CAD · head to head
DraftSight vs Ultimaker Cura
The short version
- Only Ultimaker Cura has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: DraftSight specific pricing amounts not disclosed on website; Ultimaker Cura support varies by community contribution
- They diverge on capability: DraftSight covers DWG/DXF support, Ultimaker Cura covers Universal printer support.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which DraftSight and Ultimaker Cura actually diverge.
| Attribute | DraftSight | Ultimaker Cura |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | $29/month | Free |
| Pricing model | subscription | Unknown |
| Free tier | No | Yes |
| Founded | 1981 | 2011 |
Identical on both: platforms (Windows, MacOS, Linux), user rating (Not yet rated), category (CAD).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in DraftSight
- DWG/DXF support
- 2D drafting
- 3D modeling
- Batch printing
- PDF import
- Layer management
- SolidWorks
- CATIA
Only in Ultimaker Cura
- Universal printer support
- Custom profiles
- Plugin marketplace
- Cloud integration
- Tree supports
- Arachne engine
- Ultimaker printers
- Most FDM printers
Both cover
- Windows support
- MacOS support
- Linux support
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
DraftSight
- 2D drafting and annotation on DWG filesnot Ultimaker Cura
- Opening and editing DWG drawings without AutoCADnot Ultimaker Cura
- Architectural and engineering drawing productionnot Ultimaker Cura
- Working alongside SOLIDWORKS in a Dassault toolchainnot Ultimaker Cura
Ultimaker Cura
- 3D print slicingnot DraftSight
- Professional printingnot DraftSight
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
DraftSight
- Specific pricing amounts not disclosed on website
- Directs customers to contact sales or visit store for pricing
- Three tiers available but feature differences not fully detailed
Ultimaker Cura
- Support varies by community contribution
- No commercial technical support
Pricing, plan by plan
DraftSight
$29/month- Standard$99/month
- 2D drafting
- Professional$199/month
- 2D + 3D
- Premium$499/month
- Advanced features
Ultimaker Cura
FreeNo published plan breakdown. See the Ultimaker Cura review.
Which should you pick?
Choose DraftSight if
- You need dwg/dxf support.
- You work on Windows, MacOS, Linux.
- You also want 2d drafting.
Choose Ultimaker Cura if
- You need universal printer support.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Windows, macOS, Linux.
- You also want custom profiles.
Questions people ask
- Is DraftSight or Ultimaker Cura better?
- Neither clearly leads. DraftSight starts at $29/month and Ultimaker Cura at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, DraftSight or Ultimaker Cura?
- Ultimaker Cura has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $29/month for DraftSight and Free for Ultimaker Cura.
- Does DraftSight or Ultimaker Cura run on more platforms?
- DraftSight runs on Windows, MacOS, Linux. Ultimaker Cura runs on Windows, macOS, Linux.
- Can I use Ultimaker Cura for free?
- Yes. Ultimaker Cura has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. DraftSight starts at $29/month.
- What is DraftSight best used for?
- DraftSight is most often used for 2d drafting and annotation on dwg files, opening and editing dwg drawings without autocad, architectural and engineering drawing production, working alongside solidworks in a dassault toolchain. Of those, 2d drafting and annotation on dwg files and opening and editing dwg drawings without autocad are not what Ultimaker Cura is typically brought in for.
- What can DraftSight do that Ultimaker Cura cannot?
- DraftSight covers DWG/DXF support, 2D drafting, 3D modeling, Batch printing. Ultimaker Cura covers Universal printer support, Custom profiles, Plugin marketplace, Cloud integration. Both handle Windows support, MacOS support, Linux support.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
DraftSight: Is there a free trial for DraftSight?
Yes, DraftSight offers a 30-day full-featured trial available for download. The trial provides complete access to all 2D/3D tools and advanced features.
SourceUltimaker Cura: Is Ultimaker Cura free?
Yes. Ultimaker Cura is completely free and open-source under the LGPL license. There are no premium versions, subscriptions, or hidden fees. All features are available to everyone.
SourceDraftSight: What DraftSight tiers are available?
DraftSight offers three pricing tiers: Professional (core 2D CAD tools), Premium (adds advanced tools, STEP import, and BIM module), and Enterprise (for large organizations with multiple sites).
SourceUltimaker Cura: How many printers does Cura support?
Ultimaker Cura supports over 400 different 3D printer models with out-of-the-box configuration. Users can add custom printers and profiles.
SourceDraftSight: What licensing options does DraftSight provide?
DraftSight offers Named-User Licensing for individuals and dedicated workstations, Network Licensing for shared access across users and locations, Perpetual Licensing for one-time purchase, and Cloud and Remote Access options.
SourceUltimaker Cura: What file formats does Cura import?
Ultimaker Cura converts STL, OBJ, 3MF, and other 3D file formats into G-code instructions that 3D printers can execute.
SourceUltimaker Cura: What features are available?
Cura offers 400+ configurable print settings, material profiles, intent profiles for specific applications, plugin support via the Ultimaker Marketplace, and active community development on GitHub.
SourceRelated pages
More on Ultimaker Cura
Other head to heads
- DraftSight vs V-Ray
- DraftSight vs FreeCAD
- DraftSight vs Enscape
- DraftSight vs KeyShot
- DraftSight vs BricsCAD
- DraftSight vs Inventor
- DraftSight vs MicroSurvey CAD
- DraftSight vs Bentley MicroStation
- DraftSight vs Shapr3D
- DraftSight vs ZBrush
- DraftSight vs Bentley iTwin Capture Modeler
- DraftSight vs Carlson Software
- DraftSight vs Alibre Design
- DraftSight vs Altium 365
- DraftSight vs Bambu Studio
- DraftSight vs CloudCompare
- DraftSight vs COMSOL Multiphysics
- DraftSight vs PrusaSlicer
- DraftSight vs OpenSCAD
- DraftSight vs SolveSpace
- DraftSight vs KiCad
- DraftSight vs Zoo
- DraftSight vs Siemens NX
- DraftSight vs Houdini
- DraftSight vs MoI (Moment of Inspiration)
- DraftSight vs Nomad Sculpt
- DraftSight vs nTop
- DraftSight vs Octane Render
- DraftSight vs RealityScan
- DraftSight vs Solid Edge
- Ultimaker Cura vs V-Ray
- Ultimaker Cura vs FreeCAD
- Ultimaker Cura vs Enscape
- Ultimaker Cura vs KeyShot
- Ultimaker Cura vs BricsCAD
- Ultimaker Cura vs Inventor
- Ultimaker Cura vs MicroSurvey CAD
- Ultimaker Cura vs Bentley MicroStation
- Ultimaker Cura vs Shapr3D
- Ultimaker Cura vs ZBrush
- Ultimaker Cura vs Bentley iTwin Capture Modeler
- Ultimaker Cura vs Carlson Software
- Ultimaker Cura vs Alibre Design
- Ultimaker Cura vs Altium 365
- Ultimaker Cura vs Bambu Studio
- Ultimaker Cura vs CloudCompare
- Ultimaker Cura vs COMSOL Multiphysics
- Ultimaker Cura vs PrusaSlicer
- Ultimaker Cura vs OpenSCAD
- Ultimaker Cura vs SolveSpace
- Ultimaker Cura vs KiCad
- Ultimaker Cura vs Zoo
- Ultimaker Cura vs Siemens NX
- Ultimaker Cura vs Houdini
- Ultimaker Cura vs MoI (Moment of Inspiration)
- Ultimaker Cura vs Nomad Sculpt
- Ultimaker Cura vs nTop
- Ultimaker Cura vs Octane Render
- Ultimaker Cura vs RealityScan
- Ultimaker Cura vs Solid Edge


