Design · head to head
Affinity Designer vs PaintTool SAI

Affinity Designer
Design
Professional graphic design software for everyone
- From
- $69.99/one-time
- Rated
- -
PaintTool SAI
Design
Lightweight digital painting and illustration software for Windows
- From
- 5500/month
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Each has a real cost: Affinity Designer premium AI features require separate Canva subscription; pricing for those plans not disclosed; PaintTool SAI windows-only software with no native Mac or Linux version.
- They diverge on capability: Affinity Designer covers Vector drawing, PaintTool SAI covers Pressure-Sensitive Tablet Support.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Affinity Designer and PaintTool SAI actually diverge.
| Attribute | Affinity Designer | PaintTool SAI |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | $69.99/one-time | 5500/month |
| Platforms | Windows, Macos, Ios | windows |
| Founded | 1994 | Unknown |
Identical on both: pricing model (one-time), free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Design).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Affinity Designer
- Vector drawing
- Bezier tools
- Gradient tools
- Typography
- Pixel-perfect editing
- Artboards
- Symbols
- Non-destructive effects
Only in PaintTool SAI
- Pressure-Sensitive Tablet Support
- Anti-Aliased Brushes
- 16-bit ARGB Color Channels
- Lightweight Performance
- Crash Data Protection
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Affinity Designer
- Logo designnot PaintTool SAI
- Vector illustrationnot PaintTool SAI
- Icon designnot PaintTool SAI
- Brandingnot PaintTool SAI
PaintTool SAI
- Digital illustration and manga artnot Affinity Designer
- Line art and inking with pressure-sensitive pensnot Affinity Designer
- Lightweight painting on lower-spec computersnot Affinity Designer
- Character and concept art sketchingnot Affinity Designer
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Affinity Designer
- Premium AI features require separate Canva subscription; pricing for those plans not disclosed
- Core Affinity tools are free but Canva premium add-on costs are not detailed
PaintTool SAI
- Windows-only software with no native Mac or Linux version.
- Only supports 32-bit operation, lacking modern 64-bit performance benefits.
- Lacks the advanced brush engine customization and layer effects found in tools like Photoshop or Clip Studio Paint.
- No cloud sync or mobile app, unlike many modern illustration tools.
Pricing, plan by plan
Affinity Designer
$69.99/one-time- Standard$69.99/one-time
- Full version
- All features
- Lifetime updates
PaintTool SAI
5500/month- Standard License$5500/month
- Perpetual license
- All 1.x.x minor updates
- Free upgrade path to version 2
Which should you pick?
Choose Affinity Designer if
- You need vector drawing.
- You work on Windows, Macos, Ios.
- You also want bezier tools.
Choose PaintTool SAI if
- You need pressure-sensitive tablet support.
- You work on windows.
- You also want anti-aliased brushes.
Questions people ask
- Is Affinity Designer or PaintTool SAI better?
- Neither clearly leads. Affinity Designer starts at $69.99/one-time and PaintTool SAI at 5500/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Affinity Designer or PaintTool SAI?
- Affinity Designer starts at $69.99/one-time and PaintTool SAI at 5500/month.
- Does Affinity Designer or PaintTool SAI run on more platforms?
- Affinity Designer runs on Windows, Macos, Ios. PaintTool SAI runs on windows.
- What is Affinity Designer best used for?
- Affinity Designer is most often used for logo design, vector illustration, icon design, branding. Of those, logo design and vector illustration are not what PaintTool SAI is typically brought in for.
- What can Affinity Designer do that PaintTool SAI cannot?
- Affinity Designer covers Vector drawing, Bezier tools, Gradient tools, Typography. PaintTool SAI covers Pressure-Sensitive Tablet Support, Anti-Aliased Brushes, 16-bit ARGB Color Channels, Lightweight Performance.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Affinity Designer: Is Affinity Designer free?
Yes, Affinity Designer is completely free. Every tool in the Pixel, Vector, and Layout studios, plus all customization and export features, are available at no cost with no seat count restrictions or payment requirements.
SourcePaintTool SAI: Is there a free trial for PaintTool SAI?
Yes, PaintTool SAI offers a 31-day free trial with full functionality before requiring purchase of a license.
SourceAffinity Designer: Are there premium features available in Affinity by Canva?
Affinity by Canva includes optional AI features available through separate Canva premium subscriptions (Pro, Business, Enterprise, Education tiers). Core design tools remain free; premium AI functionality requires a Canva subscription.
SourcePaintTool SAI: What does the license cover?
The one-time 5,500 JPY purchase provides a perpetual license covering all minor updates within version 1.x.x; a major version 2 upgrade is offered for free.
SourceAffinity Designer: Do I need to pay for Affinity Designer updates?
No. Affinity by Canva receives free updates and new features over time. The core application and all design, editing, and layout tools are updated at no additional cost.
SourcePaintTool SAI: What operating systems are supported?
PaintTool SAI runs on Windows XP through Windows 11, but only in 32-bit mode, requiring at least a 450MHz Pentium processor and 256MB of RAM.
SourceRelated pages
More on Affinity Designer
More on PaintTool SAI
Other head to heads
- Affinity Designer vs Adobe Illustrator
- Affinity Designer vs Gravit Designer
- Affinity Designer vs Inkscape
- Affinity Designer vs Vectr
- Affinity Designer vs Linearity Curve
- Affinity Designer vs Canva
- Affinity Designer vs ProtoPie
- Affinity Designer vs Balsamiq Wireframes
- Affinity Designer vs Abstract
- Affinity Designer vs Krea
- Affinity Designer vs Magnific
- Affinity Designer vs Marvel
- Affinity Designer vs Photopea
- Affinity Designer vs Playground AI
- Affinity Designer vs Principle
- Affinity Designer vs Procreate Dreams
- Affinity Designer vs Rebelle
- Affinity Designer vs Rive
- Affinity Designer vs Corel Painter
- Affinity Designer vs Krita
- Affinity Designer vs Procreate
- Affinity Designer vs CorelDRAW Graphics Suite
- Affinity Designer vs ArtRage
- Affinity Designer vs Spline
- Affinity Designer vs InVision
- Affinity Designer vs Cadence Allegro
- Affinity Designer vs LottieFiles
- Affinity Designer vs Lunacy
- PaintTool SAI vs Adobe Illustrator
- PaintTool SAI vs Gravit Designer
- PaintTool SAI vs Inkscape
- PaintTool SAI vs Vectr
- PaintTool SAI vs Linearity Curve
- PaintTool SAI vs Canva
- PaintTool SAI vs ProtoPie
- PaintTool SAI vs Balsamiq Wireframes
- PaintTool SAI vs Abstract
- PaintTool SAI vs Krea
- PaintTool SAI vs Magnific
- PaintTool SAI vs Marvel
- PaintTool SAI vs Photopea
- PaintTool SAI vs Playground AI
- PaintTool SAI vs Principle
- PaintTool SAI vs Procreate Dreams
- PaintTool SAI vs Rebelle
- PaintTool SAI vs Rive
- PaintTool SAI vs Corel Painter
- PaintTool SAI vs Krita
- PaintTool SAI vs Procreate
- PaintTool SAI vs CorelDRAW Graphics Suite
- PaintTool SAI vs ArtRage
- PaintTool SAI vs Spline
- PaintTool SAI vs InVision
- PaintTool SAI vs Cadence Allegro
- PaintTool SAI vs LottieFiles
- PaintTool SAI vs Lunacy
