Softwr

Research · head to head

Elicit vs Mouseflow

Elicit logo

Elicit

Research

The AI research assistant

From
Free
Rated
-
Mouseflow logo

Mouseflow

Research

Session replay and heatmaps

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Elicit pro and Scale plans available at different monthly prices; annual billing options not specified; Mouseflow the free plan is 500 sessions a month, one website and one month of data retention
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Elicit and Mouseflow actually diverge.

Attributes where Elicit and Mouseflow differ
AttributeElicitMouseflow
FoundedUnknown2009

Identical on both: starting price (Free), pricing model (subscription), free tier (Yes), platforms (Web), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Research).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Elicit

Nothing recorded that Mouseflow does not also cover.

Only in Mouseflow

  • Session Replay
  • 6 Types of Heatmaps
  • Funnels
  • Form Analytics
  • User Feedback
  • Google Analytics
  • Segment
  • HubSpot

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Elicit

  • Screening and summarizing 40,000+ academic papers in systematic reviewsnot Mouseflow
  • Extracting structured data from 200+ research sources automaticallynot Mouseflow
  • Querying full-text papers using AI for custom literature analysisnot Mouseflow
  • Tracking new relevant research with personalized notification alertsnot Mouseflow

Mouseflow

  • Session replay to watch how visitors use a pagenot Elicit
  • Click, scroll and geographic heatmapsnot Elicit
  • Conversion funnel and form analyticsnot Elicit
  • Friction detection on problem pagesnot Elicit
  • On-site feedback surveysnot Elicit

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Elicit

  • Pro and Scale plans available at different monthly prices; annual billing options not specified
  • Enterprise plan pricing not disclosed; requires contacting vendor

Mouseflow

  • The free plan is 500 sessions a month, one website and one month of data retention
  • Data retention is tiered, from 1 month on free to 12 months on Premium at $319 a month
  • Essential at $25 a month covers a single website project
  • SSO, custom privacy settings and priority support are on the higher tiers only
  • The 14 day money-back guarantee applies to annual subscriptions and excludes Enterprise

Pricing, plan by plan

Elicit

Free
  • BasicFree
    • Limited usage for Research Agent and Research Reports
    • Unlimited search across 138+ million papers
    • Unlimited summaries and chat with papers
  • Pro$49/month
    • Standard usage for Research Agent, Research Reports, and Systematic Literature Reviews
    • Dedicated workflow screening up to 5,000 papers
    • Up to 20 table columns
  • Scale$169/month
    • 5x usage for Research Agent, Research Reports, and Systematic Literature Reviews
    • Figure extraction and interpretation
    • Real-time team collaboration
  • Enterprise$null/custom
    • Custom usage limits
    • Unlimited alerts and up to 40,000 paper screening
    • Up to 40 table columns

Mouseflow

Free
  • FreeFree
    • 500 monthly sessions
    • 1 website project
    • 1 conversion funnel
  • Essential$25/month
    • 5,000 monthly sessions
    • 1 website project
    • 1 conversion funnel
  • Advanced$109/month
    • 25,000 monthly sessions
    • 2 website projects
    • 5 conversion funnels
  • Premium$319/month
    • 100,000 monthly sessions
    • 5 website projects
    • 10 conversion funnels

Which should you pick?

Choose Elicit if

  • You want to start without paying.

Choose Mouseflow if

  • You need session replay.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You also want 6 types of heatmaps.

Questions people ask

Is Elicit or Mouseflow better?
Neither clearly leads. Elicit starts at Free and Mouseflow at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Elicit or Mouseflow?
Elicit starts at Free and Mouseflow at Free.
Does Elicit or Mouseflow run on more platforms?
Both run on Web, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
Can I use Elicit for free?
Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
What is Elicit best used for?
Elicit is most often used for screening and summarizing 40,000+ academic papers in systematic reviews, extracting structured data from 200+ research sources automatically, querying full-text papers using ai for custom literature analysis, tracking new relevant research with personalized notification alerts. Of those, screening and summarizing 40,000+ academic papers in systematic reviews and extracting structured data from 200+ research sources automatically are not what Mouseflow is typically brought in for.
What can Elicit do that Mouseflow cannot?
Mouseflow covers Session Replay, 6 Types of Heatmaps, Funnels, Form Analytics.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Elicit: Does Elicit offer a free plan?

Yes, Elicit's Basic plan is free and includes unlimited search across 138+ million research papers, unlimited summaries, chat with papers, source viewing, and Zotero import. Limited usage is included for Research Agent and Research Reports.

Source
Mouseflow: Is there a free version of Mouseflow?

Yes, Mouseflow offers a free plan with up to 500 monthly sessions, 1 website project, and 1-month data retention.

Source
Elicit: What is the difference between Elicit's Pro and Scale plans?

Elicit's Pro plan ($49/month) includes standard usage limits, dedicated screening of up to 5,000 papers, and access to 135 data sources. The Scale plan ($169/month) offers 5x higher usage limits, screening of up to 40,000 papers, figure extraction, team collaboration, and access to 200 data sources.

Source
Mouseflow: What is the most popular Mouseflow plan?

The Advanced plan at $109/month is marked as most popular, offering 25,000 monthly sessions and 6 months of data retention.

Source
Elicit: What security features does Elicit Enterprise offer?

Elicit's Enterprise plan includes single sign-on (SSO), SAML, two-factor authentication (2FA), PRISMA-grade screening and extraction accuracy, and a dedicated customer success team. Pricing is custom and requires contacting the vendor.

Source
Mouseflow: Does Mouseflow offer annual billing discounts?

Yes, Mouseflow offers up to 35% savings when billed annually instead of monthly, and provides a 14-day money-back guarantee.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads