Softwr

AI · head to head

Adobe Firefly vs Banana

Adobe Firefly logo

Adobe Firefly

AI

Adobe's generative AI suite for images, video, audio and vector content

From
Free
Rated
-
Banana logo

Banana

AI

ML inference at scale

From
$1200/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Adobe Firefly has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Adobe Firefly video generation is limited to short five-second clips on lower tiers.; Banana banana shut down its serverless GPU infrastructure on 31 March 2024 at noon PST and told customers to migrate to another provider by that time
  • They diverge on capability: Adobe Firefly covers Text to Image, Banana covers GPU inference.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Adobe Firefly and Banana actually diverge.

Attributes where Adobe Firefly and Banana differ
AttributeAdobe FireflyBanana
Starting priceFree$1200/month
Pricing modelfreemiumsubscription
Free tierYesNo
Platformsweb, windows, mac, ios, androidCloud, Api
Founded19822021

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (AI).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Adobe Firefly

  • Text to Image
  • Generate Video
  • Generative Fill
  • Text Effects and Vector Generation
  • Creative Cloud Integration
  • Content Credentials
  • Generative Fill for Video
  • Credit-based usage tracking

Only in Banana

  • GPU inference
  • Auto-scaling
  • Docker deployment
  • Low latency
  • REST API
  • Python SDK
  • Cloud support
  • Api support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Adobe Firefly

  • Generating stock-style images for marketingnot Banana
  • Extending or filling photos in Photoshopnot Banana
  • Producing short AI video clipsnot Banana
  • Creating vector art and text effectsnot Banana
  • Embedding AI generation into existing Creative Cloud workflowsnot Banana

Banana

  • Historically, serverless GPU inference for machine learning modelsnot Adobe Firefly
  • Migration reference for teams that ran models on Banana before the 2024 shutdownnot Adobe Firefly

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Adobe Firefly

  • Video generation is limited to short five-second clips on lower tiers.
  • Full feature access requires a separate Creative Cloud app subscription for editing.
  • Credit system can be consumed quickly by video and higher-resolution generations.
  • Image quality and prompt adherence trail some standalone competitors like Midjourney.

Banana

  • Banana shut down its serverless GPU infrastructure on 31 March 2024 at noon PST and told customers to migrate to another provider by that time
  • The vendor's own sunset notice names limited runway, retention problems and GPU supply constraints as the reasons for closing
  • The banana.dev site still displays pricing tiers, but every tier links to the sunset notice rather than to a purchase

Pricing, plan by plan

Adobe Firefly

Free
  • FreeFree
    • Daily generative credits
    • Access to core image, video and audio generation
    • Standard-quality outputs
  • Standard$9.99/month
    • 2,000 credits per month
    • Priority generation
  • Pro$19.99/month
    • 4,000 credits per month
    • Up to 40 five-second videos
    • Adobe Express Premium and Photoshop web/mobile included
  • Premium$199.99/month
    • 50,000 credits per month
    • Unlimited access to the Firefly video model in Generate Video

Banana

$1200/month
  • Team$1200/month
    • 10 team members
    • 5 projects
    • 50 max parallel GPUs
  • Enterprise$null/custom
    • Custom seat limit
    • Custom GPU configuration

Which should you pick?

Choose Adobe Firefly if

  • You need text to image.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on web, windows, mac, ios, android.
  • You also want generate video.

Choose Banana if

  • You need gpu inference.
  • You work on Cloud, Api.
  • You also want auto-scaling.

Questions people ask

Is Adobe Firefly or Banana better?
Neither clearly leads. Adobe Firefly starts at Free and Banana at $1200/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Adobe Firefly or Banana?
Adobe Firefly has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for Adobe Firefly and $1200/month for Banana.
Does Adobe Firefly or Banana run on more platforms?
Adobe Firefly runs on web, windows, mac, ios, android. Banana runs on Cloud, Api.
Can I use Adobe Firefly for free?
Yes. Adobe Firefly has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Banana starts at $1200/month.
What is Adobe Firefly best used for?
Adobe Firefly is most often used for generating stock-style images for marketing, extending or filling photos in photoshop, producing short ai video clips, creating vector art and text effects. Of those, generating stock-style images for marketing and extending or filling photos in photoshop are not what Banana is typically brought in for.
What can Adobe Firefly do that Banana cannot?
Adobe Firefly covers Text to Image, Generate Video, Generative Fill, Text Effects and Vector Generation. Banana covers GPU inference, Auto-scaling, Docker deployment, Low latency.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Adobe Firefly: Is Adobe Firefly free or is there a subscription cost?

The product page does not disclose pricing or subscription details. It describes Firefly as 'Your all-in-one AI creative studio' with 30+ AI models, but actual pricing information is not available on this page.

Source
Banana: How much does Banana's Team plan cost?

The Team plan costs $1,200 per month plus the cost of compute resources at cost with zero markup applied.

Source
Adobe Firefly: Can I use Firefly for commercial projects?

The page does not specify whether commercial use is permitted or if there are different terms for commercial vs. personal use.

Source
Banana: What is the maximum team size on Banana's Team plan?

The Team plan includes 10 team members and supports a maximum of 5 projects with up to 50 parallel GPUs.

Source
Adobe Firefly: Are there usage limits on the free or trial version?

The page does not disclose trial duration, usage limits, or feature restrictions. You would need to visit additional pages on Adobe's website or contact their sales team for this information.

Source
Banana: Does Banana offer an Enterprise plan with custom pricing?

Banana offers an Enterprise plan with custom pricing plus at-cost compute, including SAML SSO, automation API, and dedicated support.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads