Softwr

AI · head to head

Adobe Firefly vs AI21 Labs

Adobe Firefly logo

Adobe Firefly

AI

Adobe's generative AI suite for images, video, audio and vector content

From
Free
Rated
-
AI21 Labs logo

AI21 Labs

AI

Enterprise language AI solutions

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Adobe Firefly video generation is limited to short five-second clips on lower tiers.; AI21 Labs the free allowance is $10 of credit lasting 7 days rather than an ongoing free tier
  • They diverge on capability: Adobe Firefly covers Text to Image, AI21 Labs covers Jamba models.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Adobe Firefly and AI21 Labs actually diverge.

Attributes where Adobe Firefly and AI21 Labs differ
AttributeAdobe FireflyAI21 Labs
Pricing modelfreemiumusage-based
Platformsweb, windows, mac, ios, androidApi, Cloud
Founded19822017

Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated), category (AI).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Adobe Firefly

  • Text to Image
  • Generate Video
  • Generative Fill
  • Text Effects and Vector Generation
  • Creative Cloud Integration
  • Content Credentials
  • Generative Fill for Video
  • Credit-based usage tracking

Only in AI21 Labs

  • Jamba models
  • Long context
  • RAG engine
  • Writing tools
  • REST API
  • Amazon Bedrock
  • Cloud platforms
  • Api support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Adobe Firefly

  • Generating stock-style images for marketingnot AI21 Labs
  • Extending or filling photos in Photoshopnot AI21 Labs
  • Producing short AI video clipsnot AI21 Labs
  • Creating vector art and text effectsnot AI21 Labs
  • Embedding AI generation into existing Creative Cloud workflowsnot AI21 Labs

AI21 Labs

  • Running long-context tasks on the Jamba model familynot Adobe Firefly
  • Building and optimising production AI agents with Maestronot Adobe Firefly
  • Routing between models to control cost and accuracynot Adobe Firefly
  • Long-horizon agentic tasks needing stateful workspacesnot Adobe Firefly

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Adobe Firefly

  • Video generation is limited to short five-second clips on lower tiers.
  • Full feature access requires a separate Creative Cloud app subscription for editing.
  • Credit system can be consumed quickly by video and higher-resolution generations.
  • Image quality and prompt adherence trail some standalone competitors like Midjourney.

AI21 Labs

  • The free allowance is $10 of credit lasting 7 days rather than an ongoing free tier
  • Jamba Large is $2 per million input tokens and $8 per million output, so output-heavy work costs four times as much as input
  • Volume discounts, private cloud hosting and higher rate limits require a custom plan
  • Standard rate limits are not published

Pricing, plan by plan

Adobe Firefly

Free
  • FreeFree
    • Daily generative credits
    • Access to core image, video and audio generation
    • Standard-quality outputs
  • Standard$9.99/month
    • 2,000 credits per month
    • Priority generation
  • Pro$19.99/month
    • 4,000 credits per month
    • Up to 40 five-second videos
    • Adobe Express Premium and Photoshop web/mobile included
  • Premium$199.99/month
    • 50,000 credits per month
    • Unlimited access to the Firefly video model in Generate Video

AI21 Labs

Free
  • Free TrialFree
    • 10 USD credits
    • 7-day trial period
    • No credit card required
  • Pay As You Go$undefined/mo
    • Usage-based pricing model
    • Access to all Foundation model APIs and SDK
    • Unlimited seats
  • Custom Plan$undefined/mo
    • Volume discounts on token pricing
    • Premium API rate limits
    • Private cloud hosting option

Which should you pick?

Choose Adobe Firefly if

  • You need text to image.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on web, windows, mac, ios, android.
  • You also want generate video.

Choose AI21 Labs if

  • You need jamba models.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Api, Cloud.
  • You also want long context.

Questions people ask

Is Adobe Firefly or AI21 Labs better?
Neither clearly leads. Adobe Firefly starts at Free and AI21 Labs at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Adobe Firefly or AI21 Labs?
Adobe Firefly starts at Free and AI21 Labs at Free.
Does Adobe Firefly or AI21 Labs run on more platforms?
Adobe Firefly runs on web, windows, mac, ios, android. AI21 Labs runs on Api, Cloud.
Can I use Adobe Firefly for free?
Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
What is Adobe Firefly best used for?
Adobe Firefly is most often used for generating stock-style images for marketing, extending or filling photos in photoshop, producing short ai video clips, creating vector art and text effects. Of those, generating stock-style images for marketing and extending or filling photos in photoshop are not what AI21 Labs is typically brought in for.
What can Adobe Firefly do that AI21 Labs cannot?
Adobe Firefly covers Text to Image, Generate Video, Generative Fill, Text Effects and Vector Generation. AI21 Labs covers Jamba models, Long context, RAG engine, Writing tools.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Adobe Firefly: Is Adobe Firefly free or is there a subscription cost?

The product page does not disclose pricing or subscription details. It describes Firefly as 'Your all-in-one AI creative studio' with 30+ AI models, but actual pricing information is not available on this page.

Source
AI21 Labs: How much do AI21's Jamba Mini and Jamba Large models cost?

Jamba Mini costs $0.2 per 1M input tokens and $0.4 per 1M output tokens. Jamba Large is priced at $2 per 1M input tokens and $8 per 1M output tokens. Both models use usage-based billing with no monthly minimums.

Source
Adobe Firefly: Can I use Firefly for commercial projects?

The page does not specify whether commercial use is permitted or if there are different terms for commercial vs. personal use.

Source
AI21 Labs: Does AI21 offer a free trial?

Yes, AI21 provides a free trial with 10 USD in credits for 7 days, no credit card required. The trial grants access to all Foundation models via API and SDK.

Source
Adobe Firefly: Are there usage limits on the free or trial version?

The page does not disclose trial duration, usage limits, or feature restrictions. You would need to visit additional pages on Adobe's website or contact their sales team for this information.

Source
AI21 Labs: How do AI21's custom plans and volume discounts work?

Custom plans with volume discounts are available for enterprises but require contacting sales. These plans can include premium API rate limits, private cloud hosting, priority support, dedicated account managers, and expert consultancy.

Source
AI21 Labs: What does AI21 mean by 30% token efficiency savings?

AI21 claims their tokenization delivers approximately 30% more text per token compared to other providers, which can reduce effective costs by roughly 30%. This applies primarily to English-language text averaging 1 word or 6 characters per token.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads