Softwr
wxrks logo

wxrks

Translation platform formerly called Bureau Works, priced by processed words per year with unlimited seats and a real free tier

As of 31 August 2026, wxrks has a free plan and paid plans start at $38/month. The translation platform that used to be Bureau Works and rebranded to wxrks in March 2026. Softwr lists it under Translation. wxrks is made by Bureau Translations Inc., trading as wxrks, available on Web, API.

Overview

What wxrks does

wxrks is a cloud translation management platform covering translation memory, terminology, workflow automation, an editor with quality prediction, and a marketplace for connecting with agencies and translators. The legal entity is Bureau Translations Inc., based in Lafayette, California, with offices in Miami and Ottawa, and the public face of the company is Gabriel Fairman. The product traded as Bureau Works until 23 March 2026, when it rebranded; bureauworks.com now redirects to wxrks.com. Anyone searching for documentation, integration guides or third-party write-ups will still find them under the old name for some time. The pricing is the most transparent in the category. Plans run from a free tier at 60,000 processed words a year through Starter at 38 USD a month and Boutique at 180, up to Pulsar at 3,300 USD a month for 120 million words, all billed yearly. Overage is published too, and it falls as you scale, from 0.0009 USD per word on Starter to 0.0003 on the largest plans. User seats are unlimited on every plan; the only per-person charge is 20 USD a month for extra analytics users. In a market where two of the six main vendors publish nothing at all, being able to model your cost from a web page is a genuine procurement advantage. The catch sits in the feature comparison rather than the price table. Connectors are marked as billed separately, with no rate published anywhere, which on a per-word plan is a second cost line of unknown size attached to the exact thing that makes the platform useful. The plan meters are also plural: processed words, API calls, stateless AI tokens and machine translation words each have their own annual allowance, and exhausting any one of them constrains you regardless of headroom in the others. Buyers are mid-market product and content teams that want published pricing and can tolerate a young brand; the trade-off is a small, unfunded vendor whose marketplace economics are not disclosed at all.

What people use it for

  • A team that needs to model localisation cost from published numbers rather than sit through a sales cycle to get a figure
  • Content operations with many occasional reviewers, since seats are unlimited and only analytics users are charged
  • Developer-led localisation pulling strings from GitHub, GitLab or Bitbucket rather than a content management system
  • Small teams and side projects that can live inside 60,000 words a year on the permanent free tier

The honest half

Where it falls short

Concrete and checkable, so you can decide whether any of them matter to you. This is the half of a review a vendor will not write about wxrks.

  • Connectors are marked as billed separately on the pricing page with no rate published anywhere, so the integration that justifies buying the platform carries a cost you cannot discover until you ask.
  • Four separate meters run in parallel and any one of them can be exhausted while the others have headroom, so a workload heavy on API calls or AI tokens can force a plan upgrade long before the word allowance is touched.
  • Word allowances are annual rather than monthly, so a single large launch early in the term can consume most of the year and leave the remaining months on overage rates.
  • The marketplace is promoted as a way to reach agencies and translators, but whether the vendor takes a commission and how linguists are paid is not disclosed anywhere on the public site.
  • The company rebranded from Bureau Works in March 2026, so existing documentation, third-party guides, integration listings and internal references still carry the old name, and the vendor is small with no disclosed funding behind it.

Cross-shopped

What people choose instead of wxrks

Each pairing was judged by two reviewers asking whether a buyer would genuinely weigh the two against each other. The ones that failed were deleted rather than published.

  • wxrks logo
    wxrks
    vs
    Crowdin logo
    Crowdin

    Crowdin: Published pricing with a larger integration catalogue and a longer track record under a stable brand

  • wxrks logo
    wxrks
    vs
    Phrase logo
    Phrase

    Phrase: Stronger enterprise governance and a better fit where a security review will ask hard questions about the vendor

  • wxrks logo
    wxrks
    vs
    memoQ logo
    memoQ

    memoQ: Better when translators need a full desktop environment and you want a conventional licence rather than a word meter

Pricing

What wxrks costs

Taken from the vendor's own pricing page. Prices move, so check before you buy.

Free

Free

  • 60,000 processed words per year
  • 2,300 API calls
  • 300,000 stateless AI tokens
  • 20,000 machine translation words
  • Unlimited user seats

Starter

$38 /mo

  • Billed yearly
  • 1 million words per year
  • 38,000 API calls, 5 million AI tokens, 330,000 MT words
  • Overage at 0.0009 USD per word

Boutique

$180 /mo

  • Billed yearly
  • 3.2 million words per year
  • 122,000 API calls, 16 million AI tokens, 1 million MT words
  • Overage at 0.0006 USD per word

Clockwork

$470 /mo

  • Billed yearly
  • 9.6 million words per year
  • Overage at 0.0005 USD per word

Fusion

$980 /mo

  • Billed yearly
  • 25.2 million words per year
  • Overage at 0.0004 USD per word

Quantum

$1,980 /mo

  • Billed yearly
  • 60 million words per year
  • Overage at 0.0003 USD per word

Capabilities

Features

  • Published price ladder

    Eight tiers from free to custom with prices and overage rates on the public pricing page

  • Unlimited user seats

    No per-seat charge on any plan; only extra analytics users cost 20 USD a month

  • Four parallel meters

    Annual allowances for processed words, API calls, stateless AI tokens and machine translation words

  • Published overage rates

    Per-word overage from 0.0009 USD down to 0.0003 USD as plan size increases

  • Marketplace

    Connects buyers with agencies and translators, though the fee model is not published

  • Repository and design connectors

    GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Figma and Webflow among the available integrations

Answered, with sources

Questions people ask

Each answer names the page it came from, so you can check it rather than take our word for it.

Is this still Bureau Works?

Yes. The company rebranded to wxrks on 23 March 2026 and bureauworks.com redirects to wxrks.com. The legal entity is Bureau Translations Inc.

Is the free plan permanent?

Yes. It allows 60,000 processed words a year along with API call, AI token and machine translation allowances, and unlimited user seats. A fourteen day trial of paid features is offered separately.

What happens when I exceed the word allowance?

You pay a published per-word overage rate, from 0.0009 USD on Starter falling to 0.0003 USD on the largest plans, rather than being cut off.

Do connectors cost extra?

The pricing page states connectors are billed separately but publishes no rate. Get the figure in writing before signing, because it is the one unbounded item in an otherwise transparent price list.

Share

Keep looking

Where to go from wxrks

Best Translation software for

Compare wxrks with

Other Translation software

  • Simple, transparent pricing. Start free and scale as you grow.

    Free plan12 researched notes
  • Adapt your communication to local cultures with memoQ

    From €2,904/yr10 researched notes
  • A flexible platform with product capacities that scale with your team

    9 researched notes
  • Translation business management system for language service providers, with published pricing starting at $9,000 a year

    Pricing on request11 researched notes
  • Enterprise translation management from XTM International, now the centre of a private-equity backed roll-up that also owns Transifex

    Pricing on request12 researched notes
  • Localisation platform priced per source string, where adding target languages costs nothing extra

    Free, then $34/mo12 researched notes
  • Enterprise translation management sold alongside first-party language services priced per word

    Pricing on request12 researched notes
  • Luxembourg translation management priced at a flat 150 EUR per power user per month, with translators and requesters not counted as seats

    From €150/mo12 researched notes
  • Translation platform and freelancer marketplace billed in Smartwords, where every added target language multiplies consumption

    From $1,200/yr12 researched notes
  • Business and translation management system for language service providers and in-house translation departments

    Pricing on request11 researched notes
  • Localisation management billed by string count with unlimited contributors

    Free, then $14.99/mo11 researched notes
  • Automated transcription and translation with per-hour pricing published up front

    From $10/mo12 researched notes
  • An open-source tool for telling interactive, nonlinear stories

    Free plan9 researched notes
  • Human-in-the-loop translation combining machine translation with human post-editing, priced per word rather than per character

    Pricing on request10 researched notes
  • Make your website multilingual in minutes

    Free, then $17/mo11 researched notes
  • Enterprise translation management from XTM International, now the centre of a private-equity backed roll-up that also owns Transifex

    Pricing on request12 researched notes
  • Luxembourg translation management priced at a flat 150 EUR per power user per month, with translators and requesters not counted as seats

    From €150/mo12 researched notes
  • Translation platform and freelancer marketplace billed in Smartwords, where every added target language multiplies consumption

    From $1,200/yr12 researched notes

Softwr does not host reviews and shows no star rating for wxrks, because a rating we did not collect is not ours to publish. What is here is the pricing and platform detail from the vendor’s own pages, limitations we could state concretely, and alternatives a reviewer confirmed people weigh against it. Tell us if any of it is wrong.

More on wxrks

Best Translation software alternatives

Azure AI Translator, priced at $10 per million characters for standard text translation with volume commitment discounts available

Per million characters

Free, browser-based CAT tool under the LGPL, developed and hosted by the translation company Translated

Open source, no licence fee

Free, open source desktop CAT tool under the GPLv3, maintained by a volunteer community rather than a company

Open source, no licence fee

Consumer translation, dictionary and grammar tool with a free tier and a Premium subscription around $6.49 to $9.99 a month

Per user per month

Human translation marketplace and API, priced per word from $0.06, owned by Lionbridge since 2019

Per word

Business and translation management system for language service providers and in-house translation departments

quote

Free consumer translation app and website, backed by the paid Cloud Translation API priced per million characters

Per million characters

AWS machine translation API priced at $15 per million characters, with a 2 million character monthly free tier for the first 12 months

Per million characters

Compare wxrks with alternatives