Design · head to head
Framer vs Maze
The short version
- Each has a real cost: Framer free tier limited to 500 credits and 1 GB bandwidth; Maze maze publishes no prices on its pricing page; every plan routes to contact sales, so pricing is by quote only with no published rate or minimum
- They diverge on capability: Framer covers Visual design editor, Maze covers Prototype testing.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Framer and Maze actually diverge.
Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Framer
- Visual design editor
- Interactive components
- Responsive design
- CMS integration
- SEO optimization
- Custom code
- Team collaboration
- Version control
Only in Maze
- Prototype testing
- Usability testing
- Card sorting
- Tree testing
- Surveys
- 5-second tests
- A/B testing
- Analytics dashboard
Both cover
- Figma
- Cloud deployment
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Framer
- Marketing websitesnot Maze
- Landing pagesnot Maze
- Portfoliosnot Maze
- SaaS productsnot Maze
- E-commerce sitesnot Maze
Maze
- User research and testingnot Framer
- AI-powered moderation featuresnot Framer
- Prototype and website testingnot Framer
- User feedback panelsnot Framer
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Framer
- Free tier limited to 500 credits and 1 GB bandwidth
- CMS collections capped at 10 on Pro tier; unlimited only on Enterprise
- Free tier does not include custom domain support
- Paid editor slots cost extra at $20/month per additional editor
Maze
- Maze publishes no prices on its pricing page; every plan routes to contact sales, so pricing is by quote only with no published rate or minimum
- The AI study builder, AI moderated interviews and moderated interview studies are Enterprise only
- Mobile testing and testing through the Maze mobile app are Enterprise only
- Interview scheduling, card sorting and information architecture testing are Enterprise only
- Role-based access, SSO and compliance controls are Enterprise only
- Panel recruitment is available on all plans but with stated limits, and prototype testing carries limits below Enterprise
- Qualitative analysis of clip recordings, interview transcription and automated theme analysis are Enterprise only
Pricing, plan by plan
Framer
Free- FreeFree
- 500 credits
- Free Framer domain
- 1 GB bandwidth
- Basic$10/month
- Custom domain
- 2 CMS collections
- 50 GB bandwidth
- Pro$30/month
- All Basic features
- 10 CMS collections
- 100 GB bandwidth
- Enterprise$undefined/custom
- Custom limits
- Unlimited editors
- 99.99% uptime guarantee
Maze
Free- FreeFree
- 1 active project
- Preview link testing
- Basic analytics
- Starter$75/month
- 3 active projects
- Unlimited responses
- Advanced analytics
- Team$150/month
- Unlimited projects
- Team collaboration
- Custom branding
- Enterprise$undefined/month
- Everything in Team
- SSO
- Dedicated CSM
Which should you pick?
Choose Framer if
- You need visual design editor.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Web, Macos.
- You also want interactive components.
Choose Maze if
- You need prototype testing.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Web, Mobile, Api.
- You also want usability testing.
Questions people ask
- Is Framer or Maze better?
- Neither clearly leads. Framer starts at Free and Maze at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Framer or Maze?
- Framer starts at Free and Maze at Free.
- Does Framer or Maze run on more platforms?
- Framer runs on Web, Macos. Maze runs on Web, Mobile, Api.
- Can I use Framer for free?
- Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
- What is Framer best used for?
- Framer is most often used for marketing websites, landing pages, portfolios, saas products. Of those, marketing websites and landing pages are not what Maze is typically brought in for.
- What can Framer do that Maze cannot?
- Framer covers Visual design editor, Interactive components, Responsive design, CMS integration. Maze covers Prototype testing, Usability testing, Card sorting, Tree testing. Both handle Figma, Cloud deployment.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Framer: What's included in Framer's free tier?
The Free plan provides 500 credits to try the platform, a free Framer domain, and 1 GB bandwidth for exploring the builder.
SourceMaze: Does Maze offer a free trial or freemium tier?
Maze site indicates 'Try Maze for free' option, suggesting free tier or trial availability, but specific terms and limitations not stated on main page.
SourceFramer: Can I use my own custom domain with Framer?
Custom domains are included in Basic ($10/month) and higher plans. Free tier is limited to a free Framer domain.
SourceMaze: Can I request a custom demo if standard plans don't fit my needs?
Yes, Maze offers 'Request a demo' option, indicating willingness to discuss custom requirements and potentially custom pricing arrangements.
SourceFramer: What AI features does Framer offer?
Framer includes an AI design agent that works on the canvas to generate and refine designs in real-time, plus a CMS agent for managing content directly on the canvas.
SourceMaze: What testing capabilities does Maze include in paid plans?
Maze features AI Moderator, prototype testing, panel recruitment, and website testing capabilities across plans, but specific feature tiers and pricing not disclosed publicly.
SourceFramer: How many CMS collections can I create on different plans?
Basic ($10/month) includes 2 CMS collections, Pro ($30/month) includes 10 CMS collections. Enterprise plans offer custom limits.
SourceFramer: Does Framer support staging environments and previews?
Staging environments and branching with previews are included on the Pro plan ($30/month). Standard plan includes published-only access.
SourceFramer: What uptime guarantee does Framer provide?
Framer offers 99.99% uptime guarantee on paid plans. Enterprise plans include dedicated support and custom SLAs.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Framer vs Webflow
- Framer vs Principle
- Framer vs Rive
- Framer vs Spline
- Framer vs InVision
- Framer vs Origami Studio
- Framer vs Photopea
- Framer vs Lunacy
- Framer vs ProtoPie
- Framer vs LottieFiles
- Framer vs Proto.io
- Framer vs Adobe XD
- Framer vs Subframe
- Framer vs Vectr
- Framer vs Womp
- Framer vs Zeplin
- Framer vs CorelDRAW Graphics Suite
- Framer vs Figma
- Framer vs Linear
- Framer vs Asana
- Framer vs ClickUp
- Framer vs Storybook
- Framer vs Sketch
- Framer vs Postman
- Framer vs Lovable
- Framer vs Canny
- Framer vs LaunchDarkly
- Framer vs Mixpanel
- Framer vs Pendo
- Framer vs Jira
- Framer vs Mozilla Firefox
- Framer vs Redis
- Framer vs Segment
- Framer vs Supabase
- Framer vs Safari
- Maze vs Webflow
- Maze vs Principle
- Maze vs Rive
- Maze vs Spline
- Maze vs InVision
- Maze vs Origami Studio
- Maze vs Photopea
- Maze vs Lunacy
- Maze vs ProtoPie
- Maze vs LottieFiles
- Maze vs Proto.io
- Maze vs Adobe XD
- Maze vs Subframe
- Maze vs Vectr
- Maze vs Womp
- Maze vs Zeplin
- Maze vs CorelDRAW Graphics Suite
- Maze vs Figma
- Maze vs Linear
- Maze vs Asana
- Maze vs ClickUp
- Maze vs Storybook
- Maze vs Sketch
- Maze vs Postman
- Maze vs Lovable
- Maze vs Canny
- Maze vs LaunchDarkly
- Maze vs Mixpanel
- Maze vs Pendo
- Maze vs Jira
- Maze vs Mozilla Firefox
- Maze vs Redis
- Maze vs Segment
- Maze vs Supabase
- Maze vs Safari


