Softwr

Technology · head to head

Maze vs Ranorex

Maze logo

Maze

Technology

The continuous product discovery platform

From
Free
Rated
-
Ranorex logo

Ranorex

Testing

Commercial desktop, web and mobile test automation studio with concurrent-user licensing and no published pricing

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Maze has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Maze maze publishes no prices on its pricing page; every plan routes to contact sales, so pricing is by quote only with no published rate or minimum; Ranorex no pricing is published anywhere, so a buyer cannot even roughly compare cost against Katalon, Sauce Labs or other commercial competitors without first going through a sales quote process.
  • They diverge on capability: Maze covers Prototype testing, Ranorex covers Desktop application automation.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 1 September 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Maze and Ranorex actually diverge.

Attributes where Maze and Ranorex differ
AttributeMazeRanorex
Starting priceFreeOn request
Pricing modelsubscriptionquote
Free tierYesNo
PlatformsWeb, Mobile, ApiWindows, Web, iOS, Android
CategoryTechnologyTesting
Founded2018Unknown

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Maze

  • Prototype testing
  • Usability testing
  • Card sorting
  • Tree testing
  • Surveys
  • 5-second tests
  • A/B testing
  • Analytics dashboard

Only in Ranorex

  • Desktop application automation
  • Record and code hybrid workflow
  • Cross-technology object recognition
  • Data-driven testing
  • CI/CD integration
  • DesignWise test design

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Maze

  • User research and testingnot Ranorex
  • AI-powered moderation featuresnot Ranorex
  • Prototype and website testingnot Ranorex
  • User feedback panelsnot Ranorex

Ranorex

  • A QA team automating a legacy or line-of-business Windows desktop application with no realistic web migration pathnot Maze
  • An organisation wanting one studio covering desktop, web and mobile automation rather than separate tools for eachnot Maze
  • A team preferring a record-and-code hybrid workflow over writing all automation from scratchnot Maze
  • An enterprise wanting concurrent floating licences shared across a distributed team rather than named per-user seatsnot Maze

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Maze

  • Maze publishes no prices on its pricing page; every plan routes to contact sales, so pricing is by quote only with no published rate or minimum
  • The AI study builder, AI moderated interviews and moderated interview studies are Enterprise only
  • Mobile testing and testing through the Maze mobile app are Enterprise only
  • Interview scheduling, card sorting and information architecture testing are Enterprise only
  • Role-based access, SSO and compliance controls are Enterprise only
  • Panel recruitment is available on all plans but with stated limits, and prototype testing carries limits below Enterprise
  • Qualitative analysis of clip recordings, interview transcription and automated theme analysis are Enterprise only

Ranorex

  • No pricing is published anywhere, so a buyer cannot even roughly compare cost against Katalon, Sauce Labs or other commercial competitors without first going through a sales quote process.
  • It is a niche product for a shrinking category, Windows desktop application testing, and a team whose targets are entirely web-based gains little over free tools like Playwright or Selenium.
  • The record-and-code hybrid approach, like any recorder-based tool, produces automation that can be brittle and needs real script maintenance as the application under test changes.
  • It is a smaller Austrian vendor compared to the scale of Sauce Labs, BrowserStack or Katalon, so ecosystem size, community answers and third-party integrations are comparatively limited.
  • Concurrent floating licensing requires careful capacity planning, since a team exceeding its licensed concurrent user count cannot simply add another automation engineer without a licensing conversation first.

Pricing, plan by plan

Maze

Free
  • FreeFree
    • 1 active project
    • Preview link testing
    • Basic analytics
  • Starter$75/month
    • 3 active projects
    • Unlimited responses
    • Advanced analytics
  • Team$150/month
    • Unlimited projects
    • Team collaboration
    • Custom branding
  • Enterprise$undefined/month
    • Everything in Team
    • SSO
    • Dedicated CSM

Ranorex

On request
  • Ranorex Studio$undefined/year
    • Floating concurrent-user licences on annual or multi-year terms
    • Studio Enterprise for creation and execution, Studio Runtime for execution-only
    • No published price list; a quote is required for any figure

Which should you pick?

Choose Maze if

  • You need prototype testing.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, Mobile, Api.
  • You also want usability testing.

Choose Ranorex if

  • You need desktop application automation.
  • You work on Windows, Web, iOS, Android.
  • You also want record and code hybrid workflow.

Questions people ask

Is Maze or Ranorex better?
Neither clearly leads. Maze starts at Free and Ranorex at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Maze or Ranorex?
Maze has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for Maze and On request for Ranorex.
Does Maze or Ranorex run on more platforms?
Maze runs on Web, Mobile, Api. Ranorex runs on Windows, Web, iOS, Android.
Can I use Maze for free?
Yes. Maze has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Ranorex starts at On request.
What is Maze best used for?
Maze is most often used for user research and testing, ai-powered moderation features, prototype and website testing, user feedback panels. Of those, user research and testing and ai-powered moderation features are not what Ranorex is typically brought in for.
What can Maze do that Ranorex cannot?
Maze covers Prototype testing, Usability testing, Card sorting, Tree testing. Ranorex covers Desktop application automation, Record and code hybrid workflow, Cross-technology object recognition, Data-driven testing.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Maze: Does Maze offer a free trial or freemium tier?

Maze site indicates 'Try Maze for free' option, suggesting free tier or trial availability, but specific terms and limitations not stated on main page.

Source
Ranorex: How much does Ranorex cost?

It is not published; pricing is quote-only based on floating concurrent-user licences on annual or multi-year terms.

Maze: Can I request a custom demo if standard plans don't fit my needs?

Yes, Maze offers 'Request a demo' option, indicating willingness to discuss custom requirements and potentially custom pricing arrangements.

Source
Ranorex: Does Ranorex automate desktop applications, not just web?

Yes, Windows desktop application automation is one of its core differentiators against most competitors, which are primarily web-focused.

Maze: What testing capabilities does Maze include in paid plans?

Maze features AI Moderator, prototype testing, panel recruitment, and website testing capabilities across plans, but specific feature tiers and pricing not disclosed publicly.

Source
Ranorex: Is there a free trial?

Yes, a free trial is available before committing to a licence.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads