Softwr

Developer Tools · head to head

Ansible vs Zapier

Ansible logo

Ansible

Developer Tools

Simple, agentless IT automation

From
Free
Rated
-
Zapier logo

Zapier

Automation Integration

Automate your work across 7,000+ app integrations

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Ansible the open source project gives the engine and the language; the automation controller, automation mesh, automation hub, analytics and governance all belong to the paid Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform; Zapier the free plan allows 100 tasks per month and only two-step Zaps, one trigger and one action
  • They diverge on capability: Ansible covers Playbooks, Zapier covers App integrations.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Ansible and Zapier actually diverge.

Attributes where Ansible and Zapier differ
AttributeAnsibleZapier
Pricing modelopen-sourceusage-based
PlatformsLinux, Windows, Mac, ApiWeb, Api
CategoryDeveloper ToolsAutomation Integration
Founded20122011

Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Ansible

  • Playbooks
  • Inventory management
  • Module library
  • Variables and templating
  • Handlers
  • Roles
  • Async tasks
  • Plugins

Only in Zapier

  • App integrations
  • Workflow automation
  • Trigger-based actions
  • Multi-step Zaps
  • Data formatting
  • Conditional logic
  • Error handling
  • Team collaboration

Both cover

  • Cloud deployment

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Ansible

  • Configuration managementnot Zapier
  • Server provisioningnot Zapier
  • Application deploymentnot Zapier
  • Multi-node managementnot Zapier
  • Orchestrationnot Zapier

Zapier

  • Lead managementnot Ansible
  • Data synchronizationnot Ansible
  • Email automationnot Ansible
  • Social media postingnot Ansible
  • Customer onboardingnot Ansible

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Ansible

  • The open source project gives the engine and the language; the automation controller, automation mesh, automation hub, analytics and governance all belong to the paid Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform
  • Event-Driven Ansible and the AI coding assistant are platform features rather than open source ones
  • Red Hat does not publish platform pricing
  • Running open source Ansible at scale means building the control plane the platform otherwise provides

Zapier

  • The free plan allows 100 tasks per month and only two-step Zaps, one trigger and one action
  • Multi-step Zaps, filters, paths, webhooks and the formatter all require a paid plan
  • Premium app connectors are withheld from the free plan
  • Free Zaps poll for new data every 15 minutes against 2 minutes on Professional and 1 minute on Team
  • Paying monthly rather than annually costs 50 percent more, so the 2,000-task Professional plan is $73.50 a month instead of $49

Pricing, plan by plan

Ansible

Free
  • Open SourceFree
    • Community edition
    • Unlimited nodes
    • Full functionality
  • Ansible Automation Platform$5000/year
    • Enterprise support
    • Ansible Tower
    • Advanced features

Zapier

Free
  • FreeFree
    • 100 tasks/month
    • 5 Zaps
    • Two-step Zaps
  • Starter$19.99/month
    • 750 tasks/month
    • 20 Zaps
    • Multi-step Zaps
  • Professional$49/month
    • 2,000 tasks/month
    • Unlimited Zaps
    • Custom logic

Which should you pick?

Choose Ansible if

  • You need playbooks.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Linux, Windows, Mac, Api.
  • You also want inventory management.

Choose Zapier if

  • You need app integrations.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, Api.
  • You also want workflow automation.

Questions people ask

Is Ansible or Zapier better?
Neither clearly leads. Ansible starts at Free and Zapier at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Ansible or Zapier?
Ansible starts at Free and Zapier at Free.
Does Ansible or Zapier run on more platforms?
Ansible runs on Linux, Windows, Mac, Api. Zapier runs on Web, Api.
Can I use Ansible for free?
Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
What is Ansible best used for?
Ansible is most often used for configuration management, server provisioning, application deployment, multi-node management. Of those, configuration management and server provisioning are not what Zapier is typically brought in for.
What can Ansible do that Zapier cannot?
Ansible covers Playbooks, Inventory management, Module library, Variables and templating. Zapier covers App integrations, Workflow automation, Trigger-based actions, Multi-step Zaps. Both handle Cloud deployment.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Ansible: Is Ansible free for commercial use?

Ansible Collaborative is open source. The page describes it as 'an open source IT automation engine' and does not impose restrictions on commercial use for the open source version.

Source
Zapier: What happens if I exceed my task limit in Zapier?

If you enable pay-per-task, monthly plans charge 2.5 times your base rate for overage tasks, while annual plans charge 1.25 times. Usage stops at 3 times your subscription amount as a hard ceiling.

Source
Ansible: What is the difference between open source Ansible and the commercial alternative?

The page references Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform as an enterprise alternative to Ansible Collaborative, but does not disclose specific differences, pricing, or feature comparisons between the two offerings.

Source
Zapier: Can I cancel my Zapier subscription at any time?

Yes, you can cancel anytime. Your access continues through the end of your current billing cycle.

Source
Ansible: Is there paid support available for Ansible?

The page does not disclose whether paid support contracts are available for open source Ansible or whether Red Hat offers support plans for their enterprise Ansible Automation Platform.

Source
Zapier: How long does Zapier retain my audit logs and version history?

Professional plan users get 1-month version history, Team plan users get 6-month audit logs and version history, and Enterprise customers get 1-year audit logs with custom data retention available.

Source
Zapier: What support do I get with my Zapier plan?

Professional and Team plans include email support available 24/7, with live chat available for higher-tier plans. Team plan includes priority support, and Enterprise customers receive a dedicated Technical Account Manager.

Source
Zapier: What discount does Zapier offer for annual plans?

Annual subscriptions receive 33% off the monthly rate. Non-profit organizations get an additional 15% reduction on top of the annual discount, though this excludes pay-per-task charges.

Source
Zapier: Does Zapier offer a free trial?

Yes, new accounts get a 14-day free trial of the Professional plan with no credit card required.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads