E-Commerce · head to head
Etsy vs Square

Etsy
E-Commerce
Global marketplace for handmade, vintage, and unique items
- From
- On request
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Only Square has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: Etsy transaction fees at 6.5% of sale price; Square plus plan pricing not specified in documentation
- They diverge on capability: Etsy covers Shop setup, Square covers Point of sale.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Etsy and Square actually diverge.
Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (E-Commerce).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Etsy
- Shop setup
- Product listings
- Shop customization
- Order management
- Shipping labels
- Reviews & ratings
- Shipping protection
Only in Square
- Point of sale
- Invoicing
- Payroll
- Banking
- QuickBooks
- WooCommerce
- Wix
- PCI DSS
Both cover
- Payment processing
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Etsy
- Selling handmade crafts and unique itemsnot Square
- Reselling vintage goods and collectiblesnot Square
- Marketing handpicked curated productsnot Square
- Operating storefront with secured payment processingnot Square
Square
- Accept payments with all-in-one POS applicationnot Etsy
- Online ordering and basic website creationnot Etsy
- Invoicing and appointment bookingnot Etsy
- Staff scheduling and loyalty programmesnot Etsy
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Etsy
- Transaction fees at 6.5% of sale price
- Payment processing fee of 3% plus $0.25 per transaction
- 15% offsite ads fee for sales from Etsy external advertising
- No monthly subscription covers fees - all fees per transaction
Square
- Plus plan pricing not specified in documentation
- Processing fees differ by tier but exact rates not detailed
- Free plan pricing mentioned but specific features for Plus unclear
- Text marketing charged at 3¢ per message after first 500 included
Pricing, plan by plan
Etsy
On request- Seller Fees$0.2/listing
- Listing fee per item for 4 months
- Transaction Fee$6.5/percent
- 6.5% of sale price including shipping
- Payment Processing Fee$3/percent
- 3% of sale price plus $0.25 per transaction
- Offsite Ads Fee$15/percent
- 15% of sale price when sale results from Etsy external advertising
Square
Free- FreeFree
- Accept payments with all-in-one POS app
- Online site builder (ordering profiles, basic websites, online stores, booking sites)
- Item library and inventory tracking
- Plus$null/mo
- All Free plan features
- Advanced POS features for food, retail, and appointments
- Lower processing fees on card transactions
Which should you pick?
Choose Square if
- You need point of sale.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on POS (Mobile app), Web.
- You also want invoicing.
Questions people ask
- Is Etsy or Square better?
- Neither clearly leads. Etsy starts at On request and Square at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Etsy or Square?
- Square has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at On request for Etsy and Free for Square.
- Does Etsy or Square run on more platforms?
- Etsy runs on Web. Square runs on POS (Mobile app), Web.
- Can I use Square for free?
- Yes. Square has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Etsy starts at On request.
- What is Etsy best used for?
- Etsy is most often used for selling handmade crafts and unique items, reselling vintage goods and collectibles, marketing handpicked curated products, operating storefront with secured payment processing. Of those, selling handmade crafts and unique items and reselling vintage goods and collectibles are not what Square is typically brought in for.
- What can Etsy do that Square cannot?
- Etsy covers Shop setup, Product listings, Shop customization, Order management. Square covers Point of sale, Invoicing, Payroll, Banking. Both handle Payment processing.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Etsy: What is the listing fee on Etsy?
Each listing costs $0.20 and is active for 4 months. You only pay transaction and payment processing fees when you make a sale.
SourceSquare: Does Square offer a free plan?
Yes, Square's free plan includes an all-in-one POS app, online site builder, item library and inventory tracking, invoicing, appointment scheduling, staff calendars, and checking and savings account access. No subscription fees are charged.
SourceEtsy: What are Etsy's transaction and payment fees?
Etsy charges 6.5% transaction fee on the sale price including shipping, plus 3% and $0.25 for payment processing per transaction. If a sale results from Etsy's external advertising, an additional 15% offsite ads fee applies.
SourceSquare: What does Square Plus add compared to the free plan?
Square Plus adds advanced POS features for food and retail, lower processing fees on card transactions, custom loyalty programs, unlimited email marketing campaigns, text messaging, and staff scheduling and attendance tracking.
SourceEtsy: Are there monthly subscription costs?
No, Etsy does not require a monthly subscription. You pay per listing ($0.20) and transaction-based fees when you make sales.
SourceEtsy: What types of items can I sell on Etsy?
Etsy allows items you made, designed, handpicked, or sourced that meet Creativity Standards. The marketplace focuses on unique, handmade, or vintage goods rather than mass-produced items.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Etsy vs Shopkeep
- Etsy vs Magento
- Etsy vs BigCommerce
- Etsy vs Poshmark
- Etsy vs eBay
- Etsy vs Mercari
- Etsy vs Temu
- Etsy vs Wish
- Etsy vs Amazon Shopping
- Etsy vs Squarespace Commerce
- Etsy vs Vinted
- Etsy vs Braintree
- Etsy vs Drip
- Etsy vs Ecwid
- Etsy vs Gumroad
- Etsy vs Inventory Lab
- Etsy vs KORONA POS
- Etsy vs Stripe
- Etsy vs Heartland Retail
- Etsy vs Toast
- Etsy vs Medusa
- Etsy vs Retail Pro
- Etsy vs AliExpress
- Etsy vs commercetools
- Etsy vs Klarna
- Etsy vs NCR Voyix
- Etsy vs Checkout.com
- Square vs Shopkeep
- Square vs Magento
- Square vs BigCommerce
- Square vs Poshmark
- Square vs eBay
- Square vs Mercari
- Square vs Temu
- Square vs Wish
- Square vs Amazon Shopping
- Square vs Squarespace Commerce
- Square vs Vinted
- Square vs Braintree
- Square vs Drip
- Square vs Ecwid
- Square vs Gumroad
- Square vs Inventory Lab
- Square vs KORONA POS
- Square vs Stripe
- Square vs Heartland Retail
- Square vs Toast
- Square vs Medusa
- Square vs Retail Pro
- Square vs AliExpress
- Square vs commercetools
- Square vs Klarna
- Square vs NCR Voyix
- Square vs Checkout.com

