Smart Home · head to head
Homey vs Zigbee Alliance

Zigbee Alliance
Smart Home
Low-power wireless standard for IoT and smart home
- From
- Free
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Only Zigbee Alliance has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: Homey homey Cloud without a subscription connects at most 5 devices; Zigbee Alliance the Internet Archive's capture of the Connectivity Standards Alliance's Zigbee page on 4 January 2024 confirmed Zigbee is a protocol standard rather than a purchased product, with the Alliance's revenue coming from member dues and per-device certification fees rather than a software price list.
- They diverge on capability: Homey covers Multi-protocol support, Zigbee Alliance covers Low Power.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Homey and Zigbee Alliance actually diverge.
| Attribute | Homey | Zigbee Alliance |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | On request | Free |
| Pricing model | subscription | open-source |
| Free tier | No | Yes |
| Platforms | IOS, Android, Web | Zigbee devices, Mesh networks, Smart home hubs, IoT platforms |
| Founded | 2014 | 2002 |
Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Smart Home).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Homey
- Multi-protocol support
- Advanced flows
- Voice control
- Energy insights
- Timeline
- Zones
- Google Assistant
- Amazon Alexa
Only in Zigbee Alliance
- Low Power
- Mesh Networking
- Self-Healing
- Scalable
- Smart home devices
- Hubs
- Controllers
- Integration platforms
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Homey
- Bringing Zigbee, Z-Wave, Wi-Fi and Bluetooth devices from different brands into one appnot Zigbee Alliance
- Building home automations visually with Flownot Zigbee Alliance
- Charting device and sensor history through Insightsnot Zigbee Alliance
Zigbee Alliance
- Smart lightingnot Homey
- Sensor networksnot Homey
- Home automationnot Homey
- Industrial monitoringnot Homey
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Homey
- Homey Cloud without a subscription connects at most 5 devices
- Unlimited devices require the Homey Premium subscription at $2.99 per month
- Advanced Flow, Insights, and Logic and Variables are locked behind Homey Premium
- The free month of Premium is only offered to new subscribers signing up through iOS or Android
Zigbee Alliance
- The Internet Archive's capture of the Connectivity Standards Alliance's Zigbee page on 4 January 2024 confirmed Zigbee is a protocol standard rather than a purchased product, with the Alliance's revenue coming from member dues and per-device certification fees rather than a software price list.
Pricing, plan by plan
Homey
On request- Homey Pro$399/month
- Local processing
- 1000+ apps
- Advanced flows
- Homey Bridge$69/month
- Cloud processing
- 500+ apps
- Basic flows
Zigbee Alliance
Free- Open SpecificationFree
- Low power mesh
- Self-healing
- Interoperable
Which should you pick?
Choose Homey if
- You need multi-protocol support.
- You work on IOS, Android, Web.
- You also want advanced flows.
Choose Zigbee Alliance if
- You need low power.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Zigbee devices, Mesh networks, Smart home hubs, IoT platforms.
- You also want mesh networking.
Questions people ask
- Is Homey or Zigbee Alliance better?
- Neither clearly leads. Homey starts at On request and Zigbee Alliance at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Homey or Zigbee Alliance?
- Zigbee Alliance has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at On request for Homey and Free for Zigbee Alliance.
- Does Homey or Zigbee Alliance run on more platforms?
- Homey runs on IOS, Android, Web. Zigbee Alliance runs on Zigbee devices, Mesh networks, Smart home hubs, IoT platforms.
- Can I use Zigbee Alliance for free?
- Yes. Zigbee Alliance has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Homey starts at On request.
- What is Homey best used for?
- Homey is most often used for bringing zigbee, z-wave, wi-fi and bluetooth devices from different brands into one app, building home automations visually with flow, charting device and sensor history through insights. Of those, bringing zigbee, z-wave, wi-fi and bluetooth devices from different brands into one app and building home automations visually with flow are not what Zigbee Alliance is typically brought in for.
- What can Homey do that Zigbee Alliance cannot?
- Homey covers Multi-protocol support, Advanced flows, Voice control, Energy insights. Zigbee Alliance covers Low Power, Mesh Networking, Self-Healing, Scalable.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Homey: Is there a monthly subscription for Homey Pro or just a one-time payment?
Homey Pro costs 449 euros as a one-time purchase with no recurring monthly fees. The only optional recurring cost is 10 euros per year for cloud backups.
SourceZigbee Alliance: Does the Connectivity Standards Alliance charge membership fees?
Membership information is not publicly disclosed on the main website. Prospective members must contact the organization directly or access the member login portal at community.csa-iot.org.
SourceHomey: What are the limits for Homey Cloud's free tier?
The free tier of Homey Cloud supports up to 5 connected devices. To add more devices, you need to upgrade to the paid subscription at 2.99 euros per month.
SourceZigbee Alliance: What are the costs for CSA certification or standards development?
Pricing for certification and standards development services is not posted online. Contact the CSA directly through their contact page for specific pricing.
SourceHomey: What's the cost difference between Homey Cloud and Homey Pro over a year?
Homey Cloud costs 35.88 euros per year (2.99 euros per month). Homey Pro costs 449 euros upfront with no monthly fees, but includes all features and is a one-time purchase.
SourceZigbee Alliance: Is there a free tier or trial for CSA services?
The homepage does not disclose trial or free tier information. Contact the organization to learn about available options.
SourceHomey: How long will Homey Pro receive software updates?
Homey Pro will receive software updates until at least June 2031, ensuring continued improvements and security patches.
SourceRelated pages
More on Zigbee Alliance
Other head to heads
- Homey vs Hubitat Elevation
- Homey vs Apple HomeKit
- Homey vs Home Assistant
- Homey vs Amazon Alexa
- Homey vs Google Home
- Homey vs Aqara
- Homey vs Crestron
- Homey vs Losant
- Homey vs SmartThings
- Homey vs Z-Wave Alliance
- Homey vs Control4
- Homey vs Ecobee
- Homey vs Eufy Security
- Homey vs Govee
- Homey vs Lutron Caseta
- Homey vs Meross
- Homey vs Thread
- Homey vs MQTT
- Homey vs Node-RED
- Homey vs Nanoleaf
- Homey vs OpenHAB
- Zigbee Alliance vs Hubitat Elevation
- Zigbee Alliance vs Apple HomeKit
- Zigbee Alliance vs Home Assistant
- Zigbee Alliance vs Amazon Alexa
- Zigbee Alliance vs Google Home
- Zigbee Alliance vs Aqara
- Zigbee Alliance vs Crestron
- Zigbee Alliance vs Losant
- Zigbee Alliance vs SmartThings
- Zigbee Alliance vs Z-Wave Alliance
- Zigbee Alliance vs Control4
- Zigbee Alliance vs Ecobee
- Zigbee Alliance vs Eufy Security
- Zigbee Alliance vs Govee
- Zigbee Alliance vs Lutron Caseta
- Zigbee Alliance vs Meross
- Zigbee Alliance vs Thread
- Zigbee Alliance vs MQTT
- Zigbee Alliance vs Node-RED
- Zigbee Alliance vs Nanoleaf
- Zigbee Alliance vs OpenHAB

