Design · head to head
Affinity Designer vs Zeplin

Affinity Designer
Design
Professional graphic design software for everyone
- From
- $69.99/one-time
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Only Zeplin has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: Affinity Designer premium AI features require separate Canva subscription; pricing for those plans not disclosed; Zeplin the free plan is limited to 1 project and 100 screens and works only in a personal workspace
- They diverge on capability: Affinity Designer covers Vector drawing, Zeplin covers Design specs.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Affinity Designer and Zeplin actually diverge.
| Attribute | Affinity Designer | Zeplin |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | $69.99/one-time | Free |
| Pricing model | one-time | subscription |
| Free tier | No | Yes |
| Platforms | Windows, Macos, Ios | Web, Desktop, Mobile |
| Founded | 1994 | 2014 |
Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Design).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Affinity Designer
- Vector drawing
- Bezier tools
- Gradient tools
- Typography
- Pixel-perfect editing
- Artboards
- Symbols
- Non-destructive effects
Only in Zeplin
- Design specs
- Asset export
- Code snippets
- Design tokens
- Comments
- Version control
- Handoff workflow
- Accessibility checks
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Affinity Designer
- Logo designnot Zeplin
- Vector illustrationnot Zeplin
- Icon designnot Zeplin
- Brandingnot Zeplin
Zeplin
- Handing off design specs from Figma or Sketch to developersnot Affinity Designer
- Sharing screens, assets and style guides with an engineering teamnot Affinity Designer
- Reviewing and commenting on design versionsnot Affinity Designer
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Affinity Designer
- Premium AI features require separate Canva subscription; pricing for those plans not disclosed
- Core Affinity tools are free but Canva premium add-on costs are not detailed
Zeplin
- The free plan is limited to 1 project and 100 screens and works only in a personal workspace
- Free plan AI reviews are capped at 3 per week
- Role based permissions require the Advanced plan or higher
- Single sign on, multi factor authentication, activity logs and invoiced billing are Enterprise only
- Priority 24 hour support is Enterprise only
- Basic plan caps screens at 1,000 per project and is priced per project rather than per seat
- Enterprise pricing is by quote with no published rate
Pricing, plan by plan
Affinity Designer
$69.99/one-time- Standard$69.99/one-time
- Full version
- All features
- Lifetime updates
Zeplin
Free- FreeFree
- 1 project
- 1 workspace
- Basic specs
- Starter$19/month
- Unlimited projects
- Multiple workspaces
- Advanced specs
- Professional$49/month
- Everything in Starter
- Team collaboration
- Admin controls
Which should you pick?
Choose Affinity Designer if
- You need vector drawing.
- You work on Windows, Macos, Ios.
- You also want bezier tools.
Choose Zeplin if
- You need design specs.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Web, Desktop, Mobile.
- You also want asset export.
Questions people ask
- Is Affinity Designer or Zeplin better?
- Neither clearly leads. Affinity Designer starts at $69.99/one-time and Zeplin at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Affinity Designer or Zeplin?
- Zeplin has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $69.99/one-time for Affinity Designer and Free for Zeplin.
- Does Affinity Designer or Zeplin run on more platforms?
- Affinity Designer runs on Windows, Macos, Ios. Zeplin runs on Web, Desktop, Mobile.
- Can I use Zeplin for free?
- Yes. Zeplin has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Affinity Designer starts at $69.99/one-time.
- What is Affinity Designer best used for?
- Affinity Designer is most often used for logo design, vector illustration, icon design, branding. Of those, logo design and vector illustration are not what Zeplin is typically brought in for.
- What can Affinity Designer do that Zeplin cannot?
- Affinity Designer covers Vector drawing, Bezier tools, Gradient tools, Typography. Zeplin covers Design specs, Asset export, Code snippets, Design tokens.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Affinity Designer: Is Affinity Designer free?
Yes, Affinity Designer is completely free. Every tool in the Pixel, Vector, and Layout studios, plus all customization and export features, are available at no cost with no seat count restrictions or payment requirements.
SourceZeplin: How much does Zeplin Advanced cost?
Advanced costs $12 per seat per month when paid annually, with annual subscriptions offering 2 months off versus monthly rates.
SourceAffinity Designer: Are there premium features available in Affinity by Canva?
Affinity by Canva includes optional AI features available through separate Canva premium subscriptions (Pro, Business, Enterprise, Education tiers). Core design tools remain free; premium AI functionality requires a Canva subscription.
SourceZeplin: What's the difference between Free and Basic plans?
Free covers 1 project with 100 screens and 30-day version history. Basic offers 1-12 projects with practically unlimited screens per project and 1-year version history.
SourceAffinity Designer: Do I need to pay for Affinity Designer updates?
No. Affinity by Canva receives free updates and new features over time. The core application and all design, editing, and layout tools are updated at no additional cost.
SourceZeplin: Can I add unlimited team members?
Yes, Free and Basic plans allow unlimited team members. Advanced/Enterprise assign roles with Reviewers being free and unlimited.
SourceZeplin: What can Reviewers do?
Reviewers can view designs and documentation and approve requests, but lack access to developer specs.
SourceRelated pages
More on Affinity Designer
Other head to heads
- Affinity Designer vs Adobe Illustrator
- Affinity Designer vs Gravit Designer
- Affinity Designer vs Inkscape
- Affinity Designer vs Vectr
- Affinity Designer vs Linearity Curve
- Affinity Designer vs Canva
- Affinity Designer vs ProtoPie
- Affinity Designer vs Balsamiq Wireframes
- Affinity Designer vs Abstract
- Affinity Designer vs Krea
- Affinity Designer vs Magnific
- Affinity Designer vs Marvel
- Affinity Designer vs Photopea
- Affinity Designer vs Playground AI
- Affinity Designer vs Principle
- Affinity Designer vs Procreate Dreams
- Affinity Designer vs Rebelle
- Affinity Designer vs Rive
- Affinity Designer vs Spline
- Affinity Designer vs LottieFiles
- Affinity Designer vs InVision
- Affinity Designer vs Corel Painter
- Affinity Designer vs PaintTool SAI
- Affinity Designer vs Axure RP
- Affinity Designer vs Cadence Allegro
- Affinity Designer vs Adobe XD
- Zeplin vs Adobe Illustrator
- Zeplin vs Gravit Designer
- Zeplin vs Inkscape
- Zeplin vs Vectr
- Zeplin vs Linearity Curve
- Zeplin vs Canva
- Zeplin vs ProtoPie
- Zeplin vs Balsamiq Wireframes
- Zeplin vs Abstract
- Zeplin vs Krea
- Zeplin vs Magnific
- Zeplin vs Marvel
- Zeplin vs Photopea
- Zeplin vs Playground AI
- Zeplin vs Principle
- Zeplin vs Procreate Dreams
- Zeplin vs Rebelle
- Zeplin vs Rive
- Zeplin vs Spline
- Zeplin vs LottieFiles
- Zeplin vs InVision
- Zeplin vs Corel Painter
- Zeplin vs PaintTool SAI
- Zeplin vs Axure RP
- Zeplin vs Cadence Allegro
- Zeplin vs Adobe XD

