Softwr

Business Intelligence · head to head

Evidence vs Redash

Evidence logo

Evidence

Business Intelligence

Business intelligence as code for teams and AI agents

From
$2500/month
Rated
-
Redash logo

Redash

Spreadsheets

Connect and visualize your data

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Redash has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Evidence high starting price at $2,500/month limits small team adoption; Redash pricing model not disclosed on dedicated pricing page
  • They diverge on capability: Evidence covers Analytics Agent, Redash covers SQL Query Editor.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Evidence and Redash actually diverge.

Attributes where Evidence and Redash differ
AttributeEvidenceRedash
Starting price$2500/monthFree
Pricing modelFlat team pricing with no per-user feesfreemium
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsCloud, EmbeddedWeb, Self-hosted, Cloud
CategoryBusiness IntelligenceSpreadsheets
FoundedUnknown2013

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Evidence

  • Analytics Agent
  • Code-based infrastructure
  • Development environment
  • Visualization tools
  • Embedded analytics
  • Enterprise security
  • Multi-channel access

Only in Redash

  • SQL Query Editor
  • Multiple Data Sources
  • Visualizations
  • Dashboards
  • Alerts
  • PostgreSQL
  • MySQL
  • BigQuery

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Evidence

  • Building version-controlled analytics infrastructurenot Redash
  • Enabling AI agents to answer business questionsnot Redash
  • Delivering analytics through multiple channels (web, Slack, ChatGPT)not Redash
  • Embedding white-labeled analytics in productsnot Redash

Redash

  • Data visualization and business intelligence for analyticsnot Evidence
  • Query result sharing and collaborative dashboard creationnot Evidence

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Evidence

  • High starting price at $2,500/month limits small team adoption
  • No freemium option for evaluation or learning
  • Code-based approach has steeper learning curve than visual tools
  • AI credits limited on Team plan; additional credits cost extra
  • Requires Git workflow familiarity for effective collaboration

Redash

  • Pricing model not disclosed on dedicated pricing page
  • Open-source offering may require self-hosting technical expertise
  • Managed hosting or commercial support pricing not published

Pricing, plan by plan

Evidence

$2500/month
  • Team$2500/month
    • Unlimited users
    • Monthly billing
    • Analytics Agent
  • Enterprise$null/custom
    • All Team features
    • SSO/SAML authentication
    • SCIM directory sync

Redash

Free
  • Open SourceFree
    • Full Features
    • Self-hosted
    • Community Support
  • Cloud$49/month
    • Managed Hosting
    • Automatic Updates
    • Support

Which should you pick?

Choose Evidence if

  • You need analytics agent.
  • You work on Cloud, Embedded.
  • You also want code-based infrastructure.

Choose Redash if

  • You need sql query editor.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, Self-hosted, Cloud.
  • You also want multiple data sources.

Questions people ask

Is Evidence or Redash better?
Neither clearly leads. Evidence starts at $2500/month and Redash at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Evidence or Redash?
Redash has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $2500/month for Evidence and Free for Redash.
Does Evidence or Redash run on more platforms?
Evidence runs on Cloud, Embedded. Redash runs on Web, Self-hosted, Cloud.
Can I use Redash for free?
Yes. Redash has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Evidence starts at $2500/month.
What is Evidence best used for?
Evidence is most often used for building version-controlled analytics infrastructure, enabling ai agents to answer business questions, delivering analytics through multiple channels (web, slack, chatgpt), embedding white-labeled analytics in products. Of those, building version-controlled analytics infrastructure and enabling ai agents to answer business questions are not what Redash is typically brought in for.
What can Evidence do that Redash cannot?
Evidence covers Analytics Agent, Code-based infrastructure, Development environment, Visualization tools. Redash covers SQL Query Editor, Multiple Data Sources, Visualizations, Dashboards.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Evidence: Does Evidence have per-user pricing?

No, Evidence offers one flat price for unlimited users at $2,500/month on the Team plan with a 30-day free trial.

Source
Redash: What is Redash's pricing?

Redash is a popular open-source project with no pricing tiers listed on the pricing page. The project emphasizes no vendor lock-in and community contribution. Paid managed hosting or commercial support options may be available but are not published on this page.

Source
Evidence: How many AI credits come with Team plan?

Team plan includes 20,000 AI credits monthly at $0.01 per additional credit. Enterprise offers custom credit packages.

Source
Evidence: What is included in the Enterprise plan?

Enterprise adds SSO/SAML, SCIM directory sync, row-level access rules, embedding capabilities, and custom deployment options at custom pricing.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads