Softwr

Government · head to head

CitizenLab vs IAPro

CitizenLab logo

CitizenLab

Government

Digital Democracy Platform

From
$500/month
Rated
-
IAPro logo

IAPro

Government

Internal Affairs Case Management

From
$500/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: CitizenLab citizenLab has rebranded to Go Vocal and the product now sells under govocal.com; IAPro a public university's procurement documentation for IAPro (CI Technologies, acquired by Versaterm Public Safety in 2023) states the software is sold as an unlimited-use license covering all concurrent users and workstations with no additional or hidden licensing costs, and the first year of annual maintenance is included free; no dollar figure for that license was disclosed in the document, so total cost is not visible without a direct quote.
  • They diverge on capability: CitizenLab covers Participatory Budgeting, IAPro covers Case Management.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which CitizenLab and IAPro actually diverge.

Attributes where CitizenLab and IAPro differ
AttributeCitizenLabIAPro
PlatformsWeb, Ios, AndroidWeb, Desktop
Founded20151997

Identical on both: starting price ($500/month), pricing model (subscription), free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Government).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in CitizenLab

  • Participatory Budgeting
  • Idea Management
  • Online Consultations
  • Surveys & Polls
  • AI-powered Analysis
  • Single Sign-On
  • Open Data Portals
  • GIS Systems

Only in IAPro

  • Case Management
  • Early Warning System
  • Use of Force Tracking
  • Analytics
  • Reporting
  • CAD Systems
  • RMS
  • HR Systems

Both cover

  • Web support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

CitizenLab

  • Running community consultation and participatory budgeting for a citynot IAPro
  • Collecting resident input through surveys, ideation, mapping and votingnot IAPro
  • Centralising engagement data across multiple municipal departmentsnot IAPro

IAPro

  • Citizen Servicesnot CitizenLab
  • Records Managementnot CitizenLab
  • Public Safetynot CitizenLab
  • Civic Engagementnot CitizenLab

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

CitizenLab

  • CitizenLab has rebranded to Go Vocal and the product now sells under govocal.com
  • No prices are published on the plans page; every tier requires scheduling a demo
  • The Essential plan allows only 1 active project and 1 admin seat, with no project manager seats
  • Standard is limited to 4 admin seats and 5 project manager seats, and Premium to 8 admin seats and 25 project manager seats
  • Standard restricts Sensemaking to Light, capped at 30 inputs; auto-insights require Premium
  • The integrated Konveio document annotation and Echo blended engagement methods are excluded from Standard and require Premium
  • Auto-translation on Premium is limited to 3 languages
  • Custom fonts and other premium styling options are Premium only
  • Priority support is Premium only
  • Plans are split by population band, with separate ladders for cities under and over 100K population

IAPro

  • A public university's procurement documentation for IAPro (CI Technologies, acquired by Versaterm Public Safety in 2023) states the software is sold as an unlimited-use license covering all concurrent users and workstations with no additional or hidden licensing costs, and the first year of annual maintenance is included free; no dollar figure for that license was disclosed in the document, so total cost is not visible without a direct quote.

Pricing, plan by plan

CitizenLab

$500/month
  • Government$500/month
    • Participatory Budgeting
    • Idea Collection
    • Surveys

IAPro

$500/month
  • IAPro$500/month
    • Case Management
    • Early Warning
    • Analytics

Which should you pick?

Choose CitizenLab if

  • You need participatory budgeting.
  • You work on Web, Ios, Android.
  • You also want idea management.

Choose IAPro if

  • You need case management.
  • You work on Web, Desktop.
  • You also want early warning system.

Questions people ask

Is CitizenLab or IAPro better?
Neither clearly leads. CitizenLab starts at $500/month and IAPro at $500/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, CitizenLab or IAPro?
CitizenLab starts at $500/month and IAPro at $500/month.
Does CitizenLab or IAPro run on more platforms?
CitizenLab runs on Web, Ios, Android. IAPro runs on Web, Desktop.
What is CitizenLab best used for?
CitizenLab is most often used for running community consultation and participatory budgeting for a city, collecting resident input through surveys, ideation, mapping and voting, centralising engagement data across multiple municipal departments. Of those, running community consultation and participatory budgeting for a city and collecting resident input through surveys, ideation, mapping and voting are not what IAPro is typically brought in for.
What can CitizenLab do that IAPro cannot?
CitizenLab covers Participatory Budgeting, Idea Management, Online Consultations, Surveys & Polls. IAPro covers Case Management, Early Warning System, Use of Force Tracking, Analytics. Both handle Web support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

CitizenLab: How many projects can Essential tier teams manage?

The Essential tier is designed for teams starting small and is limited to 1 active project with 1 admin seat and no project manager seats.

Source
IAPro: How much does IAPro cost?

Pricing is not published. IAPro is an enterprise solution for professional standards management with custom pricing based on organizational needs.

Source
CitizenLab: How many projects can Standard and Premium tiers manage?

Both Standard and Premium tiers support unlimited projects. Standard includes 4 admin seats and 5 project manager seats, while Premium includes 8 admin seats and 25 project manager seats.

Source
IAPro: Can I try IAPro before committing to a purchase?

No self-serve trial is mentioned. The site directs interested parties to book a consultation with the sales team to discuss evaluation options.

Source
CitizenLab: Does Enterprise tier have any user seat limits?

No, the Enterprise tier is designed for organizations aiming to embed engagement deeply within their infrastructure and includes unlimited admin seats and project managers.

Source
IAPro: How do I request a quote or demo?

Contact Versaterm directly at 613-820-0311, 1-866-729-2947, or use the contact form at their website. They offer consultation booking for enterprise prospects.

Source
CitizenLab: What are the specific pricing amounts for each tier?

Specific pricing amounts are not disclosed on the plans page. The company directs interested organizations to talk to their team for personalized pricing offers.

Source
IAPro: What is the typical contract length?

Contract terms are not disclosed on the website. As an enterprise product, terms are negotiated individually during the sales process.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads