Design · head to head
Adobe Creative Cloud vs Affinity Designer

Affinity Designer
Design
Professional graphic design software for everyone
- From
- $69.99/one-time
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Each has a real cost: Adobe Creative Cloud the vendor's own Plans and Pricing page as captured by the Internet Archive on 1 January 2022 listed, in US dollars per month: Photography (20GB) at $9.99, Photography (1TB) at $19.99, Creative Cloud All Apps at $52.99, Acrobat Pro at $14.99, and single apps such as Photoshop, Premiere Pro, Illustrator, and InDesign each at $20.99, all with a 30 day free trial and a separate Adobe Stock add-on; Affinity Designer premium AI features require separate Canva subscription; pricing for those plans not disclosed
- They diverge on capability: Adobe Creative Cloud covers Photoshop, Affinity Designer covers Vector drawing.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Adobe Creative Cloud and Affinity Designer actually diverge.
| Attribute | Adobe Creative Cloud | Affinity Designer |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | $20.99/month | $69.99/one-time |
| Pricing model | subscription | one-time |
| Platforms | Windows, Macos, Ios, Android, Web | Windows, Macos, Ios |
| Founded | 1982 | 1994 |
Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Design).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Adobe Creative Cloud
- Photoshop
- Illustrator
- InDesign
- Premiere Pro
- After Effects
- Lightroom
- XD
- Creative Cloud Libraries
Only in Affinity Designer
- Vector drawing
- Bezier tools
- Gradient tools
- Typography
- Pixel-perfect editing
- Artboards
- Symbols
- Non-destructive effects
Both cover
- Dropbox
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Adobe Creative Cloud
- Graphic designnot Affinity Designer
- Photo editingnot Affinity Designer
- Video productionnot Affinity Designer
- Web designnot Affinity Designer
- Digital artnot Affinity Designer
Affinity Designer
- Logo designnot Adobe Creative Cloud
- Vector illustrationnot Adobe Creative Cloud
- Icon designnot Adobe Creative Cloud
- Brandingnot Adobe Creative Cloud
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Adobe Creative Cloud
- The vendor's own Plans and Pricing page as captured by the Internet Archive on 1 January 2022 listed, in US dollars per month: Photography (20GB) at $9.99, Photography (1TB) at $19.99, Creative Cloud All Apps at $52.99, Acrobat Pro at $14.99, and single apps such as Photoshop, Premiere Pro, Illustrator, and InDesign each at $20.99, all with a 30 day free trial and a separate Adobe Stock add-on
Affinity Designer
- Premium AI features require separate Canva subscription; pricing for those plans not disclosed
- Core Affinity tools are free but Canva premium add-on costs are not detailed
Pricing, plan by plan
Adobe Creative Cloud
$20.99/month- Photography$20.99/month
- Lightroom
- Lightroom Classic
- Photoshop
- Single App$22.99/month
- One app of your choice
- 100GB cloud storage
- Portfolio website
- All Apps$59.99/month
- 20+ Creative Cloud apps
- 100GB cloud storage
- Portfolio website
- Teams$89.99/month
- Everything in All Apps
- 1TB cloud storage
- Advanced admin console
Affinity Designer
$69.99/one-time- Standard$69.99/one-time
- Full version
- All features
- Lifetime updates
Which should you pick?
Choose Adobe Creative Cloud if
- You need photoshop.
- You work on Windows, Macos, Ios, Android, Web.
- You also want illustrator.
Choose Affinity Designer if
- You need vector drawing.
- You work on Windows, Macos, Ios.
- You also want bezier tools.
Questions people ask
- Is Adobe Creative Cloud or Affinity Designer better?
- Neither clearly leads. Adobe Creative Cloud starts at $20.99/month and Affinity Designer at $69.99/one-time, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Adobe Creative Cloud or Affinity Designer?
- Adobe Creative Cloud starts at $20.99/month and Affinity Designer at $69.99/one-time.
- Does Adobe Creative Cloud or Affinity Designer run on more platforms?
- Adobe Creative Cloud runs on Windows, Macos, Ios, Android, Web. Affinity Designer runs on Windows, Macos, Ios.
- What is Adobe Creative Cloud best used for?
- Adobe Creative Cloud is most often used for graphic design, photo editing, video production, web design. Of those, graphic design and photo editing are not what Affinity Designer is typically brought in for.
- What can Adobe Creative Cloud do that Affinity Designer cannot?
- Adobe Creative Cloud covers Photoshop, Illustrator, InDesign, Premiere Pro. Affinity Designer covers Vector drawing, Bezier tools, Gradient tools, Typography. Both handle Dropbox.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Affinity Designer: Is Affinity Designer free?
Yes, Affinity Designer is completely free. Every tool in the Pixel, Vector, and Layout studios, plus all customization and export features, are available at no cost with no seat count restrictions or payment requirements.
SourceAffinity Designer: Are there premium features available in Affinity by Canva?
Affinity by Canva includes optional AI features available through separate Canva premium subscriptions (Pro, Business, Enterprise, Education tiers). Core design tools remain free; premium AI functionality requires a Canva subscription.
SourceAffinity Designer: Do I need to pay for Affinity Designer updates?
No. Affinity by Canva receives free updates and new features over time. The core application and all design, editing, and layout tools are updated at no additional cost.
SourceRelated pages
More on Adobe Creative Cloud
More on Affinity Designer
Other head to heads
- Adobe Creative Cloud vs Xara Designer Pro+
- Adobe Creative Cloud vs CorelDRAW Graphics Suite
- Adobe Creative Cloud vs Recraft
- Adobe Creative Cloud vs ArtRage
- Adobe Creative Cloud vs Krea
- Adobe Creative Cloud vs Magnific
- Adobe Creative Cloud vs Photopea
- Adobe Creative Cloud vs Principle
- Adobe Creative Cloud vs Procreate Dreams
- Adobe Creative Cloud vs Lunacy
- Adobe Creative Cloud vs Vectr
- Adobe Creative Cloud vs Rebelle
- Adobe Creative Cloud vs Rive
- Adobe Creative Cloud vs Balsamiq Wireframes
- Adobe Creative Cloud vs Corel Painter
- Adobe Creative Cloud vs Adobe Illustrator
- Adobe Creative Cloud vs Gravit Designer
- Adobe Creative Cloud vs Inkscape
- Adobe Creative Cloud vs Linearity Curve
- Adobe Creative Cloud vs Canva
- Adobe Creative Cloud vs ProtoPie
- Adobe Creative Cloud vs Abstract
- Adobe Creative Cloud vs Marvel
- Adobe Creative Cloud vs Playground AI
- Affinity Designer vs Xara Designer Pro+
- Affinity Designer vs CorelDRAW Graphics Suite
- Affinity Designer vs Recraft
- Affinity Designer vs ArtRage
- Affinity Designer vs Krea
- Affinity Designer vs Magnific
- Affinity Designer vs Photopea
- Affinity Designer vs Principle
- Affinity Designer vs Procreate Dreams
- Affinity Designer vs Lunacy
- Affinity Designer vs Vectr
- Affinity Designer vs Rebelle
- Affinity Designer vs Rive
- Affinity Designer vs Balsamiq Wireframes
- Affinity Designer vs Corel Painter
- Affinity Designer vs Adobe Illustrator
- Affinity Designer vs Gravit Designer
- Affinity Designer vs Inkscape
- Affinity Designer vs Linearity Curve
- Affinity Designer vs Canva
- Affinity Designer vs ProtoPie
- Affinity Designer vs Abstract
- Affinity Designer vs Marvel
- Affinity Designer vs Playground AI

