Softwr

AI · head to head

Tabnine vs Writer

Tabnine logo

Tabnine

AI

AI coding agents built for enterprise privacy and control

From
$39/month
Rated
-
Writer logo

Writer

AI

Full-stack generative AI platform for enterprise content and agents

From
On request
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Tabnine no published free tier as of the current pricing page, unlike several competitors that offer free individual plans; Writer pricing is not publicly disclosed and requires a sales conversation, unlike consumer AI writing tools.
  • They diverge on capability: Tabnine covers Code Completions, Writer covers Palmyra LLMs.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 29 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Tabnine and Writer actually diverge.

Attributes where Tabnine and Writer differ
AttributeTabnineWriter
Starting price$39/monthOn request
Pricing modelsubscriptionquote
Platformswindows, mac, linux, webweb, api
Founded20172020

Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (AI).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Tabnine

  • Code Completions
  • AI Chat
  • Agentic Workflows
  • Context Engine
  • Zero Code Retention
  • Flexible Deployment
  • Codebase Integrations

Only in Writer

  • Palmyra LLMs
  • Knowledge Graph
  • No-code agent builder
  • Brand compliance
  • AI writing assistant
  • Enterprise security controls

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Tabnine

  • Enterprise teams requiring on-premises or air-gapped AI coding toolsnot Writer
  • Organizations with strict IP and data privacy requirementsnot Writer
  • Teams wanting codebase-aware code completionsnot Writer
  • Regulated industries needing compliance-certified AI toolingnot Writer

Writer

  • Enterprise marketing content generationnot Tabnine
  • AI-powered knowledge assistants grounded in company datanot Tabnine
  • Building custom generative AI agents without codenot Tabnine
  • Brand and compliance-consistent copywriting at scalenot Tabnine

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Tabnine

  • No published free tier as of the current pricing page, unlike several competitors that offer free individual plans
  • Pricing is higher than many consumer-focused AI coding assistants, targeting enterprise budgets
  • Now owned by Tricentis, a testing-focused company, introducing uncertainty about long-term product direction outside quality engineering use cases
  • LLM usage costs apply separately when using Tabnine-provided model access, on top of the per-seat license fee

Writer

  • Pricing is not publicly disclosed and requires a sales conversation, unlike consumer AI writing tools.
  • Its proprietary Palmyra models are less widely benchmarked and documented than general-purpose models like GPT or Claude.
  • Primarily positioned for large enterprises, making it less accessible or cost-effective for individuals and small teams.

Pricing, plan by plan

Tabnine

$39/month
  • Code Assistant Platform$39/month
    • AI code completions
    • AI chat across the SDLC
    • Works with all major IDEs
  • Agentic Platform$59/month
    • Everything in Code Assistant Platform
    • Autonomous coding agents
    • Customizable coaching guidelines

Writer

On request
  • Starter$undefined/month
    • For teams starting with agentic AI
    • Up to 5 users
    • 14-day free trial, no card required
  • Enterprise$undefined/month
    • Contact sales
    • Unlimited users, teams and free collaborators
    • Lite seats for invited users

Which should you pick?

Choose Tabnine if

  • You need code completions.
  • You work on windows, mac, linux, web.
  • You also want ai chat.

Choose Writer if

  • You need palmyra llms.
  • You work on web, api.
  • You also want knowledge graph.

Questions people ask

Is Tabnine or Writer better?
Neither clearly leads. Tabnine starts at $39/month and Writer at On request, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Tabnine or Writer?
Tabnine starts at $39/month and Writer at On request.
Does Tabnine or Writer run on more platforms?
Tabnine runs on windows, mac, linux, web. Writer runs on web, api.
What is Tabnine best used for?
Tabnine is most often used for enterprise teams requiring on-premises or air-gapped ai coding tools, organizations with strict ip and data privacy requirements, teams wanting codebase-aware code completions, regulated industries needing compliance-certified ai tooling. Of those, enterprise teams requiring on-premises or air-gapped ai coding tools and organizations with strict ip and data privacy requirements are not what Writer is typically brought in for.
What can Tabnine do that Writer cannot?
Tabnine covers Code Completions, AI Chat, Agentic Workflows, Context Engine. Writer covers Palmyra LLMs, Knowledge Graph, No-code agent builder, Brand compliance.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Tabnine: What does Tabnine cost?

The Code Assistant Platform is $39/user/month and the Agentic Platform, which adds autonomous agents and the CLI, is $59/user/month, both billed as annual subscriptions.

Source
Writer: What does Writer cost?

Writer does not publish prices. There are two tiers: Starter, for teams up to five users, with a 14-day free trial and no card required, and Enterprise, which is contact-sales and adds unlimited users and teams.

Source
Tabnine: Is there a free plan?

Tabnine's pricing page does not list a permanent free tier; both published plans are paid per-seat subscriptions aimed at professional and enterprise teams.

Source
Writer: What is the difference between Pro and Lite seats?

Pro is the standard paid seat, with full access to create, customise and automate workflows. Lite seats exist only on Enterprise, letting invited users view and run existing playbooks with limited monthly Agent use before needing a Pro seat.

Source
Tabnine: Does Tabnine charge extra for LLM usage?

Usage is unlimited when connecting your own on-prem or cloud LLM endpoint, but additional fees apply when using Tabnine-provided model access on top of the seat license.

Source
Writer: What does Writer do with customer data?

Writer states a zero data retention approach and says customers retain full ownership of their data. By default it does not train or improve its models on customer data, rather than requiring an opt-out.

Source
Tabnine: What deployment options does Tabnine support?

Tabnine can be deployed as SaaS, in a private VPC, fully on-premises, or in a completely air-gapped environment to meet enterprise data-control requirements.

Source
Writer: Which compliance standards does Writer meet?

Writer says it adheres to GDPR, HIPAA, SOC 2 Type II and PCI. HIPAA and SOC 2 Type II certifications and reports are available on request, and only for Enterprise plans.

Source
Tabnine: What is included in the Agentic Platform tier?

It adds autonomous coding agents with optional human oversight, the Tabnine CLI, the Context Engine, MCP integration, and unlimited codebase connections beyond the base Code Assistant plan.

Source
Writer: Are there discounts for nonprofits or education?

Yes. Writer offers 20% off the Starter and Enterprise plans to nonprofits and educational institutions, claimed by emailing from a nonprofit or .edu address.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads