Softwr

Inventory · head to head

Asset Panda vs Lightspeed Retail

Asset Panda logo

Asset Panda

Inventory

Flexible asset tracking platform

From
On request
Rated
-
Lightspeed Retail logo

Lightspeed Retail

Inventory

Point of sale and retail management system

From
$89/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Asset Panda no pricing published online; Lightspeed Retail high pricing starts at USD 89/month (Basic plan), escalating to USD 289/month for Plus tier with advanced features
  • They diverge on capability: Asset Panda covers Custom workflows, Lightspeed Retail covers Point of sale.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Asset Panda and Lightspeed Retail actually diverge.

Attributes where Asset Panda and Lightspeed Retail differ
AttributeAsset PandaLightspeed Retail
Starting priceOn request$89/month
PlatformsWeb, Mobile app, Cloud-basedWeb, iPad, Cloud-based
Founded20122005

Identical on both: pricing model (subscription), free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Inventory).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Asset Panda

  • Custom workflows
  • Asset lifecycle
  • Maintenance tracking
  • GPS tracking
  • Salesforce
  • ServiceNow
  • Zendesk
  • Active Directory

Only in Lightspeed Retail

  • Point of sale
  • Inventory management
  • Customer management
  • Omnichannel selling
  • Analytics
  • Employee management
  • Loyalty programs
  • Hardware compatibility

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Asset Panda

  • IT asset and device tracking through their lifecyclenot Lightspeed Retail
  • Equipment and tool tracking across sitesnot Lightspeed Retail
  • Scheduled inspections and maintenance workflowsnot Lightspeed Retail
  • Fleet and facilities managementnot Lightspeed Retail
  • Audit readiness and compliance reportingnot Lightspeed Retail

Lightspeed Retail

  • Tracking 10,000+ SKUs across multiple sales channelsnot Asset Panda
  • Reconciling payments across terminals in under 10 minutesnot Asset Panda
  • Selling across in-person, online, and social simultaneouslynot Asset Panda
  • Accessing real-time inventory demand forecastingnot Asset Panda

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Asset Panda

  • No pricing published online
  • Custom quote required; no standard rate cards published
  • Offers 7-day free trial but does not specify trial limits

Lightspeed Retail

  • High pricing starts at USD 89/month (Basic plan), escalating to USD 289/month for Plus tier with advanced features
  • Limited integrations with third-party platforms, particularly challenging for Shopify inventory sync
  • Inventory synchronization issues reported with backordered products and bulk updates
  • Customer support response times can be slow despite 24/7 availability
  • System crashes and performance degradation reported during high-traffic periods

Pricing, plan by plan

Asset Panda

On request
  • Standard$50/month
    • 500 assets
    • 5 users
    • Standard support
  • Professional$100/month
    • 2500 assets
    • 15 users
    • Priority support
  • Enterprise$200/month
    • Unlimited assets
    • Unlimited users
    • Dedicated support

Lightspeed Retail

$89/month
  • Basic$89/month
    • Retail POS platform
    • Integrated payments at 1.5% card-present rate
    • Inventory management
  • Core$149/month
    • All Basic features
    • Advanced management tools
    • 1 register included
  • Plus$289/month
    • All Core features
    • Advanced customization
    • Scalability for established operations

Which should you pick?

Choose Asset Panda if

  • You need custom workflows.
  • You work on Web, Mobile app, Cloud-based.
  • You also want asset lifecycle.

Choose Lightspeed Retail if

  • You need point of sale.
  • You work on Web, iPad, Cloud-based.
  • You also want inventory management.

Questions people ask

Is Asset Panda or Lightspeed Retail better?
Neither clearly leads. Asset Panda starts at On request and Lightspeed Retail at $89/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Asset Panda or Lightspeed Retail?
Asset Panda starts at On request and Lightspeed Retail at $89/month.
Does Asset Panda or Lightspeed Retail run on more platforms?
Asset Panda runs on Web, Mobile app, Cloud-based. Lightspeed Retail runs on Web, iPad, Cloud-based.
What is Asset Panda best used for?
Asset Panda is most often used for it asset and device tracking through their lifecycle, equipment and tool tracking across sites, scheduled inspections and maintenance workflows, fleet and facilities management. Of those, it asset and device tracking through their lifecycle and equipment and tool tracking across sites are not what Lightspeed Retail is typically brought in for.
What can Asset Panda do that Lightspeed Retail cannot?
Asset Panda covers Custom workflows, Asset lifecycle, Maintenance tracking, GPS tracking. Lightspeed Retail covers Point of sale, Inventory management, Customer management, Omnichannel selling.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Asset Panda: How much does Asset Panda cost?

Asset Panda pricing is custom and based on organizational needs. No published rate is available; all pricing is provided via personalized quote.

Source
Lightspeed Retail: How much does Lightspeed Retail POS cost?

Pricing starts at $89 per month for the Basic plan, $149 for Core, and $289 for Plus, with each plan including 1 register.

Source
Asset Panda: Does Asset Panda offer a free trial?

Yes, Asset Panda offers a free 7-day trial. Specific usage limits for the trial period are not disclosed on the pricing page.

Source
Lightspeed Retail: Can I get a discount for annual billing?

Annual billing provides savings up to 18% compared to monthly billing across all Lightspeed Retail tiers.

Source
Lightspeed Retail: What payment processing fees does Lightspeed Retail charge?

Integrated payment processing charges a card-present rate of 1.5% on all plans.

Source
Lightspeed Retail: Do I need to pay extra for additional registers?

Yes, each base plan includes 1 register. Additional registers require per-register fees on top of the monthly plan cost.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads