Softwr

Technology · head to head

Maze vs Reduct

Maze logo

Maze

Technology

The continuous product discovery platform

From
Free
Rated
-
Reduct logo

Reduct

Research

Edit video by editing its transcript, built for researchers rather than video editors

From
$12/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Maze has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Maze maze publishes no prices on its pricing page; every plan routes to contact sales, so pricing is by quote only with no published rate or minimum; Reduct automatic transcription struggles with technical vocabulary, product names and strong accents, so teams working in specialist domains spend real time correcting transcripts or pay extra for the human transcription add-on, which erodes the cost advantage.
  • They diverge on capability: Maze covers Prototype testing, Reduct covers Transcript-based editing.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 31 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Maze and Reduct actually diverge.

Attributes where Maze and Reduct differ
AttributeMazeReduct
Starting priceFree$12/month
Pricing modelsubscriptionPer user per month
Free tierYesNo
PlatformsWeb, Mobile, ApiWeb, API
CategoryTechnologyResearch
Founded2018Unknown

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Maze

  • Prototype testing
  • Usability testing
  • Card sorting
  • Tree testing
  • Surveys
  • 5-second tests
  • A/B testing
  • Analytics dashboard

Only in Reduct

  • Transcript-based editing
  • Automatic transcription
  • Human transcription add-on
  • Highlight and tagging
  • Reel assembly
  • Redaction
  • Multicam sync
  • Collaborative commenting

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Maze

  • User research and testingnot Reduct
  • AI-powered moderation featuresnot Reduct
  • Prototype and website testingnot Reduct
  • User feedback panelsnot Reduct

Reduct

  • A research team that runs twenty customer interviews a quarter and needs stakeholders across product and design to watch and comment without buying them seatsnot Maze
  • A researcher assembling a five-minute highlight reel of user pain points for an executive review, working from transcript text rather than a video timelinenot Maze
  • A public defender office redacting faces and identifying details from body-camera and interview footage before disclosurenot Maze
  • A global insights team transcribing and translating interviews across several languages before coding them thematicallynot Maze

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Maze

  • Maze publishes no prices on its pricing page; every plan routes to contact sales, so pricing is by quote only with no published rate or minimum
  • The AI study builder, AI moderated interviews and moderated interview studies are Enterprise only
  • Mobile testing and testing through the Maze mobile app are Enterprise only
  • Interview scheduling, card sorting and information architecture testing are Enterprise only
  • Role-based access, SSO and compliance controls are Enterprise only
  • Panel recruitment is available on all plans but with stated limits, and prototype testing carries limits below Enterprise
  • Qualitative analysis of clip recordings, interview transcription and automated theme analysis are Enterprise only

Reduct

  • Automatic transcription struggles with technical vocabulary, product names and strong accents, so teams working in specialist domains spend real time correcting transcripts or pay extra for the human transcription add-on, which erodes the cost advantage.
  • Transcription hours are a pooled annual allowance rather than monthly, so a team that front-loads a large research programme in one quarter can exhaust the year and face overage charges for the remaining nine months.
  • The Personal tier caps file size at 4GB, which is easily exceeded by an hour of multicam or high-bitrate recording, forcing an upgrade for reasons unrelated to the feature set.
  • Independent review coverage is very thin, so there is little public evidence to check vendor claims against, and buyers effectively have to rely on their own trial rather than peer signal.
  • The company has raised only about 4 million USD since 2018 and remains small, which makes enterprise vendor viability review and data-export planning genuinely necessary before you make it the home of years of research recordings.

Pricing, plan by plan

Maze

Free
  • FreeFree
    • 1 active project
    • Preview link testing
    • Basic analytics
  • Starter$75/month
    • 3 active projects
    • Unlimited responses
    • Advanced analytics
  • Team$150/month
    • Unlimited projects
    • Team collaboration
    • Custom branding
  • Enterprise$undefined/month
    • Everything in Team
    • SSO
    • Dedicated CSM

Reduct

$12/month
  • Personal$12/month
    • 120 transcription hours per editor per year
    • Up to 10 commenters
    • 720p export
  • Professional$40/month
    • 300 transcription hours per editor per year
    • Up to 50 commenters
    • Timeline view
  • Enterprise$75/month
    • 4K export
    • SAML and Google SSO
    • SOC 2 Type II

Which should you pick?

Choose Maze if

  • You need prototype testing.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, Mobile, Api.
  • You also want usability testing.

Choose Reduct if

  • You need transcript-based editing.
  • You work on Web, API.
  • You also want automatic transcription.

Questions people ask

Is Maze or Reduct better?
Neither clearly leads. Maze starts at Free and Reduct at $12/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Maze or Reduct?
Maze has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for Maze and $12/month for Reduct.
Does Maze or Reduct run on more platforms?
Maze runs on Web, Mobile, Api. Reduct runs on Web, API.
Can I use Maze for free?
Yes. Maze has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Reduct starts at $12/month.
What is Maze best used for?
Maze is most often used for user research and testing, ai-powered moderation features, prototype and website testing, user feedback panels. Of those, user research and testing and ai-powered moderation features are not what Reduct is typically brought in for.
What can Maze do that Reduct cannot?
Maze covers Prototype testing, Usability testing, Card sorting, Tree testing. Reduct covers Transcript-based editing, Automatic transcription, Human transcription add-on, Highlight and tagging.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Maze: Does Maze offer a free trial or freemium tier?

Maze site indicates 'Try Maze for free' option, suggesting free tier or trial availability, but specific terms and limitations not stated on main page.

Source
Reduct: How is Reduct priced?

Per editor per month: 12 USD on Personal, 40 on Professional and from 75 on Enterprise, with transcription supplied as a pooled annual hour allowance per editor.

Maze: Can I request a custom demo if standard plans don't fit my needs?

Yes, Maze offers 'Request a demo' option, indicating willingness to discuss custom requirements and potentially custom pricing arrangements.

Source
Reduct: Do stakeholders who only watch and comment need a paid seat?

No. Commenters are separate from editor seats and included up to 10 on Personal and 50 on Professional, which is the main reason research teams choose it.

Maze: What testing capabilities does Maze include in paid plans?

Maze features AI Moderator, prototype testing, panel recruitment, and website testing capabilities across plans, but specific feature tiers and pricing not disclosed publicly.

Source
Reduct: Can I use it as a proper video editor?

Only up to a point. It handles transcript-driven cutting, reels and multicam sync, then exports to Premiere Pro or Final Cut Pro when you need real finishing.

Reduct: Is there a free tier?

No. There is a 14-day trial on Professional with five hours of transcription, but no permanent free plan.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads