Softwr

News · head to head

News Break vs Steno

News Break logo

News Break

News

Local news and breaking stories for your community

From
Free
Rated
-
Steno logo

Steno

News

AI transcription and analysis for news and media

From
$500/month
Rated
-

The short version

  • Only News Break has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
  • Each has a real cost: News Break no pricing model disclosed, appears to be free news platform; Steno no free tier available; entry point at $500/month
  • They diverge on capability: News Break covers Local news aggregation, Steno covers AI transcription.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which News Break and Steno actually diverge.

Attributes where News Break and Steno differ
AttributeNews BreakSteno
Starting priceFree$500/month
Pricing modelfreesubscription
Free tierYesNo
PlatformsIos, Android, WebWeb
Founded20162020

Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (News).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in News Break

  • Local news aggregation
  • AI personalization
  • Breaking news alerts
  • Community posts
  • Local events
  • Local publishers
  • Weather services
  • Ios support

Only in Steno

  • AI transcription
  • Broadcast search
  • Real-time monitoring
  • Clip creation
  • Media analysis
  • Slack
  • Email
  • API

Both cover

  • Web support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

News Break

  • Local newsnot Steno
  • Community updatesnot Steno
  • Breaking newsnot Steno
  • Local eventsnot Steno

Steno

  • AI-powered content creation platformnot News Break
  • Voice and text content generationnot News Break
  • Multi-channel content distributionnot News Break
  • Programmatic content syndicationnot News Break

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

News Break

  • No pricing model disclosed, appears to be free news platform

Steno

  • No free tier available; entry point at $500/month
  • Enterprise plan pricing not published; requires custom quote
  • Premium add-ons (iOS/Android app, Pro Voice) pricing not disclosed

Pricing, plan by plan

News Break

Free
  • FreeFree
    • Local news
    • Breaking alerts
    • Personalized feed

Steno

$500/month
  • Starter$500/month
    • 16,500 credits per month
    • 1 Twin
    • Web app deployment
  • Growth$1000/month
    • 40,000 credits per month
    • 2 Twins
    • Web app deployment
  • Scale$2000/month
    • 100,000 credits per month
    • 3 Twins
    • Web app deployment
  • Enterprise$null/month
    • 200,000+ credits per month
    • 5 Twins
    • Web app deployment

Which should you pick?

Choose News Break if

  • You need local news aggregation.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Ios, Android, Web.
  • You also want ai personalization.

Choose Steno if

  • You need ai transcription.
  • You also want broadcast search.

Questions people ask

Is News Break or Steno better?
Neither clearly leads. News Break starts at Free and Steno at $500/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, News Break or Steno?
News Break has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for News Break and $500/month for Steno.
Does News Break or Steno run on more platforms?
News Break runs on Ios, Android, Web. Steno runs on Web.
Can I use News Break for free?
Yes. News Break has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Steno starts at $500/month.
What is News Break best used for?
News Break is most often used for local news, community updates, breaking news, local events. Of those, local news and community updates are not what Steno is typically brought in for.
What can News Break do that Steno cannot?
News Break covers Local news aggregation, AI personalization, Breaking news alerts, Community posts. Steno covers AI transcription, Broadcast search, Real-time monitoring, Clip creation. Both handle Web support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

News Break: Does News Break charge a subscription fee?

News Break does not disclose pricing on its website. The platform offers free access to local news, headlines, and other news content through sections covering sports, finance, and other categories.

Source
Steno: What is the minimum cost to start using Steno?

The Starter plan is $500/month with 16,500 monthly credits. Steno does not offer a free tier, and monthly billing options include annual subscriptions with 10-15% savings.

Source
Steno: What are Steno credits and how many do I get?

Credits are the universal currency used for content processing, training, and user interactions across text, voice, and video. Starter includes 16,500/month, Growth 40,000/month, Scale 100,000/month, and Enterprise 200,000+/month.

Source
Steno: What is a Twin in Steno's pricing?

Twins are included in Steno plans at different quantities: Starter includes 1 Twin, Growth 2, Scale 3, and Enterprise 5. Specific features of Twins are not detailed on the pricing page.

Source
Steno: What are Steno's platform fees?

Steno charges monetization platform fees that decrease with plan tier: Starter at 9%, Growth at 8%, Scale at 7%, and Enterprise at 6%.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads