Softwr

Technology · head to head

Maze vs Origami Studio

Maze logo

Maze

Technology

The continuous product discovery platform

From
Free
Rated
-
Origami Studio logo

Origami Studio

Design

Free macOS prototyping tool built by and for Meta design teams

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Maze maze publishes no prices on its pricing page; every plan routes to contact sales, so pricing is by quote only with no published rate or minimum; Origami Studio it runs on macOS only, so a Windows or Linux designer cannot open a file at all and mixed teams cannot share source documents.
  • They diverge on capability: Maze covers Prototype testing, Origami Studio covers Patch graph.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 31 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Maze and Origami Studio actually diverge.

Attributes where Maze and Origami Studio differ
AttributeMazeOrigami Studio
Pricing modelsubscriptionNo licence fee
PlatformsWeb, Mobile, ApimacOS, iOS, Android
CategoryTechnologyDesign
Founded2018Unknown

Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Maze

  • Prototype testing
  • Usability testing
  • Card sorting
  • Tree testing
  • Surveys
  • 5-second tests
  • A/B testing
  • Analytics dashboard

Only in Origami Studio

  • Patch graph
  • Origami Live
  • Layer system
  • Components
  • Figma import
  • Physics and gesture patches

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Maze

  • User research and testingnot Origami Studio
  • AI-powered moderation featuresnot Origami Studio
  • Prototype and website testingnot Origami Studio
  • User feedback panelsnot Origami Studio

Origami Studio

  • Designing a gesture-driven mobile interaction where the physics of the transition is the decision being madenot Maze
  • Prototyping conditional states and live data flow without writing application codenot Maze
  • Testing an interaction on a real handset with correct touch behaviour before development startsnot Maze
  • Teaching interaction design where a per-seat licence for a class is not affordablenot Maze

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Maze

  • Maze publishes no prices on its pricing page; every plan routes to contact sales, so pricing is by quote only with no published rate or minimum
  • The AI study builder, AI moderated interviews and moderated interview studies are Enterprise only
  • Mobile testing and testing through the Maze mobile app are Enterprise only
  • Interview scheduling, card sorting and information architecture testing are Enterprise only
  • Role-based access, SSO and compliance controls are Enterprise only
  • Panel recruitment is available on all plans but with stated limits, and prototype testing carries limits below Enterprise
  • Qualitative analysis of clip recordings, interview transcription and automated theme analysis are Enterprise only

Origami Studio

  • It runs on macOS only, so a Windows or Linux designer cannot open a file at all and mixed teams cannot share source documents.
  • It is free because it is a by-product of Meta internal tooling, which means no support agreement, no service level and release gaps that have run for long periods without explanation.
  • The patch graph is real programming with a real learning curve, so the time from install to a useful prototype is measured in days rather than hours.
  • Handoff is weak; engineers get something to watch and imitate rather than a specification, so the effort is discarded once the design decision is made.
  • Documents are compatible with nothing else, so a prototype cannot be maintained alongside the design source and goes stale as soon as the design changes.

Pricing, plan by plan

Maze

Free
  • FreeFree
    • 1 active project
    • Preview link testing
    • Basic analytics
  • Starter$75/month
    • 3 active projects
    • Unlimited responses
    • Advanced analytics
  • Team$150/month
    • Unlimited projects
    • Team collaboration
    • Custom branding
  • Enterprise$undefined/month
    • Everything in Team
    • SSO
    • Dedicated CSM

Origami Studio

Free
  • Origami StudioFree
    • Full application
    • Origami Live device preview
    • No account or seat limit

Which should you pick?

Choose Maze if

  • You need prototype testing.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, Mobile, Api.
  • You also want usability testing.

Choose Origami Studio if

  • You need patch graph.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on macOS, iOS, Android.
  • You also want origami live.

Questions people ask

Is Maze or Origami Studio better?
Neither clearly leads. Maze starts at Free and Origami Studio at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Maze or Origami Studio?
Maze starts at Free and Origami Studio at Free.
Does Maze or Origami Studio run on more platforms?
Maze runs on Web, Mobile, Api. Origami Studio runs on macOS, iOS, Android.
Can I use Maze for free?
Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
What is Maze best used for?
Maze is most often used for user research and testing, ai-powered moderation features, prototype and website testing, user feedback panels. Of those, user research and testing and ai-powered moderation features are not what Origami Studio is typically brought in for.
What can Maze do that Origami Studio cannot?
Maze covers Prototype testing, Usability testing, Card sorting, Tree testing. Origami Studio covers Patch graph, Origami Live, Layer system, Components.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Maze: Does Maze offer a free trial or freemium tier?

Maze site indicates 'Try Maze for free' option, suggesting free tier or trial availability, but specific terms and limitations not stated on main page.

Source
Origami Studio: Is it really free?

Yes, with no licence fee, no seat count and no account requirement. The cost is the absence of any support commitment.

Maze: Can I request a custom demo if standard plans don't fit my needs?

Yes, Maze offers 'Request a demo' option, indicating willingness to discuss custom requirements and potentially custom pricing arrangements.

Source
Origami Studio: Will Meta keep developing it?

There is no commitment either way. Releases have come in irregular bursts driven by internal needs, so treat continuity as a risk rather than an assumption.

Maze: What testing capabilities does Maze include in paid plans?

Maze features AI Moderator, prototype testing, panel recruitment, and website testing capabilities across plans, but specific feature tiers and pricing not disclosed publicly.

Source
Origami Studio: Can it produce production code?

No. It produces a prototype. Engineers rebuild the behaviour from scratch in the target platform.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads