Softwr

Design · head to head

Affinity Designer vs Gravit Designer

Affinity Designer logo

Affinity Designer

Design

Professional graphic design software for everyone

From
$69.99/one-time
Rated
-
Gravit Designer logo

Gravit Designer

Design

Free vector graphics editor in the cloud

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Gravit Designer has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Affinity Designer premium AI features require separate Canva subscription; pricing for those plans not disclosed; Gravit Designer the Gravit Designer brand and domain designer.io were retired and now redirect live to CorelDRAW, confirming the standalone product no longer exists under its own name
  • They diverge on capability: Affinity Designer covers Pixel-perfect editing, Gravit Designer covers Shape tools.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Affinity Designer and Gravit Designer actually diverge.

Attributes where Affinity Designer and Gravit Designer differ
AttributeAffinity DesignerGravit Designer
Starting price$69.99/one-timeFree
Pricing modelone-timefreemium
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsWindows, Macos, IosWindows, Macos, Linux, Web
Founded19942014

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Design).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Affinity Designer

  • Pixel-perfect editing
  • Artboards
  • Non-destructive effects
  • Affinity Photo
  • Affinity Publisher
  • Adobe apps
  • iCloud
  • Mobile deployment

Only in Gravit Designer

  • Shape tools
  • Layers
  • Cloud storage
  • Google Drive
  • Cloud storage
  • Cloud deployment
  • Web deployment
  • Linux support

Both cover

  • Vector drawing
  • Bezier tools
  • Gradient tools
  • Typography
  • Symbols
  • Dropbox
  • OneDrive
  • Desktop deployment
  • Windows support
  • Macos support
  • Multiple languages available language support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Affinity Designer

  • Logo design
  • Vector illustration
  • Icon design
  • Brandingnot Gravit Designer

Gravit Designer

  • Logo design
  • Vector illustration
  • Icon design
  • Web graphicsnot Affinity Designer

Both are used for logo design, vector illustration, icon design, on those jobs the choice comes down to price and fit rather than capability.

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Affinity Designer

  • Premium AI features require separate Canva subscription; pricing for those plans not disclosed
  • Core Affinity tools are free but Canva premium add-on costs are not detailed

Gravit Designer

  • The Gravit Designer brand and domain designer.io were retired and now redirect live to CorelDRAW, confirming the standalone product no longer exists under its own name

Pricing, plan by plan

Affinity Designer

$69.99/one-time
  • Standard$69.99/one-time
    • Full version
    • All features
    • Lifetime updates

Gravit Designer

Free
  • FreeFree
    • Cloud storage
    • All design tools
    • SVG support

Which should you pick?

Choose Affinity Designer if

  • You need pixel-perfect editing.
  • You work on Windows, Macos, Ios.
  • You also want artboards.

Choose Gravit Designer if

  • You need shape tools.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Windows, Macos, Linux, Web.
  • You also want layers.

Questions people ask

Is Affinity Designer or Gravit Designer better?
Neither clearly leads. Affinity Designer starts at $69.99/one-time and Gravit Designer at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Affinity Designer or Gravit Designer?
Gravit Designer has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $69.99/one-time for Affinity Designer and Free for Gravit Designer.
Does Affinity Designer or Gravit Designer run on more platforms?
Affinity Designer runs on Windows, Macos, Ios. Gravit Designer runs on Windows, Macos, Linux, Web.
Can I use Gravit Designer for free?
Yes. Gravit Designer has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Affinity Designer starts at $69.99/one-time.
What is Affinity Designer best used for?
Affinity Designer is most often used for logo design, vector illustration, icon design, branding. Of those, branding is not what Gravit Designer is typically brought in for.
What can Affinity Designer do that Gravit Designer cannot?
Affinity Designer covers Pixel-perfect editing, Artboards, Non-destructive effects, Affinity Photo. Gravit Designer covers Shape tools, Layers, Cloud storage, Google Drive. Both handle Vector drawing, Bezier tools, Gradient tools, Typography.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Affinity Designer: Is Affinity Designer free?

Yes, Affinity Designer is completely free. Every tool in the Pixel, Vector, and Layout studios, plus all customization and export features, are available at no cost with no seat count restrictions or payment requirements.

Source
Gravit Designer: Do I need a subscription to use CorelDRAW?

Yes. After the 15-day trial ends, a monthly or annual subscription is required. There is no free tier after trial expiration.

Source
Affinity Designer: Are there premium features available in Affinity by Canva?

Affinity by Canva includes optional AI features available through separate Canva premium subscriptions (Pro, Business, Enterprise, Education tiers). Core design tools remain free; premium AI functionality requires a Canva subscription.

Source
Gravit Designer: How much does a subscription cost?

The page shows placeholder text for monthly and annual pricing but does not display the actual prices. You need to complete the purchase flow to see exact costs.

Source
Affinity Designer: Do I need to pay for Affinity Designer updates?

No. Affinity by Canva receives free updates and new features over time. The core application and all design, editing, and layout tools are updated at no additional cost.

Source
Gravit Designer: How many AI credits do I get per month?

Both the trial and monthly subscriptions include 1,000 AI image credits per month. The trial period is 15 days with no credit card required.

Source
Gravit Designer: What file formats can I work with?

CorelDRAW supports JPEG, PNG, SVG, PDF, CDR, and other formats. The platform includes vector editing, painting, text tools with thousands of fonts, and access to millions of design assets.

Source
Gravit Designer: Is there cloud storage included?

Yes. Cloud storage for projects is included in the subscription, along with access to design assets and the ability to export in multiple formats.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads