Softwr

AI · head to head

Lambda Labs vs Writer

Lambda Labs logo

Lambda Labs

AI

GPU cloud for deep learning

From
$1.1/per-hour
Rated
-
Writer logo

Writer

AI

Full-stack generative AI platform for enterprise content and agents

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Lambda Labs on demand capacity is first come access rather than guaranteed, so an instance type can be unavailable when needed; Writer pricing is not publicly disclosed and requires a sales conversation, unlike consumer AI writing tools.
  • They diverge on capability: Lambda Labs covers NVIDIA GPUs, Writer covers Palmyra LLMs.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Lambda Labs and Writer actually diverge.

Attributes where Lambda Labs and Writer differ
AttributeLambda LabsWriter
Starting price$1.1/per-hourOn request
Pricing modelusage-basedquote
PlatformsCloudweb, api
Founded20122020

Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (AI).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Lambda Labs

  • NVIDIA GPUs
  • Pre-installed frameworks
  • Persistent storage
  • SSH access
  • JupyterLab
  • VSCode
  • SSH
  • Cloud support

Only in Writer

  • Palmyra LLMs
  • Knowledge Graph
  • No-code agent builder
  • Brand compliance
  • AI writing assistant
  • Enterprise security controls

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Lambda Labs

  • Renting GPU instances for model training and inferencenot Writer
  • Short term access to high memory accelerators without buying hardwarenot Writer

Writer

  • Enterprise marketing content generationnot Lambda Labs
  • AI-powered knowledge assistants grounded in company datanot Lambda Labs
  • Building custom generative AI agents without codenot Lambda Labs
  • Brand and compliance-consistent copywriting at scalenot Lambda Labs

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Lambda Labs

  • On demand capacity is first come access rather than guaranteed, so an instance type can be unavailable when needed
  • H100 pricing varies within a band, at $3.99 to $4.29 an hour per GPU, so the rate is not fixed
  • Reserved capacity is arranged by contacting the team rather than self serve
  • Prices are quoted before applicable tax

Writer

  • Pricing is not publicly disclosed and requires a sales conversation, unlike consumer AI writing tools.
  • Its proprietary Palmyra models are less widely benchmarked and documented than general-purpose models like GPT or Claude.
  • Primarily positioned for large enterprises, making it less accessible or cost-effective for individuals and small teams.

Pricing, plan by plan

Lambda Labs

$1.1/per-hour
  • On-Demand$1.1/per-hour
    • A10 GPU
    • Instant availability
  • ReservedFree
    • Volume discounts
    • Guaranteed capacity

Writer

On request
  • Starter$undefined/month
    • For teams starting with agentic AI
    • Up to 5 users
    • 14-day free trial, no card required
  • Enterprise$undefined/month
    • Contact sales
    • Unlimited users, teams and free collaborators
    • Lite seats for invited users

Which should you pick?

Choose Lambda Labs if

  • You need nvidia gpus.
  • You work on Cloud.
  • You also want pre-installed frameworks.

Choose Writer if

  • You need palmyra llms.
  • You work on web, api.
  • You also want knowledge graph.

Questions people ask

Is Lambda Labs or Writer better?
Neither clearly leads. Lambda Labs starts at $1.1/per-hour and Writer at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Lambda Labs or Writer?
Lambda Labs starts at $1.1/per-hour and Writer at On request.
Does Lambda Labs or Writer run on more platforms?
Lambda Labs runs on Cloud. Writer runs on web, api.
What is Lambda Labs best used for?
Lambda Labs is most often used for renting gpu instances for model training and inference, short term access to high memory accelerators without buying hardware. Of those, renting gpu instances for model training and inference and short term access to high memory accelerators without buying hardware are not what Writer is typically brought in for.
What can Lambda Labs do that Writer cannot?
Lambda Labs covers NVIDIA GPUs, Pre-installed frameworks, Persistent storage, SSH access. Writer covers Palmyra LLMs, Knowledge Graph, No-code agent builder, Brand compliance.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Lambda Labs: What does Lambda Labs GPU pricing depend on?

Lambda Labs pricing depends on the GPU model (H100, B200, A100, V100, etc.), cluster size, and contract length. For example, a 16-GPU H100 cluster costs $6.16/GPU/hour for 2 weeks to 1 year, while A100 GPUs are $1.99-$2.79/GPU/hour.

Source
Writer: What does Writer cost?

Writer does not publish prices. There are two tiers: Starter, for teams up to five users, with a 14-day free trial and no card required, and Enterprise, which is contact-sales and adds unlimited users and teams.

Source
Lambda Labs: Are there volume discounts for larger GPU clusters?

Yes. Pricing decreases with larger cluster orders. For example, NVIDIA H100 clusters cost $6.16/GPU/hour for 16 GPUs, $5.85/GPU/hour for 64 GPUs, and $5.54/GPU/hour for 256 GPUs (all for 2 weeks to 1 year terms).

Source
Writer: What is the difference between Pro and Lite seats?

Pro is the standard paid seat, with full access to create, customise and automate workflows. Lite seats exist only on Enterprise, letting invited users view and run existing playbooks with limited monthly Agent use before needing a Pro seat.

Source
Lambda Labs: Can I get custom pricing for a long-term GPU contract?

Yes. For cluster orders of 16+ GPUs with 1-year or longer contracts, Lambda Labs offers custom pricing. Contact their sales team to request a quote.

Source
Writer: What does Writer do with customer data?

Writer states a zero data retention approach and says customers retain full ownership of their data. By default it does not train or improve its models on customer data, rather than requiring an opt-out.

Source
Lambda Labs: What additional costs should I expect beyond the hourly GPU rate?

All listed prices are plus applicable sales tax, VAT, or GST depending on your location.

Source
Writer: Which compliance standards does Writer meet?

Writer says it adheres to GDPR, HIPAA, SOC 2 Type II and PCI. HIPAA and SOC 2 Type II certifications and reports are available on request, and only for Enterprise plans.

Source
Writer: Are there discounts for nonprofits or education?

Yes. Writer offers 20% off the Starter and Enterprise plans to nonprofits and educational institutions, claimed by emailing from a nonprofit or .edu address.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads