AI · head to head
Adobe Firefly vs Black Forest Labs

Adobe Firefly
AI
Adobe's generative AI suite for images, video, audio and vector content
- From
- Free
- Rated
- -

Black Forest Labs
AI
Frontier AI lab behind the FLUX family of image, video, and audio generation models
- From
- $0.17/month
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Only Adobe Firefly has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: Adobe Firefly video generation is limited to short five-second clips on lower tiers.; Black Forest Labs open weights licensing tiers (Builder, Platform, Professional) do not list public prices, requiring sales contact for most volumes.
- They diverge on capability: Adobe Firefly covers Text to Image, Black Forest Labs covers FLUX 3 image generation.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 29 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Adobe Firefly and Black Forest Labs actually diverge.
| Attribute | Adobe Firefly | Black Forest Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free | $0.17/month |
| Pricing model | freemium | usage-based |
| Free tier | Yes | No |
| Platforms | web, windows, mac, ios, android | web, api |
| Founded | 1982 | Unknown |
Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (AI).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Adobe Firefly
- Text to Image
- Generate Video
- Generative Fill
- Text Effects and Vector Generation
- Creative Cloud Integration
- Content Credentials
- Generative Fill for Video
- Credit-based usage tracking
Only in Black Forest Labs
- FLUX 3 image generation
- Video generation
- Synchronized audio generation
- Open weights
- Action-prediction
- Fine-tuning and LoRA rights
- Pricing calculator
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Adobe Firefly
- Generating stock-style images for marketingnot Black Forest Labs
- Extending or filling photos in Photoshopnot Black Forest Labs
- Producing short AI video clipsnot Black Forest Labs
- Creating vector art and text effectsnot Black Forest Labs
- Embedding AI generation into existing Creative Cloud workflowsnot Black Forest Labs
Black Forest Labs
- Generating high-fidelity images via API for production appsnot Adobe Firefly
- Self-hosting open-weight FLUX models on private infrastructurenot Adobe Firefly
- Producing short branded video clips with synchronized audionot Adobe Firefly
- Robotics research using action-prediction modelsnot Adobe Firefly
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Adobe Firefly
- Video generation is limited to short five-second clips on lower tiers.
- Full feature access requires a separate Creative Cloud app subscription for editing.
- Credit system can be consumed quickly by video and higher-resolution generations.
- Image quality and prompt adherence trail some standalone competitors like Midjourney.
Black Forest Labs
- Open weights licensing tiers (Builder, Platform, Professional) do not list public prices, requiring sales contact for most volumes.
- Video generation pricing per second can become costly for longer or higher-resolution outputs compared to subscription-based competitors.
- No consumer subscription plan; pricing is oriented toward developers and enterprises rather than casual creators.
Pricing, plan by plan
Adobe Firefly
Free- FreeFree
- Daily generative credits
- Access to core image, video and audio generation
- Standard-quality outputs
- Standard$9.99/month
- 2,000 credits per month
- Priority generation
- Pro$19.99/month
- 4,000 credits per month
- Up to 40 five-second videos
- Adobe Express Premium and Photoshop web/mobile included
- Premium$199.99/month
- 50,000 credits per month
- Unlimited access to the Firefly video model in Generate Video
Black Forest Labs
$0.17/month- API (video)$0.17/month
- $0.17 per second of generated video
- Builder$undefined/mo
- FLUX.2 [klein] models
- 10K images/month
- 1 domain, 10 licensed users
- Platform$undefined/mo
- FLUX.2 [klein] 9B + FLUX.2 [dev]
- 100K images/month
- 1 domain, 10 licensed users
- Professional$undefined/mo
- FLUX.2 [dev] open weights license
- 100K images/month
- Up to 3 domains, 10 licensed users
Which should you pick?
Choose Adobe Firefly if
- You need text to image.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on web, windows, mac, ios, android.
- You also want generate video.
Choose Black Forest Labs if
- You need flux 3 image generation.
- You work on web, api.
- You also want video generation.
Questions people ask
- Is Adobe Firefly or Black Forest Labs better?
- Neither clearly leads. Adobe Firefly starts at Free and Black Forest Labs at $0.17/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Adobe Firefly or Black Forest Labs?
- Adobe Firefly has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for Adobe Firefly and $0.17/month for Black Forest Labs.
- Does Adobe Firefly or Black Forest Labs run on more platforms?
- Adobe Firefly runs on web, windows, mac, ios, android. Black Forest Labs runs on web, api.
- Can I use Adobe Firefly for free?
- Yes. Adobe Firefly has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Black Forest Labs starts at $0.17/month.
- What is Adobe Firefly best used for?
- Adobe Firefly is most often used for generating stock-style images for marketing, extending or filling photos in photoshop, producing short ai video clips, creating vector art and text effects. Of those, generating stock-style images for marketing and extending or filling photos in photoshop are not what Black Forest Labs is typically brought in for.
- What can Adobe Firefly do that Black Forest Labs cannot?
- Adobe Firefly covers Text to Image, Generate Video, Generative Fill, Text Effects and Vector Generation. Black Forest Labs covers FLUX 3 image generation, Video generation, Synchronized audio generation, Open weights.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Adobe Firefly: Is Adobe Firefly free or is there a subscription cost?
The product page does not disclose pricing or subscription details. It describes Firefly as 'Your all-in-one AI creative studio' with 30+ AI models, but actual pricing information is not available on this page.
SourceBlack Forest Labs: How much does Black Forest Labs' API cost?
The API is pay-as-you-go with no subscription required; video generation costs $0.17 per second, so a 5-second HD clip costs about $0.85.
SourceAdobe Firefly: Can I use Firefly for commercial projects?
The page does not specify whether commercial use is permitted or if there are different terms for commercial vs. personal use.
SourceBlack Forest Labs: Is there a free plan?
No free tier is offered; the pricing page lists only pay-as-you-go API usage and paid open-weights licensing tiers starting with Builder.
SourceAdobe Firefly: Are there usage limits on the free or trial version?
The page does not disclose trial duration, usage limits, or feature restrictions. You would need to visit additional pages on Adobe's website or contact their sales team for this information.
SourceBlack Forest Labs: What do the open-weights licensing tiers include?
Builder includes FLUX.2 [klein] models with 10K images/month for one domain; Platform and Professional raise the cap to 100K images/month and add FLUX.2 [dev] access and fine-tuning rights.
SourceBlack Forest Labs: Can I self-host FLUX models?
Yes, open weights licenses let teams download and self-host FLUX.2 [klein] and FLUX.2 [dev] models on their own infrastructure under the Builder, Platform, and Professional tiers.
SourceBlack Forest Labs: How do I get enterprise or high-volume pricing?
Enterprise plans covering custom volume, all model releases, and SLA guarantees are not published and require contacting Black Forest Labs' sales team directly.
SourceRelated pages
More on Adobe Firefly
More on Black Forest Labs
Other head to heads
- Adobe Firefly vs Writer
- Adobe Firefly vs Ideogram
- Adobe Firefly vs Poe
- Adobe Firefly vs Pika
- Adobe Firefly vs Resemble AI
- Adobe Firefly vs D-ID
- Adobe Firefly vs Leonardo AI
- Adobe Firefly vs ElevenLabs
- Adobe Firefly vs Grok
- Adobe Firefly vs Galileo
- Adobe Firefly vs Copy.ai
- Adobe Firefly vs PromptLayer
- Adobe Firefly vs Replicate
- Adobe Firefly vs AI21 Labs
- Adobe Firefly vs Aider
- Adobe Firefly vs Lambda Labs
- Adobe Firefly vs Stable Diffusion
- Adobe Firefly vs AutoGen
- Adobe Firefly vs HeyGen
- Adobe Firefly vs Anyword
- Adobe Firefly vs Avathon
- Adobe Firefly vs Banana
- Adobe Firefly vs C3 AI Suite
- Adobe Firefly vs Character.AI
- Adobe Firefly vs Chatbase
- Black Forest Labs vs Writer
- Black Forest Labs vs Ideogram
- Black Forest Labs vs Poe
- Black Forest Labs vs Pika
- Black Forest Labs vs Resemble AI
- Black Forest Labs vs D-ID
- Black Forest Labs vs Leonardo AI
- Black Forest Labs vs ElevenLabs
- Black Forest Labs vs Grok
- Black Forest Labs vs Galileo
- Black Forest Labs vs Copy.ai
- Black Forest Labs vs PromptLayer
- Black Forest Labs vs Replicate
- Black Forest Labs vs AI21 Labs
- Black Forest Labs vs Aider
- Black Forest Labs vs Lambda Labs
- Black Forest Labs vs Stable Diffusion
- Black Forest Labs vs AutoGen
- Black Forest Labs vs HeyGen
- Black Forest Labs vs Anyword
- Black Forest Labs vs Avathon
- Black Forest Labs vs Banana
- Black Forest Labs vs C3 AI Suite
- Black Forest Labs vs Character.AI
- Black Forest Labs vs Chatbase
