Softwr

Business Intelligence · head to head

Holistics vs Redash

Holistics logo

Holistics

Business Intelligence

Self-service BI for data teams

From
$800/month
Rated
-
Redash logo

Redash

Spreadsheets

Connect and visualize your data

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Redash has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Holistics the entry plan is $960 per month billed monthly, which is a high floor for a BI tool; Redash pricing model not disclosed on dedicated pricing page
  • They diverge on capability: Holistics covers Data Modeling, Redash covers SQL Query Editor.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Holistics and Redash actually diverge.

Attributes where Holistics and Redash differ
AttributeHolisticsRedash
Starting price$800/monthFree
Pricing modelsubscriptionfreemium
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsWeb, CloudWeb, Self-hosted, Cloud
CategoryBusiness IntelligenceSpreadsheets
Founded20152013

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Holistics

  • Data Modeling
  • Version Control
  • Scheduling
  • Caching
  • Embedding
  • Snowflake
  • SQL Server

Only in Redash

  • SQL Query Editor
  • Multiple Data Sources
  • Visualizations
  • Dashboards
  • Alerts
  • Presto
  • MongoDB
  • Self-hosted support

Both cover

  • BigQuery
  • Redshift
  • PostgreSQL
  • MySQL
  • Web support
  • Cloud support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Holistics

  • Modelling business metrics in a code-defined semantic layer with Git version controlnot Redash
  • Self-service exploration and dashboards for non-SQL usersnot Redash
  • Embedding analytics into a customer-facing productnot Redash

Redash

  • Data visualization and business intelligence for analyticsnot Holistics
  • Query result sharing and collaborative dashboard creationnot Holistics

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Holistics

  • The entry plan is $960 per month billed monthly, which is a high floor for a BI tool
  • Every plan includes only the first 10 users, with additional users charged at $15 per month each on Entry and Standard and $18 on the Security Compliance Suite
  • The Entry plan caps reports at 100, and each additional 100 reports costs $120 per month
  • Google SSO requires the Standard plan at $1,200 per month; enterprise SSO with SAML and SCIM provisioning requires the Security Compliance Suite at $2,400 per month
  • Row-based access control, IP whitelisting, pass-through authentication and user activity monitoring are all Security Compliance Suite features
  • Connecting Git version control to your own repository requires Standard; Entry only gets Holistics-hosted Git
  • White labelling, dynamic row-level permissions and unlimited dashboard viewers for embedded analytics are Custom Plan only, with no published price
  • Bank payments and custom payment terms are Custom Plan only, and custom infosec or legal paperwork is Enterprise plan only
  • The two months off discount requires yearly billing

Redash

  • Pricing model not disclosed on dedicated pricing page
  • Open-source offering may require self-hosting technical expertise
  • Managed hosting or commercial support pricing not published

Pricing, plan by plan

Holistics

$800/month
  • Entry$800/month
    • 100 reports
    • First 10 users included
    • Core self-service analytics
  • Standard$1000/month
    • Unlimited reports
    • First 10 users included
    • Custom charts
  • Security Compliance Suite$2000/month
    • Unlimited reports
    • First 10 users included
    • Granular access controls

Redash

Free
  • Open SourceFree
    • Full Features
    • Self-hosted
    • Community Support
  • Cloud$49/month
    • Managed Hosting
    • Automatic Updates
    • Support

Which should you pick?

Choose Holistics if

  • You need data modeling.
  • You work on Web, Cloud.
  • You also want version control.

Choose Redash if

  • You need sql query editor.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, Self-hosted, Cloud.
  • You also want multiple data sources.

Questions people ask

Is Holistics or Redash better?
Neither clearly leads. Holistics starts at $800/month and Redash at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Holistics or Redash?
Redash has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $800/month for Holistics and Free for Redash.
Does Holistics or Redash run on more platforms?
Holistics runs on Web, Cloud. Redash runs on Web, Self-hosted, Cloud.
Can I use Redash for free?
Yes. Redash has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Holistics starts at $800/month.
What is Holistics best used for?
Holistics is most often used for modelling business metrics in a code-defined semantic layer with git version control, self-service exploration and dashboards for non-sql users, embedding analytics into a customer-facing product. Of those, modelling business metrics in a code-defined semantic layer with git version control and self-service exploration and dashboards for non-sql users are not what Redash is typically brought in for.
What can Holistics do that Redash cannot?
Holistics covers Data Modeling, Version Control, Scheduling, Caching. Redash covers SQL Query Editor, Multiple Data Sources, Visualizations, Dashboards. Both handle BigQuery, Redshift, PostgreSQL, MySQL.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Holistics: How much do additional Holistics users cost?

Additional users cost $12.50 per month (yearly billing) or $15 per month (monthly billing) for Entry/Standard plans, and $15-18 per month for Security Suite.

Source
Redash: What is Redash's pricing?

Redash is a popular open-source project with no pricing tiers listed on the pricing page. The project emphasizes no vendor lock-in and community contribution. Paid managed hosting or commercial support options may be available but are not published on this page.

Source
Holistics: Can I purchase additional reports on Holistics?

Yes, additional 100-report blocks cost $100 per month (yearly) or $120 per month (monthly billing).

Source
Holistics: Does Holistics support multiple data centers?

Yes, Holistics supports multiple data centers in US, EU, and APAC regions with pricing available for embedded analytics with unlimited dashboard viewers.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads