Softwr

Design · head to head

Affinity Designer vs Womp

Affinity Designer logo

Affinity Designer

Design

Professional graphic design software for everyone

From
$69.99/one-time
Rated
-
Womp logo

Womp

Design

Browser 3D modelling built on blended implicit surfaces for non-specialists

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Womp has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Affinity Designer premium AI features require separate Canva subscription; pricing for those plans not disclosed; Womp everything runs through the browser graphics stack, so an older laptop with integrated graphics hits frame rate and render limits fast and there is no local rendering fallback.
  • They diverge on capability: Affinity Designer covers Vector drawing, Womp covers Implicit surface modelling.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 31 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Affinity Designer and Womp actually diverge.

Attributes where Affinity Designer and Womp differ
AttributeAffinity DesignerWomp
Starting price$69.99/one-timeFree
Pricing modelone-timePer user per month
Free tierNoYes
PlatformsWindows, Macos, IosWeb
Founded1994Unknown

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (Design).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Affinity Designer

  • Vector drawing
  • Bezier tools
  • Gradient tools
  • Typography
  • Pixel-perfect editing
  • Artboards
  • Symbols
  • Non-destructive effects

Only in Womp

  • Implicit surface modelling
  • Browser rendering
  • Material library
  • Scene sharing
  • Export
  • Templates

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Affinity Designer

  • Logo designnot Womp
  • Vector illustrationnot Womp
  • Icon designnot Womp
  • Brandingnot Womp

Womp

  • Producing 3D product or icon visuals in a design team with no 3D specialistnot Affinity Designer
  • Making a set of consistent 3D illustrations for a website or campaign in a daynot Affinity Designer
  • Prototyping a form quickly for discussion before it is remodelled properly in CADnot Affinity Designer
  • Teaching 3D concepts without installing software on managed machinesnot Affinity Designer

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Affinity Designer

  • Premium AI features require separate Canva subscription; pricing for those plans not disclosed
  • Core Affinity tools are free but Canva premium add-on costs are not detailed

Womp

  • Everything runs through the browser graphics stack, so an older laptop with integrated graphics hits frame rate and render limits fast and there is no local rendering fallback.
  • Implicit modelling gives no control over the exported mesh, so the output topology is unsuitable for rigging, animation or subdivision work downstream.
  • Nothing is dimensionally accurate, so a form designed here has to be remodelled in CAD before it can be manufactured.
  • Scenes live in the vendor account, so if the service changes or closes, the only copies you hold are whatever you exported in advance.
  • The material and lighting set is deliberately simplified, which caps art direction and makes the output visually recognisable as having come from Womp.

Pricing, plan by plan

Affinity Designer

$69.99/one-time
  • Standard$69.99/one-time
    • Full version
    • All features
    • Lifetime updates

Womp

Free
  • Free$undefined/month
    • Public scenes
    • Limited render resolution
    • Limited storage
  • Pro$undefined/month
    • Private scenes
    • Higher render resolution
    • Mesh export and larger storage

Which should you pick?

Choose Affinity Designer if

  • You need vector drawing.
  • You work on Windows, Macos, Ios.
  • You also want bezier tools.

Choose Womp if

  • You need implicit surface modelling.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You also want browser rendering.

Questions people ask

Is Affinity Designer or Womp better?
Neither clearly leads. Affinity Designer starts at $69.99/one-time and Womp at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Affinity Designer or Womp?
Womp has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $69.99/one-time for Affinity Designer and Free for Womp.
Does Affinity Designer or Womp run on more platforms?
Affinity Designer runs on Windows, Macos, Ios. Womp runs on Web.
Can I use Womp for free?
Yes. Womp has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Affinity Designer starts at $69.99/one-time.
What is Affinity Designer best used for?
Affinity Designer is most often used for logo design, vector illustration, icon design, branding. Of those, logo design and vector illustration are not what Womp is typically brought in for.
What can Affinity Designer do that Womp cannot?
Affinity Designer covers Vector drawing, Bezier tools, Gradient tools, Typography. Womp covers Implicit surface modelling, Browser rendering, Material library, Scene sharing.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Affinity Designer: Is Affinity Designer free?

Yes, Affinity Designer is completely free. Every tool in the Pixel, Vector, and Layout studios, plus all customization and export features, are available at no cost with no seat count restrictions or payment requirements.

Source
Womp: Do I need to know 3D to use it?

No. That is the point of the modelling approach; there is no topology, edge flow or subdivision to understand.

Affinity Designer: Are there premium features available in Affinity by Canva?

Affinity by Canva includes optional AI features available through separate Canva premium subscriptions (Pro, Business, Enterprise, Education tiers). Core design tools remain free; premium AI functionality requires a Canva subscription.

Source
Womp: Can I use the meshes in Blender or a game engine?

You can export them, but the topology comes from tessellating an implicit surface, so it is not suitable for rigging, animation or subdivision without a retopology pass.

Affinity Designer: Do I need to pay for Affinity Designer updates?

No. Affinity by Canva receives free updates and new features over time. The core application and all design, editing, and layout tools are updated at no additional cost.

Source
Womp: Is it accurate enough for manufacturing?

No. It is a visual tool. Anything to be made needs remodelling in CAD.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads