Accounting · head to head
Fyle vs Square

Fyle
Accounting
Real-time expense management that works with your cards
- From
- $11.99/month per active user
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Only Square has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: Fyle billed per active user, defined as anyone who creates an expense or has a connected card with transactions in the month, so headcount does not predict the bill; Square plus plan pricing not specified in documentation
- They diverge on capability: Fyle covers Real-time card tracking, Square covers Payment processing.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Fyle and Square actually diverge.
Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Fyle
- Real-time card tracking
- Automatic receipt matching
- Expense policies
- Approval workflows
- Mileage tracking
- Xero
- Sage Intacct
- NetSuite
Only in Square
- Payment processing
- Point of sale
- Invoicing
- Payroll
- Banking
- WooCommerce
- Wix
- EMV compliant
Both cover
- QuickBooks
- PCI DSS
- Web support
- Ios support
- Android support
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Fyle
- Expense reporting and corporate card reconciliationnot Square
- Enforcing spend policy and approvals before reimbursementnot Square
Square
- Accept payments with all-in-one POS applicationnot Fyle
- Online ordering and basic website creationnot Fyle
- Invoicing and appointment bookingnot Fyle
- Staff scheduling and loyalty programmesnot Fyle
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Fyle
- Billed per active user, defined as anyone who creates an expense or has a connected card with transactions in the month, so headcount does not predict the bill
- The Growth plan carries a 5 user minimum and the Business plan a 10 user minimum, so the entry cost is set by the floor rather than the team
- API access and the Sage Intacct and NetSuite integrations require a paid tier
- ACH reimbursements and project expense tracking sit above the entry plan
- Both published plans are billed annually
- Enterprise pricing is custom and aimed at organisations with 250 or more employees
Square
- Plus plan pricing not specified in documentation
- Processing fees differ by tier but exact rates not detailed
- Free plan pricing mentioned but specific features for Plus unclear
- Text marketing charged at 3¢ per message after first 500 included
Pricing, plan by plan
Fyle
$11.99/month per active user- Growth$11.99/month per active user
- Minimum 5 users
- Unlimited expense tracking, receipt scanning
- Card integrations, mileage/per diem tracking
- Business$14.99/month per active user
- Minimum 10 users
- Multi-stage approvals, ACH reimbursements (US only)
- Project tracking, Sage Intacct/300 CRE integrations
- Enterprise$null/mo
- 250+ employees
- IP whitelisting, SSO options
- Branded accounts, dedicated account manager
Square
Free- FreeFree
- Accept payments with all-in-one POS app
- Online site builder (ordering profiles, basic websites, online stores, booking sites)
- Item library and inventory tracking
- Plus$null/mo
- All Free plan features
- Advanced POS features for food, retail, and appointments
- Lower processing fees on card transactions
Which should you pick?
Choose Fyle if
- You need real-time card tracking.
- You work on Web, Ios, Android.
- You also want automatic receipt matching.
Choose Square if
- You need payment processing.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on POS (Mobile app), Web.
- You also want point of sale.
Questions people ask
- Is Fyle or Square better?
- Neither clearly leads. Fyle starts at $11.99/month per active user and Square at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Fyle or Square?
- Square has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $11.99/month per active user for Fyle and Free for Square.
- Does Fyle or Square run on more platforms?
- Fyle runs on Web, Ios, Android. Square runs on POS (Mobile app), Web.
- Can I use Square for free?
- Yes. Square has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Fyle starts at $11.99/month per active user.
- What is Fyle best used for?
- Fyle is most often used for expense reporting and corporate card reconciliation, enforcing spend policy and approvals before reimbursement. Of those, expense reporting and corporate card reconciliation and enforcing spend policy and approvals before reimbursement are not what Square is typically brought in for.
- What can Fyle do that Square cannot?
- Fyle covers Real-time card tracking, Automatic receipt matching, Expense policies, Approval workflows. Square covers Payment processing, Point of sale, Invoicing, Payroll. Both handle QuickBooks, PCI DSS, Web support, Ios support.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Fyle: How does Fyle define and charge for active users?
An 'active user' is defined as an employee who creates at least one expense or has a credit card connected with active transactions monthly. You only pay for active users, not all onboarded employees.
SourceSquare: Does Square offer a free plan?
Yes, Square's free plan includes an all-in-one POS app, online site builder, item library and inventory tracking, invoicing, appointment scheduling, staff calendars, and checking and savings account access. No subscription fees are charged.
SourceFyle: What is Fyle's Growth plan pricing?
The Growth plan costs $11.99 per active user per month (billed annually) with a minimum of 5 users. Includes unlimited expense tracking, receipt scanning, and single-stage approvals.
SourceSquare: What does Square Plus add compared to the free plan?
Square Plus adds advanced POS features for food and retail, lower processing fees on card transactions, custom loyalty programs, unlimited email marketing campaigns, text messaging, and staff scheduling and attendance tracking.
SourceFyle: What features does Fyle's Business plan add?
The Business plan costs $14.99 per active user per month (minimum 10 users, annual billing) and adds multi-stage approvals, project tracking, ACH reimbursements (US only), and premium support.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Fyle vs Ramp
- Fyle vs Airbase
- Fyle vs Happay
- Fyle vs Expensify
- Fyle vs Rydoo
- Fyle vs Zoho Expense
- Fyle vs QuickBooks
- Fyle vs Melio
- Fyle vs Spendesk
- Fyle vs Divvy
- Fyle vs Brex
- Fyle vs Pleo
- Fyle vs Money Forward Cloud
- Fyle vs Moneybird
- Fyle vs MYOB
- Fyle vs Netvisor
- Fyle vs Ottimate
- Fyle vs Pennylane
- Fyle vs Stripe
- Fyle vs KORONA POS
- Fyle vs Heartland Retail
- Fyle vs Shopkeep
- Fyle vs Toast
- Fyle vs BigCommerce
- Fyle vs Medusa
- Fyle vs Retail Pro
- Fyle vs Magento
- Fyle vs Squarespace Commerce
- Fyle vs AliExpress
- Fyle vs commercetools
- Fyle vs Depop
- Fyle vs Mercari
- Fyle vs Poshmark
- Fyle vs Shein
- Fyle vs Temu
- Square vs Ramp
- Square vs Airbase
- Square vs Happay
- Square vs Expensify
- Square vs Rydoo
- Square vs Zoho Expense
- Square vs QuickBooks
- Square vs Melio
- Square vs Spendesk
- Square vs Divvy
- Square vs Brex
- Square vs Pleo
- Square vs Money Forward Cloud
- Square vs Moneybird
- Square vs MYOB
- Square vs Netvisor
- Square vs Ottimate
- Square vs Pennylane
- Square vs Stripe
- Square vs KORONA POS
- Square vs Heartland Retail
- Square vs Shopkeep
- Square vs Toast
- Square vs BigCommerce
- Square vs Medusa
- Square vs Retail Pro
- Square vs Magento
- Square vs Squarespace Commerce
- Square vs AliExpress
- Square vs commercetools
- Square vs Depop
- Square vs Mercari
- Square vs Poshmark
- Square vs Shein
- Square vs Temu

