Logging · head to head
Checkly vs Maze

Checkly
Logging
Active reliability platform combining uptime monitoring, API testing, and incident response
- From
- Free
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Each has a real cost: Checkly free tier has limited check allocations per month; Maze maze publishes no prices on its pricing page; every plan routes to contact sales, so pricing is by quote only with no published rate or minimum
- They diverge on capability: Checkly covers Uptime monitoring, Maze covers Prototype testing.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Checkly and Maze actually diverge.
Identical on both: starting price (Free), pricing model (subscription), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Checkly
- Uptime monitoring
- Synthetic browser testing
- API monitoring
- Heartbeat monitoring
- Monitoring-as-Code
- Status pages
- Root cause analysis
- Global locations
Only in Maze
- Prototype testing
- Usability testing
- Card sorting
- Tree testing
- Surveys
- 5-second tests
- A/B testing
- Analytics dashboard
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Checkly
- Monitor API endpoints with custom assertionsnot Maze
- Test user journeys with browser automationnot Maze
- Detect performance degradation across regionsnot Maze
- Verify DNS and TCP connectivitynot Maze
- Ensure cron jobs and background tasks completenot Maze
Maze
- User research and testingnot Checkly
- AI-powered moderation featuresnot Checkly
- Prototype and website testingnot Checkly
- User feedback panelsnot Checkly
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Checkly
- Free tier has limited check allocations per month
- Overage charges can add up with high-volume workloads
- Status pages require separate paid tier
- Root cause analysis is separate billing component
Maze
- Maze publishes no prices on its pricing page; every plan routes to contact sales, so pricing is by quote only with no published rate or minimum
- The AI study builder, AI moderated interviews and moderated interview studies are Enterprise only
- Mobile testing and testing through the Maze mobile app are Enterprise only
- Interview scheduling, card sorting and information architecture testing are Enterprise only
- Role-based access, SSO and compliance controls are Enterprise only
- Panel recruitment is available on all plans but with stated limits, and prototype testing carries limits below Enterprise
- Qualitative analysis of clip recordings, interview transcription and automated theme analysis are Enterprise only
Pricing, plan by plan
Checkly
Free- HobbyFree
- 10 uptime monitors
- 1,000 browser checks monthly
- 10,000 API checks monthly
- Team$64/month
- 75 uptime monitors
- 12,000 browser checks monthly
- 100,000 API checks monthly
- Enterprise$undefined/custom
- Custom monitor quantities
- All 22 global locations
- 1-second check frequency
Maze
Free- FreeFree
- 1 active project
- Preview link testing
- Basic analytics
- Starter$75/month
- 3 active projects
- Unlimited responses
- Advanced analytics
- Team$150/month
- Unlimited projects
- Team collaboration
- Custom branding
- Enterprise$undefined/month
- Everything in Team
- SSO
- Dedicated CSM
Which should you pick?
Choose Checkly if
- You need uptime monitoring.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Web, CLI, API.
- You also want synthetic browser testing.
Choose Maze if
- You need prototype testing.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on Web, Mobile, Api.
- You also want usability testing.
Questions people ask
- Is Checkly or Maze better?
- Neither clearly leads. Checkly starts at Free and Maze at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Checkly or Maze?
- Checkly starts at Free and Maze at Free.
- Does Checkly or Maze run on more platforms?
- Checkly runs on Web, CLI, API. Maze runs on Web, Mobile, Api.
- Can I use Checkly for free?
- Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
- What is Checkly best used for?
- Checkly is most often used for monitor api endpoints with custom assertions, test user journeys with browser automation, detect performance degradation across regions, verify dns and tcp connectivity. Of those, monitor api endpoints with custom assertions and test user journeys with browser automation are not what Maze is typically brought in for.
- What can Checkly do that Maze cannot?
- Checkly covers Uptime monitoring, Synthetic browser testing, API monitoring, Heartbeat monitoring. Maze covers Prototype testing, Usability testing, Card sorting, Tree testing.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Checkly: What is included in the free Checkly plan?
The free Hobby plan includes 10 uptime monitors, 1,000 monthly browser checks, 10,000 monthly API checks, 6 monitoring locations, and 2-minute minimum check frequency with email, Slack, and webhook alerts.
SourceMaze: Does Maze offer a free trial or freemium tier?
Maze site indicates 'Try Maze for free' option, suggesting free tier or trial availability, but specific terms and limitations not stated on main page.
SourceCheckly: Can I write monitoring checks in my preferred language?
Yes, Checkly uses TypeScript/JavaScript for monitoring-as-code, integrated with Playwright for browser testing and supporting REST API testing.
SourceMaze: Can I request a custom demo if standard plans don't fit my needs?
Yes, Maze offers 'Request a demo' option, indicating willingness to discuss custom requirements and potentially custom pricing arrangements.
SourceCheckly: How much does status page add to my bill?
Status pages cost between $0-$30/month depending on your plan tier, billed separately from core monitoring.
SourceMaze: What testing capabilities does Maze include in paid plans?
Maze features AI Moderator, prototype testing, panel recruitment, and website testing capabilities across plans, but specific feature tiers and pricing not disclosed publicly.
SourceCheckly: What is the minimum check frequency?
The Hobby and Starter plans support 2-minute and 1-minute minimums respectively. The Team plan supports 30-second intervals, while Enterprise offers 1-second minimum frequency.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Checkly vs Uptime.com
- Checkly vs Cronitor
- Checkly vs New Relic
- Checkly vs InfluxDB
- Checkly vs Traceloop
- Checkly vs Healthchecks
- Checkly vs incident.io
- Checkly vs Better Stack
- Checkly vs Rootly
- Checkly vs FireHydrant
- Checkly vs Openstatus
- Checkly vs Logz.io
- Checkly vs Splunk Enterprise
- Checkly vs Stackdriver
- Checkly vs Sumo Logic
- Checkly vs Timber
- Checkly vs Telegraf
- Checkly vs Figma
- Checkly vs Linear
- Checkly vs Asana
- Checkly vs ClickUp
- Checkly vs Storybook
- Checkly vs Sketch
- Checkly vs Lovable
- Checkly vs Postman
- Checkly vs Canny
- Checkly vs LaunchDarkly
- Checkly vs Mixpanel
- Checkly vs Pendo
- Checkly vs Jira
- Checkly vs Mozilla Firefox
- Checkly vs Redis
- Checkly vs Segment
- Checkly vs Supabase
- Checkly vs Safari
- Maze vs Uptime.com
- Maze vs Cronitor
- Maze vs New Relic
- Maze vs InfluxDB
- Maze vs Traceloop
- Maze vs Healthchecks
- Maze vs incident.io
- Maze vs Better Stack
- Maze vs Rootly
- Maze vs FireHydrant
- Maze vs Openstatus
- Maze vs Logz.io
- Maze vs Splunk Enterprise
- Maze vs Stackdriver
- Maze vs Sumo Logic
- Maze vs Timber
- Maze vs Telegraf
- Maze vs Figma
- Maze vs Linear
- Maze vs Asana
- Maze vs ClickUp
- Maze vs Storybook
- Maze vs Sketch
- Maze vs Lovable
- Maze vs Postman
- Maze vs Canny
- Maze vs LaunchDarkly
- Maze vs Mixpanel
- Maze vs Pendo
- Maze vs Jira
- Maze vs Mozilla Firefox
- Maze vs Redis
- Maze vs Segment
- Maze vs Supabase
- Maze vs Safari

