Softwr

AI · head to head

Chatbase vs D-ID

Chatbase logo

Chatbase

AI

Build AI chatbots trained on your data

From
Free
Rated
-
D-ID logo

D-ID

AI

AI-powered talking avatar generation

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Chatbase enterprise plan requires custom pricing with sales contact; D-ID pricing details are not published on the main pricing page; specific costs for Trial, Lite, Pro, Advanced, or Enterprise plans are not disclosed
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Chatbase and D-ID actually diverge.

Attributes where Chatbase and D-ID differ
AttributeChatbaseD-ID
Pricing modelfreemiumsubscription
FoundedUnknown2017

Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), platforms (Web), user rating (Not yet rated), category (AI).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Chatbase

Nothing recorded that D-ID does not also cover.

Only in D-ID

  • Photo-to-video
  • Talking avatars
  • Voice cloning
  • API access
  • API access
  • ChatGPT integration
  • Web SDK
  • Web support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Chatbase

  • Automating customer support for returnsnot D-ID
  • Answering product questions 24/7 across channelsnot D-ID
  • Routing conversations to sales teamsnot D-ID
  • Escalating complex issues to human agentsnot D-ID

D-ID

  • AI video generation with digital avatarsnot Chatbase
  • Multilingual video creation in 120+ languagesnot Chatbase
  • API-driven video automationnot Chatbase

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Chatbase

  • Enterprise plan requires custom pricing with sales contact
  • Message credits are consumption-based; exceeding monthly allocation requires additional purchase

D-ID

  • Pricing details are not published on the main pricing page; specific costs for Trial, Lite, Pro, Advanced, or Enterprise plans are not disclosed
  • Multiple pricing sections (Studio vs API) exist but neither displays actual dollar amounts or feature breakdowns
  • Enterprise pricing requires contacting sales directly

Pricing, plan by plan

Chatbase

Free
  • FreeFree
    • 50 message credits monthly
    • 1 member
    • Limited model access
  • Hobby$40/month
    • 700 message credits
    • 2 members
    • Advanced models
  • Standard$150/month
    • 4,000 message credits
    • 3 members
    • Voice
  • Pro$500/month
    • 15,000 message credits
    • 5 members
    • Advanced analytics

D-ID

Free

No published plan breakdown. See the D-ID review.

Which should you pick?

Choose Chatbase if

  • You want to start without paying.

Choose D-ID if

  • You need photo-to-video.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You also want talking avatars.

Questions people ask

Is Chatbase or D-ID better?
Neither clearly leads. Chatbase starts at Free and D-ID at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Chatbase or D-ID?
Chatbase starts at Free and D-ID at Free.
Does Chatbase or D-ID run on more platforms?
Both run on Web, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
Can I use Chatbase for free?
Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
What is Chatbase best used for?
Chatbase is most often used for automating customer support for returns, answering product questions 24/7 across channels, routing conversations to sales teams, escalating complex issues to human agents. Of those, automating customer support for returns and answering product questions 24/7 across channels are not what D-ID is typically brought in for.
What can Chatbase do that D-ID cannot?
D-ID covers Photo-to-video, Talking avatars, Voice cloning, API access.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Chatbase: Is there a free tier for Chatbase?

Yes, Chatbase offers a free plan with 50 message credits per month, 1 team member, and limited access to AI models. Agents created on the free plan automatically delete after 14 days of inactivity.

Source
D-ID: How much does D-ID cost?

D-ID pricing is not publicly displayed. The platform offers Trial, Lite, Pro, Advanced, and Enterprise plans, but specific costs are not published. Users must try the free trial or contact sales for pricing information.

Source
Chatbase: What are the differences between Standard and Pro plans?

Standard ($150/month) includes 4,000 message credits and 3 team members with voice, telephony, and API access. Pro ($500/month) includes 15,000 message credits, 5 team members, and advanced analytics with ticket support.

Source
D-ID: Does D-ID offer a free trial?

Yes, D-ID offers a free trial that users can start at studio.d-id.com. Trial users have access to the platform before committing to a paid plan.

Source
Chatbase: How much does it cost to add extra team members beyond the plan limit?

Chatbase's pricing page does not specify the cost for adding extra team members beyond the included count in each plan. Contact sales for custom member add-on pricing.

Source
D-ID: What are D-ID's video rendering limits?

D-ID measures usage in minutes for video creation. Minutes deducted from your plan round up to the nearest 15-second interval. Unused minutes do not carry over monthly and are renewed each billing period.

Source
Chatbase: Do annual plans offer a discount?

Yes, yearly plans save 20% compared to monthly billing across all tiers.

Source
D-ID: Can I upgrade from monthly to annual billing on D-ID?

Yes, D-ID supports both monthly and annual billing options, and users can switch between them anytime. Subscription cancellations remain active through the current billing period.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads