Softwr

Technology · head to head

Maze vs PostHog

Maze logo

Maze

Technology

The continuous product discovery platform

From
Free
Rated
-
PostHog logo

PostHog

Technology

The single platform to analyze, test, observe, and deploy new features

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Maze maze publishes no prices on its pricing page; every plan routes to contact sales, so pricing is by quote only with no published rate or minimum; PostHog the free tier covers 1M events, 5K web session recordings and 2.5K mobile recordings per month before usage-based billing starts
  • They diverge on capability: Maze covers Prototype testing, PostHog covers Product analytics.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Maze and PostHog actually diverge.

Attributes where Maze and PostHog differ
AttributeMazePostHog
Pricing modelsubscriptionusage-based
PlatformsWeb, Mobile, ApiWeb, Ios, Android, Api
Founded20182020

Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Technology).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Maze

  • Prototype testing
  • Usability testing
  • Card sorting
  • Tree testing
  • Surveys
  • 5-second tests
  • Analytics dashboard
  • Figma

Only in PostHog

  • Product analytics
  • Session recording
  • Feature flags
  • Heatmaps
  • SQL access
  • Data warehouse
  • Apps platform
  • Zapier

Both cover

  • A/B testing
  • Slack
  • Microsoft Teams
  • GDPR
  • SOC2
  • Cloud deployment

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Maze

  • User research and testingnot PostHog
  • AI-powered moderation featuresnot PostHog
  • Prototype and website testingnot PostHog
  • User feedback panelsnot PostHog

PostHog

  • Product analyticsnot Maze
  • Feature experimentationnot Maze
  • User behavior trackingnot Maze
  • A/B testingnot Maze
  • Debug production issuesnot Maze

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Maze

  • Maze publishes no prices on its pricing page; every plan routes to contact sales, so pricing is by quote only with no published rate or minimum
  • The AI study builder, AI moderated interviews and moderated interview studies are Enterprise only
  • Mobile testing and testing through the Maze mobile app are Enterprise only
  • Interview scheduling, card sorting and information architecture testing are Enterprise only
  • Role-based access, SSO and compliance controls are Enterprise only
  • Panel recruitment is available on all plans but with stated limits, and prototype testing carries limits below Enterprise
  • Qualitative analysis of clip recordings, interview transcription and automated theme analysis are Enterprise only

PostHog

  • The free tier covers 1M events, 5K web session recordings and 2.5K mobile recordings per month before usage-based billing starts
  • Accounts without a card on file are limited to 1 project; adding one raises it to 6
  • Data retention is 1 year until a card is added, which extends it to 7 years
  • Support is community-only until the account is on a paid plan
  • Error tracking is capped at 100K exceptions and surveys at 1500 responses per month on the free tier

Pricing, plan by plan

Maze

Free
  • FreeFree
    • 1 active project
    • Preview link testing
    • Basic analytics
  • Starter$75/month
    • 3 active projects
    • Unlimited responses
    • Advanced analytics
  • Team$150/month
    • Unlimited projects
    • Team collaboration
    • Custom branding
  • Enterprise$undefined/month
    • Everything in Team
    • SSO
    • Dedicated CSM

PostHog

Free
  • FreeFree
    • 1M events/month
    • 5K sessions/month
    • Unlimited users
  • Paid$undefined/month
    • $0.00031/event
    • $0.005/session
    • Advanced permissions
  • Enterprise$undefined/month
    • SAML SSO
    • Advanced security
    • Dedicated support

Which should you pick?

Choose Maze if

  • You need prototype testing.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, Mobile, Api.
  • You also want usability testing.

Choose PostHog if

  • You need product analytics.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, Ios, Android, Api.
  • You also want session recording.

Questions people ask

Is Maze or PostHog better?
Neither clearly leads. Maze starts at Free and PostHog at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Maze or PostHog?
Maze starts at Free and PostHog at Free.
Does Maze or PostHog run on more platforms?
Maze runs on Web, Mobile, Api. PostHog runs on Web, Ios, Android, Api.
Can I use Maze for free?
Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
What is Maze best used for?
Maze is most often used for user research and testing, ai-powered moderation features, prototype and website testing, user feedback panels. Of those, user research and testing and ai-powered moderation features are not what PostHog is typically brought in for.
What can Maze do that PostHog cannot?
Maze covers Prototype testing, Usability testing, Card sorting, Tree testing. PostHog covers Product analytics, Session recording, Feature flags, Heatmaps. Both handle A/B testing, Slack, Microsoft Teams, GDPR.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Maze: Does Maze offer a free trial or freemium tier?

Maze site indicates 'Try Maze for free' option, suggesting free tier or trial availability, but specific terms and limitations not stated on main page.

Source
PostHog: What does PostHog's free tier include per month?

PostHog free tier includes: 1M analytics events, 5K session replays, 1M feature flag requests, 100K error tracking exceptions, 1,500 survey responses, 1M data warehouse rows, 10K data pipeline events, 100K AI observability events, 500 PostHog AI credits, 10K workflow messages, and 10GB log ingestion. Source: https://posthog.com/pricing

Source
Maze: Can I request a custom demo if standard plans don't fit my needs?

Yes, Maze offers 'Request a demo' option, indicating willingness to discuss custom requirements and potentially custom pricing arrangements.

Source
PostHog: How much data retention does PostHog provide on paid plans?

PostHog free tier provides 1-year data retention. Pay-as-you-go plans offer 7-year data retention across all projects, enabling longer historical analysis. Source: https://posthog.com/pricing

Source
Maze: What testing capabilities does Maze include in paid plans?

Maze features AI Moderator, prototype testing, panel recruitment, and website testing capabilities across plans, but specific feature tiers and pricing not disclosed publicly.

Source
PostHog: What percentage of PostHog users stay on the free tier?

PostHog states that 97% of companies use PostHog for free, indicating extensive free tier adoption. However, specific per-unit pricing rates for overages on paid plans are not published. Source: https://posthog.com/pricing

Source
PostHog: When does PostHog provide priority support on paid plans?

PostHog provides email or Slack support for accounts exceeding $2,000/month on pay-as-you-go plans. Specific response times and support SLAs are not detailed on their pricing page. Source: https://posthog.com/pricing

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads