Softwr

AI · head to head

RunPod vs Writer

RunPod logo

RunPod

AI

GPU cloud for AI and ML

From
$0.2/per-hour
Rated
-
Writer logo

Writer

AI

Full-stack generative AI platform for enterprise content and agents

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: RunPod idle volume disk storage is billed at $0.20 per GB per month, double the $0.10 per GB per month charged while the pod is running; Writer pricing is not publicly disclosed and requires a sales conversation, unlike consumer AI writing tools.
  • They diverge on capability: RunPod covers GPU instances, Writer covers Palmyra LLMs.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which RunPod and Writer actually diverge.

Attributes where RunPod and Writer differ
AttributeRunPodWriter
Starting price$0.2/per-hourOn request
Pricing modelusage-basedquote
PlatformsCloud, Apiweb, api
Founded20222020

Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (AI).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in RunPod

  • GPU instances
  • Serverless
  • Templates
  • Persistent storage
  • Docker
  • REST API
  • SSH access
  • Cloud support

Only in Writer

  • Palmyra LLMs
  • Knowledge Graph
  • No-code agent builder
  • Brand compliance
  • AI writing assistant
  • Enterprise security controls

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

RunPod

  • Renting GPU compute by the second for model training and inferencenot Writer
  • Running serverless GPU workers that scale with request volumenot Writer
  • Attaching persistent network storage shared across GPU podsnot Writer

Writer

  • Enterprise marketing content generationnot RunPod
  • AI-powered knowledge assistants grounded in company datanot RunPod
  • Building custom generative AI agents without codenot RunPod
  • Brand and compliance-consistent copywriting at scalenot RunPod

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

RunPod

  • Idle volume disk storage is billed at $0.20 per GB per month, double the $0.10 per GB per month charged while the pod is running
  • Reserved clusters of all terms from 1 to 12 months are priced by contacting sales with no published rate
  • L40S, H100 SXM and B200 cluster configurations are listed as contact sales rather than at a published hourly rate
  • High performance network storage costs $0.14 per GB per month, twice the standard sub 1TB rate of $0.07

Writer

  • Pricing is not publicly disclosed and requires a sales conversation, unlike consumer AI writing tools.
  • Its proprietary Palmyra models are less widely benchmarked and documented than general-purpose models like GPT or Claude.
  • Primarily positioned for large enterprises, making it less accessible or cost-effective for individuals and small teams.

Pricing, plan by plan

RunPod

$0.2/per-hour
  • Community Cloud$0.2/per-hour
    • Affordable GPUs
    • Spot instances
  • Secure Cloud$0.44/per-hour
    • Enterprise security
    • Dedicated hardware

Writer

On request
  • Starter$undefined/month
    • For teams starting with agentic AI
    • Up to 5 users
    • 14-day free trial, no card required
  • Enterprise$undefined/month
    • Contact sales
    • Unlimited users, teams and free collaborators
    • Lite seats for invited users

Which should you pick?

Choose RunPod if

  • You need gpu instances.
  • You work on Cloud, Api.
  • You also want serverless.

Choose Writer if

  • You need palmyra llms.
  • You work on web, api.
  • You also want knowledge graph.

Questions people ask

Is RunPod or Writer better?
Neither clearly leads. RunPod starts at $0.2/per-hour and Writer at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, RunPod or Writer?
RunPod starts at $0.2/per-hour and Writer at On request.
Does RunPod or Writer run on more platforms?
RunPod runs on Cloud, Api. Writer runs on web, api.
What is RunPod best used for?
RunPod is most often used for renting gpu compute by the second for model training and inference, running serverless gpu workers that scale with request volume, attaching persistent network storage shared across gpu pods. Of those, renting gpu compute by the second for model training and inference and running serverless gpu workers that scale with request volume are not what Writer is typically brought in for.
What can RunPod do that Writer cannot?
RunPod covers GPU instances, Serverless, Templates, Persistent storage. Writer covers Palmyra LLMs, Knowledge Graph, No-code agent builder, Brand compliance.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

RunPod: What is the pricing model for Runpod GPU compute?

Runpod uses usage-based pricing billed per second rather than fixed subscriptions. GPU pod pricing ranges from $0.27/hour for budget options like RTX A5000 to $7.89/hour for high-end options like B300. Serverless inference is billed based on worker usage.

Source
Writer: What does Writer cost?

Writer does not publish prices. There are two tiers: Starter, for teams up to five users, with a 14-day free trial and no card required, and Enterprise, which is contact-sales and adds unlimited users and teams.

Source
RunPod: Are there minimum contracts or commitments required to use Runpod?

No minimum contracts or commitments are required for on-demand services. Per-second billing is available, and you pay only for what you use. Long-term commitments offer additional savings through reserved capacity options.

Source
Writer: What is the difference between Pro and Lite seats?

Pro is the standard paid seat, with full access to create, customise and automate workflows. Lite seats exist only on Enterprise, letting invited users view and run existing playbooks with limited monthly Agent use before needing a Pro seat.

Source
RunPod: What are the storage costs on Runpod?

Storage pricing is tiered: Container Disk costs $0.10/GB/month, Volume Disk costs $0.10/GB/month when running or $0.20/GB/month when idle, and Network Storage ranges from $0.05-$0.07/GB/month for standard to $0.14/GB/month for high-performance.

Source
Writer: What does Writer do with customer data?

Writer states a zero data retention approach and says customers retain full ownership of their data. By default it does not train or improve its models on customer data, rather than requiring an opt-out.

Source
RunPod: Does Runpod charge egress fees for data transfer?

No, Runpod does not charge egress fees when using persistent network storage, which helps reduce data transfer costs for workloads that need to move data in and out frequently.

Source
Writer: Which compliance standards does Writer meet?

Writer says it adheres to GDPR, HIPAA, SOC 2 Type II and PCI. HIPAA and SOC 2 Type II certifications and reports are available on request, and only for Enterprise plans.

Source
RunPod: How does Runpod Serverless handle cold starts and idle costs?

Runpod Serverless offers zero idle cost and sub-200ms cold starts via FlashBoot technology. There is no warm-up tax, meaning you don't pay for idle capacity or accept cold-start latency penalties.

Source
Writer: Are there discounts for nonprofits or education?

Yes. Writer offers 20% off the Starter and Enterprise plans to nonprofits and educational institutions, claimed by emailing from a nonprofit or .edu address.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads