CAD · head to head
DraftSight vs Creo
The short version
- Each has a real cost: DraftSight specific pricing amounts not disclosed on website; Creo every Creo user must buy a licence of the Creo Design Essentials package as a minimum before anything else can be added
- They diverge on capability: DraftSight covers DWG/DXF support, Creo covers Parametric modeling.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which DraftSight and Creo actually diverge.
| Attribute | DraftSight | Creo |
|---|---|---|
| Platforms | Windows, MacOS, Linux | Windows |
| Founded | 1981 | 1985 |
Identical on both: starting price ($29/month), pricing model (subscription), free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (CAD).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in DraftSight
- DWG/DXF support
- 2D drafting
- 3D modeling
- Batch printing
- PDF import
- Layer management
- SolidWorks
- CATIA
Only in Creo
- Parametric modeling
- Direct modeling
- Simulation
- Generative design
- Additive manufacturing
- AR integration
- Model-based definition
- Windchill PLM
Both cover
- Windows support
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
DraftSight
- 2D drafting and annotation on DWG filesnot Creo
- Opening and editing DWG drawings without AutoCADnot Creo
- Architectural and engineering drawing productionnot Creo
- Working alongside SOLIDWORKS in a Dassault toolchainnot Creo
Creo
- Parametric 3D mechanical CAD for product and machinery designnot DraftSight
- Mold design and mold machining workflowsnot DraftSight
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
DraftSight
- Specific pricing amounts not disclosed on website
- Directs customers to contact sales or visit store for pricing
- Three tiers available but feature differences not fully detailed
Creo
- Every Creo user must buy a licence of the Creo Design Essentials package as a minimum before anything else can be added
- Capabilities such as the Generative Design Extension, Creo Simulation Live, Advanced Assembly Extension and GD&T Advisor are sold as separate paid extensions
- Published prices in the PTC Store cover only Creo Design Essentials, the Creo Suites and select extensions; the other design packages require talking to sales
- Buying an individual extension requires contacting a sales representative rather than self service
Pricing, plan by plan
DraftSight
$29/month- Standard$99/month
- 2D drafting
- Professional$199/month
- 2D + 3D
- Premium$499/month
- Advanced features
Creo
$29/month- Creo Elements/Direct$2310/month
- Direct modeling
- Creo Parametric$2310/month
- Parametric modeling
- Simulation
- Creo+$2930/month
- SaaS delivery
- Real-time collaboration
Which should you pick?
Choose DraftSight if
- You need dwg/dxf support.
- You work on Windows, MacOS, Linux.
- You also want 2d drafting.
Choose Creo if
- You need parametric modeling.
- You work on Windows.
- You also want direct modeling.
Questions people ask
- Is DraftSight or Creo better?
- Neither clearly leads. DraftSight starts at $29/month and Creo at $29/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, DraftSight or Creo?
- DraftSight starts at $29/month and Creo at $29/month.
- Does DraftSight or Creo run on more platforms?
- DraftSight runs on Windows, MacOS, Linux. Creo runs on Windows.
- What is DraftSight best used for?
- DraftSight is most often used for 2d drafting and annotation on dwg files, opening and editing dwg drawings without autocad, architectural and engineering drawing production, working alongside solidworks in a dassault toolchain. Of those, 2d drafting and annotation on dwg files and opening and editing dwg drawings without autocad are not what Creo is typically brought in for.
- What can DraftSight do that Creo cannot?
- DraftSight covers DWG/DXF support, 2D drafting, 3D modeling, Batch printing. Creo covers Parametric modeling, Direct modeling, Simulation, Generative design. Both handle Windows support.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
DraftSight: Is there a free trial for DraftSight?
Yes, DraftSight offers a 30-day full-featured trial available for download. The trial provides complete access to all 2D/3D tools and advanced features.
SourceCreo: Does Creo offer a free trial or evaluation version?
Yes, PTC offers a free trial of Creo. Users can instantly access a fully functional trial of Creo. The page also provides a 30-day free trial option for both Creo and Creo+.
SourceDraftSight: What DraftSight tiers are available?
DraftSight offers three pricing tiers: Professional (core 2D CAD tools), Premium (adds advanced tools, STEP import, and BIM module), and Enterprise (for large organizations with multiple sites).
SourceCreo: What licensing options does Creo provide?
Creo supports flexible licensing options including on-premises solution and Creo+, a SaaS offering. Licensing tiers support solo designers, small teams up to 5 licenses, and growing teams with 5 or more licenses. PTC also offers a startup program with free or discounted access.
SourceDraftSight: What licensing options does DraftSight provide?
DraftSight offers Named-User Licensing for individuals and dedicated workstations, Network Licensing for shared access across users and locations, Perpetual Licensing for one-time purchase, and Cloud and Remote Access options.
SourceCreo: Is Creo free for students and educators?
Yes, Creo is available for free to students and educators through PTC Education. Students and educators from grade school through university can get free access to Creo to learn advanced CAD capabilities.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- DraftSight vs V-Ray
- DraftSight vs FreeCAD
- DraftSight vs Enscape
- DraftSight vs KeyShot
- DraftSight vs BricsCAD
- DraftSight vs Inventor
- DraftSight vs MicroSurvey CAD
- DraftSight vs Bentley MicroStation
- DraftSight vs Shapr3D
- DraftSight vs ZBrush
- DraftSight vs Bentley iTwin Capture Modeler
- DraftSight vs Carlson Software
- DraftSight vs Alibre Design
- DraftSight vs Altium 365
- DraftSight vs Bambu Studio
- DraftSight vs CloudCompare
- DraftSight vs COMSOL Multiphysics
- DraftSight vs IronCAD
- DraftSight vs SolveSpace
- DraftSight vs Houdini
- DraftSight vs ANSYS Fluent
- DraftSight vs CoreTechnologie
- DraftSight vs Mari
- DraftSight vs Modo
- Creo vs V-Ray
- Creo vs FreeCAD
- Creo vs Enscape
- Creo vs KeyShot
- Creo vs BricsCAD
- Creo vs Inventor
- Creo vs MicroSurvey CAD
- Creo vs Bentley MicroStation
- Creo vs Shapr3D
- Creo vs ZBrush
- Creo vs Bentley iTwin Capture Modeler
- Creo vs Carlson Software
- Creo vs Alibre Design
- Creo vs Altium 365
- Creo vs Bambu Studio
- Creo vs CloudCompare
- Creo vs COMSOL Multiphysics
- Creo vs IronCAD
- Creo vs SolveSpace
- Creo vs Houdini
- Creo vs ANSYS Fluent
- Creo vs CoreTechnologie
- Creo vs Mari
- Creo vs Modo


