Softwr

AI · head to head

Aider vs Writer

A

Aider

AI

AI pair programming in your terminal

From
Free
Rated
-
Writer logo

Writer

AI

Full-stack generative AI platform for enterprise content and agents

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Aider has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Aider requires comfort working in a terminal rather than a graphical IDE; Writer pricing is not publicly disclosed and requires a sales conversation, unlike consumer AI writing tools.
  • They diverge on capability: Aider covers Multi-LLM support, Writer covers Palmyra LLMs.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 1 September 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Aider and Writer actually diverge.

Attributes where Aider and Writer differ
AttributeAiderWriter
Starting priceFreeOn request
Pricing modelopen-sourcequote
Free tierYesNo
Platformsmac, linux, windows, apiweb, api
Founded20232020

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (AI).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Aider

  • Multi-LLM support
  • Repository mapping
  • Git integration
  • Voice-to-code
  • Lint and test automation
  • Image and web context
  • Free provider access
  • Editor file-watching

Only in Writer

  • Palmyra LLMs
  • Knowledge Graph
  • No-code agent builder
  • Brand compliance
  • AI writing assistant
  • Enterprise security controls

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Aider

  • Editing an existing codebase from the terminalnot Writer
  • Pairing with an LLM on a new projectnot Writer
  • Automating git-committed code changesnot Writer
  • Working across many programming languagesnot Writer
  • Bringing your own LLM API key to a coding workflownot Writer

Writer

  • Enterprise marketing content generationnot Aider
  • AI-powered knowledge assistants grounded in company datanot Aider
  • Building custom generative AI agents without codenot Aider
  • Brand and compliance-consistent copywriting at scalenot Aider

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Aider

  • Requires comfort working in a terminal rather than a graphical IDE
  • Has no hosted or managed version, so users must supply and pay for their own LLM API access separately
  • Depends heavily on the chosen underlying model's quality, so results vary by which LLM is configured
  • Lacks a built-in autonomous multi-step task runner comparable to agent-style products

Writer

  • Pricing is not publicly disclosed and requires a sales conversation, unlike consumer AI writing tools.
  • Its proprietary Palmyra models are less widely benchmarked and documented than general-purpose models like GPT or Claude.
  • Primarily positioned for large enterprises, making it less accessible or cost-effective for individuals and small teams.

Pricing, plan by plan

Aider

Free

No published plan breakdown. See the Aider review.

Writer

On request
  • Starter$undefined/month
    • For teams starting with agentic AI
    • Up to 5 users
    • 14-day free trial, no card required
  • Enterprise$undefined/month
    • Contact sales
    • Unlimited users, teams and free collaborators
    • Lite seats for invited users

Which should you pick?

Choose Aider if

  • You need multi-llm support.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on mac, linux, windows, api.
  • You also want repository mapping.

Choose Writer if

  • You need palmyra llms.
  • You work on web, api.
  • You also want knowledge graph.

Questions people ask

Is Aider or Writer better?
Neither clearly leads. Aider starts at Free and Writer at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Aider or Writer?
Aider has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for Aider and On request for Writer.
Does Aider or Writer run on more platforms?
Aider runs on mac, linux, windows, api. Writer runs on web, api.
Can I use Aider for free?
Yes. Aider has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Writer starts at On request.
What is Aider best used for?
Aider is most often used for editing an existing codebase from the terminal, pairing with an llm on a new project, automating git-committed code changes, working across many programming languages. Of those, editing an existing codebase from the terminal and pairing with an llm on a new project are not what Writer is typically brought in for.
What can Aider do that Writer cannot?
Aider covers Multi-LLM support, Repository mapping, Git integration, Voice-to-code. Writer covers Palmyra LLMs, Knowledge Graph, No-code agent builder, Brand compliance.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Aider: Is Aider free to use?

Aider itself is free and open source, released under the Apache 2.0 license. Users must separately supply and pay for API access to the LLM they choose to use with it.

Source
Writer: What does Writer cost?

Writer does not publish prices. There are two tiers: Starter, for teams up to five users, with a 14-day free trial and no card required, and Enterprise, which is contact-sales and adds unlimited users and teams.

Source
Aider: Which LLMs can I use with Aider?

Aider connects to OpenAI, Anthropic, Gemini, GROQ, DeepSeek, Ollama, Azure, Cohere, xAI, GitHub Copilot, Vertex AI, Amazon Bedrock, OpenRouter and most other LLM providers via API keys.

Source
Writer: What is the difference between Pro and Lite seats?

Pro is the standard paid seat, with full access to create, customise and automate workflows. Lite seats exist only on Enterprise, letting invited users view and run existing playbooks with limited monthly Agent use before needing a Pro seat.

Source
Aider: Can I use Aider for free without paying for an LLM API?

Yes, Aider can be used at no cost through OpenRouter's free model access (subject to daily usage limits) or Google's Gemini 2.5 Pro Exp, which the docs note performs well without a paid API key.

Source
Writer: What does Writer do with customer data?

Writer states a zero data retention approach and says customers retain full ownership of their data. By default it does not train or improve its models on customer data, rather than requiring an opt-out.

Source
Aider: How does Aider handle version control?

Aider automatically stages and commits each change it makes to a connected git repository, generating a descriptive commit message for every edit so changes stay reviewable and reversible.

Source
Writer: Which compliance standards does Writer meet?

Writer says it adheres to GDPR, HIPAA, SOC 2 Type II and PCI. HIPAA and SOC 2 Type II certifications and reports are available on request, and only for Enterprise plans.

Source
Writer: Are there discounts for nonprofits or education?

Yes. Writer offers 20% off the Starter and Enterprise plans to nonprofits and educational institutions, claimed by emailing from a nonprofit or .edu address.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads