Design · head to head
Affinity Designer vs Magnific

Affinity Designer
Design
Professional graphic design software for everyone
- From
- $69.99/one-time
- Rated
- -

Magnific
Design
A creative AI platform for image, video, and audio generation, formerly Freepik AI
- From
- €12/month
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Each has a real cost: Affinity Designer premium AI features require separate Canva subscription; pricing for those plans not disclosed; Magnific premium plan limited to 240K credits annually
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Affinity Designer and Magnific actually diverge.
| Attribute | Affinity Designer | Magnific |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | $69.99/one-time | €12/month |
| Pricing model | one-time | subscription |
| Platforms | Windows, Macos, Ios | Web |
| Founded | 1994 | Unknown |
Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Design).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Affinity Designer
- Vector drawing
- Bezier tools
- Gradient tools
- Typography
- Pixel-perfect editing
- Artboards
- Symbols
- Non-destructive effects
Only in Magnific
Nothing recorded that Affinity Designer does not also cover.
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Affinity Designer
- Logo designnot Magnific
- Vector illustrationnot Magnific
- Icon designnot Magnific
- Brandingnot Magnific
Magnific
- AI image upscaling for commercial projectsnot Affinity Designer
- Video enhancement with AI-powered editingnot Affinity Designer
- Music and audio generation for content creationnot Affinity Designer
- Design workspace collaboration with shared canvasesnot Affinity Designer
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Affinity Designer
- Premium AI features require separate Canva subscription; pricing for those plans not disclosed
- Core Affinity tools are free but Canva premium add-on costs are not detailed
Magnific
- Premium plan limited to 240K credits annually
- Pricing in EUR only (currency conversion fees may apply)
- Credits expire after 1 year of inactivity
- Different AI models consume varying credits
Pricing, plan by plan
Affinity Designer
$69.99/one-time- Standard$69.99/one-time
- Full version
- All features
- Lifetime updates
Magnific
€12/month- Premium$12/month
- 240K credits per year
- Access to all image, video and audio models
- Commercial AI license
- Premium+$27/month
- 600K credits per year
- Commercial AI license and music rights
- Best value for unlimited generations
- Pro$172.5/month
- 4M credits per year with best credit value
- Commercial AI license and music rights
- For professionals scaling content production
Which should you pick?
Choose Affinity Designer if
- You need vector drawing.
- You work on Windows, Macos, Ios.
- You also want bezier tools.
Choose Magnific if
Nothing in the data separates Magnific from Affinity Designer on the points above - pick on price and on how each one feels to use.
Questions people ask
- Is Affinity Designer or Magnific better?
- Neither clearly leads. Affinity Designer starts at $69.99/one-time and Magnific at €12/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Affinity Designer or Magnific?
- Affinity Designer starts at $69.99/one-time and Magnific at €12/month.
- Does Affinity Designer or Magnific run on more platforms?
- Affinity Designer runs on Windows, Macos, Ios. Magnific runs on Web.
- What is Affinity Designer best used for?
- Affinity Designer is most often used for logo design, vector illustration, icon design, branding. Of those, logo design and vector illustration are not what Magnific is typically brought in for.
- What can Affinity Designer do that Magnific cannot?
- Affinity Designer covers Vector drawing, Bezier tools, Gradient tools, Typography.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Affinity Designer: Is Affinity Designer free?
Yes, Affinity Designer is completely free. Every tool in the Pixel, Vector, and Layout studios, plus all customization and export features, are available at no cost with no seat count restrictions or payment requirements.
SourceMagnific: How much does Magnific cost?
Magnific offers three plans: Premium at EUR 12/month (240K credits/year), Premium+ at EUR 27/month (600K credits/year), and Pro at EUR 172.50/month (4M credits/year). All prices require annual billing.
SourceAffinity Designer: Are there premium features available in Affinity by Canva?
Affinity by Canva includes optional AI features available through separate Canva premium subscriptions (Pro, Business, Enterprise, Education tiers). Core design tools remain free; premium AI functionality requires a Canva subscription.
SourceMagnific: What refund policy does Magnific offer?
Magnific offers a 30-day refund guarantee with no cancellation fees across all plans.
SourceAffinity Designer: Do I need to pay for Affinity Designer updates?
No. Affinity by Canva receives free updates and new features over time. The core application and all design, editing, and layout tools are updated at no additional cost.
SourceMagnific: How long are credits valid?
Credits are valid for 1 year. Different AI models consume varying amounts of credits (e.g., Seedream 5.0 Pro requires 75 credits per image).
SourceMagnific: Do all plans include commercial rights?
Yes, all plans include a commercial AI license. Premium+ and Pro also include music rights for content generation.
SourceRelated pages
More on Affinity Designer
Other head to heads
- Affinity Designer vs Adobe Illustrator
- Affinity Designer vs Gravit Designer
- Affinity Designer vs Inkscape
- Affinity Designer vs Vectr
- Affinity Designer vs Linearity Curve
- Affinity Designer vs Canva
- Affinity Designer vs ProtoPie
- Affinity Designer vs Balsamiq Wireframes
- Affinity Designer vs Abstract
- Affinity Designer vs Krea
- Affinity Designer vs Marvel
- Affinity Designer vs Photopea
- Affinity Designer vs Playground AI
- Affinity Designer vs Principle
- Affinity Designer vs Procreate Dreams
- Affinity Designer vs Rebelle
- Affinity Designer vs Rive
- Affinity Designer vs Recraft
- Affinity Designer vs Womp
- Affinity Designer vs Framer
- Affinity Designer vs Procreate
- Affinity Designer vs CorelDRAW Graphics Suite
- Affinity Designer vs Spline
- Affinity Designer vs Xara Designer Pro+
- Affinity Designer vs ArtRage
- Affinity Designer vs InVision
- Affinity Designer vs Adobe Creative Cloud
- Magnific vs Adobe Illustrator
- Magnific vs Gravit Designer
- Magnific vs Inkscape
- Magnific vs Vectr
- Magnific vs Linearity Curve
- Magnific vs Canva
- Magnific vs ProtoPie
- Magnific vs Balsamiq Wireframes
- Magnific vs Abstract
- Magnific vs Krea
- Magnific vs Marvel
- Magnific vs Photopea
- Magnific vs Playground AI
- Magnific vs Principle
- Magnific vs Procreate Dreams
- Magnific vs Rebelle
- Magnific vs Rive
- Magnific vs Recraft
- Magnific vs Womp
- Magnific vs Framer
- Magnific vs Procreate
- Magnific vs CorelDRAW Graphics Suite
- Magnific vs Spline
- Magnific vs Xara Designer Pro+
- Magnific vs ArtRage
- Magnific vs InVision
- Magnific vs Adobe Creative Cloud
