI (Moment of Inspiration)

DraftSight logo

DraftSight

CAD

Professional 2D CAD drafting

From
$29/month
Rated
-
MoI (Moment of Inspiration) logo

MoI (Moment of Inspiration)

CAD

NURBS modeller bought once, built for designers rather than engineers

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: DraftSight specific pricing amounts not disclosed on website; MoI (Moment of Inspiration) it is developed by one person, so releases are years apart and there is no support organisation to escalate to when something blocks your work.
  • They diverge on capability: DraftSight covers DWG/DXF support, MoI (Moment of Inspiration) covers Direct NURBS modelling.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 31 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which DraftSight and MoI (Moment of Inspiration) actually diverge.

Attributes where DraftSight and MoI (Moment of Inspiration) differ
AttributeDraftSightMoI (Moment of Inspiration)
Starting price$29/monthOn request
Pricing modelsubscriptionOne-time purchase
PlatformsWindows, MacOS, LinuxWindows, macOS
Founded1981Unknown

Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (CAD).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in DraftSight

  • DWG/DXF support
  • 2D drafting
  • 3D modeling
  • Batch printing
  • PDF import
  • Layer management
  • SolidWorks
  • CATIA

Only in MoI (Moment of Inspiration)

  • Direct NURBS modelling
  • Clean mesh export
  • Pen-oriented interface
  • Boolean toolset
  • STEP and IGES exchange
  • Scriptable commands

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

DraftSight

  • 2D drafting and annotation on DWG filesnot MoI (Moment of Inspiration)
  • Opening and editing DWG drawings without AutoCADnot MoI (Moment of Inspiration)
  • Architectural and engineering drawing productionnot MoI (Moment of Inspiration)
  • Working alongside SOLIDWORKS in a Dassault toolchainnot MoI (Moment of Inspiration)

MoI (Moment of Inspiration)

  • Converting CAD surfaces into clean quad meshes for a polygon or sculpting applicationnot DraftSight
  • Modelling hard-surface concept designs where form matters and engineering documentation does notnot DraftSight
  • Working on older or low-specification hardware that will not run mainstream CADnot DraftSight
  • Buying a modelling tool outright rather than committing to a recurring CAD subscriptionnot DraftSight

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

DraftSight

  • Specific pricing amounts not disclosed on website
  • Directs customers to contact sales or visit store for pricing
  • Three tiers available but feature differences not fully detailed

MoI (Moment of Inspiration)

  • It is developed by one person, so releases are years apart and there is no support organisation to escalate to when something blocks your work.
  • There is no parametric history and no assembly structure, so a late design change means remodelling rather than editing a feature.
  • It produces no dimensioned drawings or manufacturing documentation, so anything heading for production needs a second package for the paperwork.
  • Exchange is limited to surface formats such as STEP and IGES with no native interoperability with mainstream MCAD systems, so it sits at the edge of an engineering pipeline rather than inside it.
  • Each major version is a fresh purchase, and the long gaps between versions mean a fix or a feature you need can be several years away with no interim release.

Pricing, plan by plan

DraftSight

$29/month
  • Standard$99/month
    • 2D drafting
  • Professional$199/month
    • 2D + 3D
  • Premium$499/month
    • Advanced features

MoI (Moment of Inspiration)

On request
  • MoI$undefined/year
    • Perpetual licence for one major version
    • Windows and macOS
    • Paid upgrade for each subsequent major version

Which should you pick?

Choose DraftSight if

  • You need dwg/dxf support.
  • You work on Windows, MacOS, Linux.
  • You also want 2d drafting.

Choose MoI (Moment of Inspiration) if

  • You need direct nurbs modelling.
  • You work on Windows, macOS.
  • You also want clean mesh export.

Questions people ask

Is DraftSight or MoI (Moment of Inspiration) better?
Neither clearly leads. DraftSight starts at $29/month and MoI (Moment of Inspiration) at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, DraftSight or MoI (Moment of Inspiration)?
DraftSight starts at $29/month and MoI (Moment of Inspiration) at On request.
Does DraftSight or MoI (Moment of Inspiration) run on more platforms?
DraftSight runs on Windows, MacOS, Linux. MoI (Moment of Inspiration) runs on Windows, macOS.
What is DraftSight best used for?
DraftSight is most often used for 2d drafting and annotation on dwg files, opening and editing dwg drawings without autocad, architectural and engineering drawing production, working alongside solidworks in a dassault toolchain. Of those, 2d drafting and annotation on dwg files and opening and editing dwg drawings without autocad are not what MoI (Moment of Inspiration) is typically brought in for.
What can DraftSight do that MoI (Moment of Inspiration) cannot?
DraftSight covers DWG/DXF support, 2D drafting, 3D modeling, Batch printing. MoI (Moment of Inspiration) covers Direct NURBS modelling, Clean mesh export, Pen-oriented interface, Boolean toolset.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

DraftSight: Is there a free trial for DraftSight?

Yes, DraftSight offers a 30-day full-featured trial available for download. The trial provides complete access to all 2D/3D tools and advanced features.

Source
MoI (Moment of Inspiration): Is it a subscription?

No. It is bought outright per major version, and each new major version is a separate paid upgrade.

DraftSight: What DraftSight tiers are available?

DraftSight offers three pricing tiers: Professional (core 2D CAD tools), Premium (adds advanced tools, STEP import, and BIM module), and Enterprise (for large organizations with multiple sites).

Source
MoI (Moment of Inspiration): Can it replace Rhino?

For direct form modelling, often yes. For anything needing Grasshopper, drawings, plugins or engineering interoperability, no.

DraftSight: What licensing options does DraftSight provide?

DraftSight offers Named-User Licensing for individuals and dedicated workstations, Network Licensing for shared access across users and locations, Perpetual Licensing for one-time purchase, and Cloud and Remote Access options.

Source
MoI (Moment of Inspiration): Why do 3D artists use it alongside other tools?

Its NURBS to polygon conversion produces cleaner meshes than most CAD exporters, which saves retopology work downstream.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads