Softwr

LMS · head to head

Degreed vs LinkedIn Learning

Degreed logo

Degreed

LMS

Learning experience platform that indexes skills and third-party content rather than hosting courses

From
On request
Rated
-
LinkedIn Learning logo

LinkedIn Learning

LMS

Develop skills with expert-led courses

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Degreed pricing is entirely quote-based with no public rate card, and third parties report annual floors around 25,000 USD and licence minimums as high as 150 seats, so a mid-sized organisation frequently cannot buy it at any sensible price.; LinkedIn Learning no pricing published on main site; specific subscription costs and billing periods not disclosed
  • They diverge on capability: Degreed covers Content aggregation, LinkedIn Learning covers Video courses.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 31 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Degreed and LinkedIn Learning actually diverge.

Attributes where Degreed and LinkedIn Learning differ
AttributeDegreedLinkedIn Learning
Pricing modelquotesubscription
FoundedUnknown2003

Identical on both: starting price (On request), free tier (No), platforms (Web, iOS, Android), user rating (Not yet rated), category (LMS).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Degreed

  • Content aggregation
  • Skills framework
  • Pathways and plans
  • Skill gap analytics
  • Career mobility
  • Learning records
  • Academies
  • Integrations with content providers

Only in LinkedIn Learning

  • Video courses
  • Certificates
  • Learning paths
  • Skill assessments
  • LinkedIn integration
  • Mobile learning
  • Offline viewing
  • Recommendations

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Degreed

  • A large enterprise that already spends heavily on Coursera and LinkedIn Learning and cannot tell which of it is used or usefulnot LinkedIn Learning
  • An organisation planning a workforce transition and needing a defensible view of which skills exist internally before it hires externallynot LinkedIn Learning
  • A company running compliance training in an LMS that wants a separate, voluntary development experience employees actually choose to opennot LinkedIn Learning
  • A group building internal mobility, matching people to open roles and stretch projects on evidenced skills rather than job titlesnot LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning

  • Skill developmentnot Degreed
  • Career growthnot Degreed
  • Team trainingnot Degreed
  • Professional developmentnot Degreed

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Degreed

  • Pricing is entirely quote-based with no public rate card, and third parties report annual floors around 25,000 USD and licence minimums as high as 150 seats, so a mid-sized organisation frequently cannot buy it at any sensible price.
  • Degreed is a layer, not a replacement: you keep paying for the learning management system that runs compliance training and for the content subscriptions it indexes, so the licence is a third line on top of two you already have.
  • The skills data leans heavily on employee self-assessment, and self-rated skill is a weak signal; if managers do not validate ratings consistently the workforce capability picture that justified the purchase is not reliable enough to make hiring or redeployment decisions on.
  • Adoption is voluntary in most deployments, so unless the organisation ties learning to something consequential, usage decays after the launch campaign and the platform becomes an expensive search box.
  • Integrations with content providers vary in depth: some surface full metadata and completion write-back while others index only titles, so the unified record of learning the business case assumed can be patchy in exactly the sources employees use most.

LinkedIn Learning

  • No pricing published on main site; specific subscription costs and billing periods not disclosed
  • Free trial available but specific trial duration not stated on homepage

Pricing, plan by plan

Degreed

On request
  • Degreed for Enterprise$undefined/year
    • Content aggregation across internal and third-party sources
    • Skills framework and gap analytics
    • Pathways, plans and academies
  • Degreed Free (individual)Free
    • Personal learning profile
    • Track learning from any source
    • For individuals rather than organisations

LinkedIn Learning

On request
  • Monthly$29.99/month
    • All courses
    • Certificates
    • LinkedIn integration
  • Annual$19.99/month
    • All courses
    • Offline viewing
    • Personalized recommendations
  • Enterprise$undefined/month
    • Admin tools
    • Analytics
    • Learning paths

Which should you pick?

Choose Degreed if

  • You need content aggregation.
  • You work on Web, iOS, Android.
  • You also want skills framework.

Choose LinkedIn Learning if

  • You need video courses.
  • You work on Web, IOS, Android.
  • You also want certificates.

Questions people ask

Is Degreed or LinkedIn Learning better?
Neither clearly leads. Degreed starts at On request and LinkedIn Learning at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Degreed or LinkedIn Learning?
Degreed starts at On request and LinkedIn Learning at On request.
Does Degreed or LinkedIn Learning run on more platforms?
Degreed runs on Web, iOS, Android. LinkedIn Learning runs on Web, IOS, Android.
What is Degreed best used for?
Degreed is most often used for a large enterprise that already spends heavily on coursera and linkedin learning and cannot tell which of it is used or useful, an organisation planning a workforce transition and needing a defensible view of which skills exist internally before it hires externally, a company running compliance training in an lms that wants a separate, voluntary development experience employees actually choose to open, a group building internal mobility, matching people to open roles and stretch projects on evidenced skills rather than job titles. Of those, a large enterprise that already spends heavily on coursera and linkedin learning and cannot tell which of it is used or useful and an organisation planning a workforce transition and needing a defensible view of which skills exist internally before it hires externally are not what LinkedIn Learning is typically brought in for.
What can Degreed do that LinkedIn Learning cannot?
Degreed covers Content aggregation, Skills framework, Pathways and plans, Skill gap analytics. LinkedIn Learning covers Video courses, Certificates, Learning paths, Skill assessments.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Degreed: Does Degreed replace our LMS?

No. It is a discovery and skills layer over content. Compliance training, assignment and certification records generally stay in the LMS, and you pay for both.

LinkedIn Learning: How much does LinkedIn Learning cost?

LinkedIn Learning does not publish subscription prices on its website. Pricing is only available after clicking the 'Start free trial' or 'Buy for my team' buttons to access the purchase page.

Source
Degreed: What does Degreed cost?

It is quote-only. Third-party reports put annual floors around 25,000 USD with licence minimums that can reach 150 seats.

LinkedIn Learning: Does LinkedIn Learning offer a free trial?

Yes, LinkedIn Learning offers a free trial option accessible from the main site, though the specific trial duration is not stated on the homepage.

Source
Degreed: Is the skills data trustworthy?

Only as far as your validation process is. It is built on self-assessment plus peer endorsement, so without manager validation it should not drive redeployment decisions.

Degreed: Can individuals use it free?

Yes, Degreed offers a free personal profile for tracking your own learning, separate from the enterprise product.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads