Softwr

Design · head to head

Abstract vs Affinity Designer

Abstract logo

Abstract

Design

Design version control and asset management

From
Free
Rated
-
Affinity Designer logo

Affinity Designer

Design

Professional graphic design software for everyone

From
$69.99/one-time
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Abstract has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Abstract the product appears to be gone. Its documentation path 404s, goabstract.com no longer resolves, and abstract.com now belongs to an unrelated venture capital firm; Affinity Designer premium AI features require separate Canva subscription; pricing for those plans not disclosed
  • They diverge on capability: Abstract covers Version control, Affinity Designer covers Vector drawing.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Abstract and Affinity Designer actually diverge.

Attributes where Abstract and Affinity Designer differ
AttributeAbstractAffinity Designer
Starting priceFree$69.99/one-time
Pricing modelsubscriptionone-time
Free tierYesNo
PlatformsMacos, WebWindows, Macos, Ios
Founded20151994

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Design).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Abstract

  • Version control
  • Branching & merging
  • Asset library
  • Design tokens
  • Collaboration
  • File management
  • Comments
  • Activity tracking

Only in Affinity Designer

  • Vector drawing
  • Bezier tools
  • Gradient tools
  • Typography
  • Pixel-perfect editing
  • Artboards
  • Symbols
  • Non-destructive effects

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Abstract

  • Design systemsnot Affinity Designer
  • Version controlnot Affinity Designer
  • Asset managementnot Affinity Designer
  • Team collaborationnot Affinity Designer

Affinity Designer

  • Logo designnot Abstract
  • Vector illustrationnot Abstract
  • Icon designnot Abstract
  • Brandingnot Abstract

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Abstract

  • The product appears to be gone. Its documentation path 404s, goabstract.com no longer resolves, and abstract.com now belongs to an unrelated venture capital firm
  • Built around Sketch files, so it never covered teams that moved to Figma

Affinity Designer

  • Premium AI features require separate Canva subscription; pricing for those plans not disclosed
  • Core Affinity tools are free but Canva premium add-on costs are not detailed

Pricing, plan by plan

Abstract

Free
  • FreeFree
    • 1 shared library
    • Basic version control
    • 2 team members
  • Pro$12/month
    • Unlimited libraries
    • Full version control
    • Unlimited team members
  • Enterprise$50/month
    • Everything in Pro
    • Advanced admin controls
    • Compliance & security

Affinity Designer

$69.99/one-time
  • Standard$69.99/one-time
    • Full version
    • All features
    • Lifetime updates

Which should you pick?

Choose Abstract if

  • You need version control.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Macos, Web.
  • You also want branching & merging.

Choose Affinity Designer if

  • You need vector drawing.
  • You work on Windows, Macos, Ios.
  • You also want bezier tools.

Questions people ask

Is Abstract or Affinity Designer better?
Neither clearly leads. Abstract starts at Free and Affinity Designer at $69.99/one-time, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Abstract or Affinity Designer?
Abstract has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for Abstract and $69.99/one-time for Affinity Designer.
Does Abstract or Affinity Designer run on more platforms?
Abstract runs on Macos, Web. Affinity Designer runs on Windows, Macos, Ios.
Can I use Abstract for free?
Yes. Abstract has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Affinity Designer starts at $69.99/one-time.
What is Abstract best used for?
Abstract is most often used for design systems, version control, asset management, team collaboration. Of those, design systems and version control are not what Affinity Designer is typically brought in for.
What can Abstract do that Affinity Designer cannot?
Abstract covers Version control, Branching & merging, Asset library, Design tokens. Affinity Designer covers Vector drawing, Bezier tools, Gradient tools, Typography.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Affinity Designer: Is Affinity Designer free?

Yes, Affinity Designer is completely free. Every tool in the Pixel, Vector, and Layout studios, plus all customization and export features, are available at no cost with no seat count restrictions or payment requirements.

Source
Affinity Designer: Are there premium features available in Affinity by Canva?

Affinity by Canva includes optional AI features available through separate Canva premium subscriptions (Pro, Business, Enterprise, Education tiers). Core design tools remain free; premium AI functionality requires a Canva subscription.

Source
Affinity Designer: Do I need to pay for Affinity Designer updates?

No. Affinity by Canva receives free updates and new features over time. The core application and all design, editing, and layout tools are updated at no additional cost.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads