AI · head to head
Wordtune vs Writer

Writer
AI
Full-stack generative AI platform for enterprise content and agents
- From
- On request
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Only Wordtune has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: Wordtune the free Basic plan is limited to 10 rewrites and AI suggestions per day; Writer pricing is not publicly disclosed and requires a sales conversation, unlike consumer AI writing tools.
- They diverge on capability: Wordtune covers Rewriting, Writer covers Palmyra LLMs.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Wordtune and Writer actually diverge.
Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (AI).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Wordtune
- Rewriting
- Tone adjustment
- Sentence expansion
- Summarization
- Browser extension
- Microsoft Word
- Google Docs
- Web support
Only in Writer
- Palmyra LLMs
- Knowledge Graph
- No-code agent builder
- Brand compliance
- AI writing assistant
- Enterprise security controls
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Wordtune
- Rewriting and paraphrasing emails, articles and messagesnot Writer
- Summarizing long text or video into shorter formnot Writer
- Grammar and spelling correction inside a browser extensionnot Writer
Writer
- Enterprise marketing content generationnot Wordtune
- AI-powered knowledge assistants grounded in company datanot Wordtune
- Building custom generative AI agents without codenot Wordtune
- Brand and compliance-consistent copywriting at scalenot Wordtune
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Wordtune
- The free Basic plan is limited to 10 rewrites and AI suggestions per day
- The free Basic plan is limited to 3 AI summarizations per month
- The Advanced plan caps usage at 30 rewrites per day and 15 AI summarizations per month
- SAML SSO, centralized billing and business support are excluded from all three self-serve plans (Basic, Advanced and Unlimited)
- The advertised $4.89 and $6.99 per month rates are billed annually; paying monthly costs $6.99 and $9.99
- Wordtune does not offer refunds, only cancellation before the next billing cycle
- The free trial lasts 3 days and requires payment information before it starts
Writer
- Pricing is not publicly disclosed and requires a sales conversation, unlike consumer AI writing tools.
- Its proprietary Palmyra models are less widely benchmarked and documented than general-purpose models like GPT or Claude.
- Primarily positioned for large enterprises, making it less accessible or cost-effective for individuals and small teams.
Pricing, plan by plan
Wordtune
Free- FreeFree
- 10 rewrites/day
- Basic features
- Plus$9.99/month
- Unlimited rewrites
- All features
- Unlimited$14.99/month
- Unlimited everything
- Priority support
Writer
On request- Starter$undefined/month
- For teams starting with agentic AI
- Up to 5 users
- 14-day free trial, no card required
- Enterprise$undefined/month
- Contact sales
- Unlimited users, teams and free collaborators
- Lite seats for invited users
Which should you pick?
Choose Wordtune if
- You need rewriting.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Web, Browser-extension.
- You also want tone adjustment.
Choose Writer if
- You need palmyra llms.
- You work on web, api.
- You also want knowledge graph.
Questions people ask
- Is Wordtune or Writer better?
- Neither clearly leads. Wordtune starts at Free and Writer at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Wordtune or Writer?
- Wordtune has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for Wordtune and On request for Writer.
- Does Wordtune or Writer run on more platforms?
- Wordtune runs on Web, Browser-extension. Writer runs on web, api.
- Can I use Wordtune for free?
- Yes. Wordtune has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Writer starts at On request.
- What is Wordtune best used for?
- Wordtune is most often used for rewriting and paraphrasing emails, articles and messages, summarizing long text or video into shorter form, grammar and spelling correction inside a browser extension. Of those, rewriting and paraphrasing emails, articles and messages and summarizing long text or video into shorter form are not what Writer is typically brought in for.
- What can Wordtune do that Writer cannot?
- Wordtune covers Rewriting, Tone adjustment, Sentence expansion, Summarization. Writer covers Palmyra LLMs, Knowledge Graph, No-code agent builder, Brand compliance.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Wordtune: How long is the free trial and when am I charged?
The free trial lasts 3 days from purchase. You must provide payment information upfront but won't be charged until the trial ends. You can cancel anytime before the trial ends without charges.
SourceWriter: What does Writer cost?
Writer does not publish prices. There are two tiers: Starter, for teams up to five users, with a 14-day free trial and no card required, and Enterprise, which is contact-sales and adds unlimited users and teams.
SourceWordtune: Do you offer refunds?
No refunds are offered, but you can cancel your subscription before the next billing cycle or before your trial ends.
SourceWriter: What is the difference between Pro and Lite seats?
Pro is the standard paid seat, with full access to create, customise and automate workflows. Lite seats exist only on Enterprise, letting invited users view and run existing playbooks with limited monthly Agent use before needing a Pro seat.
SourceWordtune: What payment methods do you accept?
Wordtune accepts all major credit cards, debit cards, Apple Pay, Google Pay, and PayPal.
SourceWriter: What does Writer do with customer data?
Writer states a zero data retention approach and says customers retain full ownership of their data. By default it does not train or improve its models on customer data, rather than requiring an opt-out.
SourceWordtune: Are there discounts for students or nonprofits?
Yes, students and educators with valid .edu emails, and nonprofit employees qualify for a 30% discount on both annual and monthly plans.
SourceWriter: Which compliance standards does Writer meet?
Writer says it adheres to GDPR, HIPAA, SOC 2 Type II and PCI. HIPAA and SOC 2 Type II certifications and reports are available on request, and only for Enterprise plans.
SourceWriter: Are there discounts for nonprofits or education?
Yes. Writer offers 20% off the Starter and Enterprise plans to nonprofits and educational institutions, claimed by emailing from a nonprofit or .edu address.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Wordtune vs QuillBot
- Wordtune vs Pika
- Wordtune vs Anthropic API
- Wordtune vs D-ID
- Wordtune vs Fathom
- Wordtune vs Writesonic
- Wordtune vs ChatGPT
- Wordtune vs Rytr
- Wordtune vs Vellum
- Wordtune vs Lindy
- Wordtune vs Copilotly
- Wordtune vs Copy.ai
- Wordtune vs Black Forest Labs
- Wordtune vs Cartesia
- Wordtune vs Helicone
- Wordtune vs Ideogram
- Wordtune vs Jasper
- Wordtune vs LangGraph
- Wordtune vs Poolside
- Wordtune vs Gumloop
- Wordtune vs Galileo
- Wordtune vs LatchBio
- Wordtune vs Adobe Firefly
- Wordtune vs Aider
- Wordtune vs C3 AI Suite
- Wordtune vs Together AI
- Wordtune vs Poe
- Wordtune vs PromptLayer
- Writer vs QuillBot
- Writer vs Pika
- Writer vs Anthropic API
- Writer vs D-ID
- Writer vs Fathom
- Writer vs Writesonic
- Writer vs ChatGPT
- Writer vs Rytr
- Writer vs Vellum
- Writer vs Lindy
- Writer vs Copilotly
- Writer vs Copy.ai
- Writer vs Black Forest Labs
- Writer vs Cartesia
- Writer vs Helicone
- Writer vs Ideogram
- Writer vs Jasper
- Writer vs LangGraph
- Writer vs Poolside
- Writer vs Gumloop
- Writer vs Galileo
- Writer vs LatchBio
- Writer vs Adobe Firefly
- Writer vs Aider
- Writer vs C3 AI Suite
- Writer vs Together AI
- Writer vs Poe
- Writer vs PromptLayer

