Softwr

AI · head to head

Adobe Firefly vs Copy.ai

Adobe Firefly logo

Adobe Firefly

AI

Adobe's generative AI suite for images, video, audio and vector content

From
Free
Rated
-
Copy.ai logo

Copy.ai

AI

AI-powered copywriting made easy

From
$29/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only Adobe Firefly has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: Adobe Firefly video generation is limited to short five-second clips on lower tiers.; Copy.ai chat plan (lowest tier) available monthly, but Growth/Expansion/Scale plans require annual billing with no monthly option
  • They diverge on capability: Adobe Firefly covers Text to Image, Copy.ai covers AI copywriting.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Adobe Firefly and Copy.ai actually diverge.

Attributes where Adobe Firefly and Copy.ai differ
AttributeAdobe FireflyCopy.ai
Starting priceFree$29/month
Pricing modelfreemiumusage-based
Free tierYesNo
Platformsweb, windows, mac, ios, androidWeb
Founded19822020

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (AI).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Adobe Firefly

  • Text to Image
  • Generate Video
  • Generative Fill
  • Text Effects and Vector Generation
  • Creative Cloud Integration
  • Content Credentials
  • Generative Fill for Video
  • Credit-based usage tracking

Only in Copy.ai

  • AI copywriting
  • 90+ templates
  • Multi-language
  • Bulk generation
  • Zapier
  • API access
  • Web support
  • Api support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Adobe Firefly

  • Generating stock-style images for marketingnot Copy.ai
  • Extending or filling photos in Photoshopnot Copy.ai
  • Producing short AI video clipsnot Copy.ai
  • Creating vector art and text effectsnot Copy.ai
  • Embedding AI generation into existing Creative Cloud workflowsnot Copy.ai

Copy.ai

  • AI-powered copywriting and content generation for marketing and salesnot Adobe Firefly
  • Go-to-market automation with AI workflows and copy agentsnot Adobe Firefly

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Adobe Firefly

  • Video generation is limited to short five-second clips on lower tiers.
  • Full feature access requires a separate Creative Cloud app subscription for editing.
  • Credit system can be consumed quickly by video and higher-resolution generations.
  • Image quality and prompt adherence trail some standalone competitors like Midjourney.

Copy.ai

  • Chat plan (lowest tier) available monthly, but Growth/Expansion/Scale plans require annual billing with no monthly option
  • Workflow credits system complexity requires calculating credit consumption based on workflow complexity; rates not published

Pricing, plan by plan

Adobe Firefly

Free
  • FreeFree
    • Daily generative credits
    • Access to core image, video and audio generation
    • Standard-quality outputs
  • Standard$9.99/month
    • 2,000 credits per month
    • Priority generation
  • Pro$19.99/month
    • 4,000 credits per month
    • Up to 40 five-second videos
    • Adobe Express Premium and Photoshop web/mobile included
  • Premium$199.99/month
    • 50,000 credits per month
    • Unlimited access to the Firefly video model in Generate Video

Copy.ai

$29/month
  • Chat$29/month
    • 5 seats
    • Unlimited words in chat
    • Unlimited chat projects
  • Growth$1000/month
    • 75 seats
    • Unlimited words in chat
    • 20,000 workflow credits per month
  • Expansion$2000/month
    • 150 seats
    • Unlimited words in chat
    • 45,000 workflow credits per month
  • Scale$3000/month
    • 200 seats
    • Unlimited words in chat
    • 75,000 workflow credits per month

Which should you pick?

Choose Adobe Firefly if

  • You need text to image.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on web, windows, mac, ios, android.
  • You also want generate video.

Choose Copy.ai if

  • You need ai copywriting.
  • You also want 90+ templates.

Questions people ask

Is Adobe Firefly or Copy.ai better?
Neither clearly leads. Adobe Firefly starts at Free and Copy.ai at $29/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Adobe Firefly or Copy.ai?
Adobe Firefly has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for Adobe Firefly and $29/month for Copy.ai.
Does Adobe Firefly or Copy.ai run on more platforms?
Adobe Firefly runs on web, windows, mac, ios, android. Copy.ai runs on Web.
Can I use Adobe Firefly for free?
Yes. Adobe Firefly has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Copy.ai starts at $29/month.
What is Adobe Firefly best used for?
Adobe Firefly is most often used for generating stock-style images for marketing, extending or filling photos in photoshop, producing short ai video clips, creating vector art and text effects. Of those, generating stock-style images for marketing and extending or filling photos in photoshop are not what Copy.ai is typically brought in for.
What can Adobe Firefly do that Copy.ai cannot?
Adobe Firefly covers Text to Image, Generate Video, Generative Fill, Text Effects and Vector Generation. Copy.ai covers AI copywriting, 90+ templates, Multi-language, Bulk generation.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Adobe Firefly: Is Adobe Firefly free or is there a subscription cost?

The product page does not disclose pricing or subscription details. It describes Firefly as 'Your all-in-one AI creative studio' with 30+ AI models, but actual pricing information is not available on this page.

Source
Copy.ai: How much does Copy.ai cost?

Copy.ai offers a Chat plan starting at $29/month with 5 seats and unlimited chat words. Growth ($1,000/month), Expansion ($2,000/month), and Scale ($3,000/month) plans require annual billing and include workflow credits. Enterprise custom pricing is available.

Source
Adobe Firefly: Can I use Firefly for commercial projects?

The page does not specify whether commercial use is permitted or if there are different terms for commercial vs. personal use.

Source
Copy.ai: What is included in Copy.ai's Chat plan?

The Chat plan at $29/month ($24/month annual) includes 5 seats, unlimited words in chat, unlimited chat projects, and access to OpenAI, Anthropic, and Gemini language models.

Source
Adobe Firefly: Are there usage limits on the free or trial version?

The page does not disclose trial duration, usage limits, or feature restrictions. You would need to visit additional pages on Adobe's website or contact their sales team for this information.

Source
Copy.ai: How do Copy.ai workflow credits work?

Copy.ai uses a credit-based system where workflow complexity determines credit consumption. Growth plan includes 20,000 credits/month, Expansion includes 45,000 credits/month, and Scale includes 75,000 credits/month. Additional credits can be purchased as organizational needs expand.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads