Softwr

AI · head to head

ChatGPT vs D-ID

ChatGPT logo

ChatGPT

AI

AI-powered conversational assistant for productivity and creativity

From
Free
Rated
-
D-ID logo

D-ID

AI

AI-powered talking avatar generation

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: ChatGPT openAI's own pricing page, as captured by the Internet Archive in 2023, listed ChatGPT Plus at $20 per user per month, Team at $25 to $30 per user per month with a minimum of 2 users, and Enterprise available only from 150 users. The live page refuses automated reads, so these are 2023 figures and the tiers have changed since.; D-ID pricing details are not published on the main pricing page; specific costs for Trial, Lite, Pro, Advanced, or Enterprise plans are not disclosed
  • They diverge on capability: ChatGPT covers Natural language conversation, D-ID covers Photo-to-video.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which ChatGPT and D-ID actually diverge.

Attributes where ChatGPT and D-ID differ
AttributeChatGPTD-ID
Pricing modelfreemiumsubscription
PlatformsWeb, Ios, Android, ApiWeb
Founded20152017

Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated), category (AI).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in ChatGPT

  • Natural language conversation
  • Code generation and debugging
  • Text analysis and summarization
  • Creative writing assistance
  • Math and problem solving
  • Language translation
  • Research assistance
  • Image generation (DALL-E)

Only in D-ID

  • Photo-to-video
  • Talking avatars
  • Voice cloning
  • API access
  • API access
  • ChatGPT integration
  • Web SDK

Both cover

  • Web support
  • Api support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

ChatGPT

  • Content creationnot D-ID
  • Code assistancenot D-ID
  • Research and analysisnot D-ID
  • Learning and educationnot D-ID
  • Creative writingnot D-ID

D-ID

  • AI video generation with digital avatarsnot ChatGPT
  • Multilingual video creation in 120+ languagesnot ChatGPT
  • API-driven video automationnot ChatGPT

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

ChatGPT

  • OpenAI's own pricing page, as captured by the Internet Archive in 2023, listed ChatGPT Plus at $20 per user per month, Team at $25 to $30 per user per month with a minimum of 2 users, and Enterprise available only from 150 users. The live page refuses automated reads, so these are 2023 figures and the tiers have changed since.

D-ID

  • Pricing details are not published on the main pricing page; specific costs for Trial, Lite, Pro, Advanced, or Enterprise plans are not disclosed
  • Multiple pricing sections (Studio vs API) exist but neither displays actual dollar amounts or feature breakdowns
  • Enterprise pricing requires contacting sales directly

Pricing, plan by plan

ChatGPT

Free
  • FreeFree
    • Access to GPT-3.5
    • Standard response speed
    • Regular model updates
  • ChatGPT Plus$20/month
    • Access to GPT-4
    • Faster response times
    • Priority access during peak times

D-ID

Free

No published plan breakdown. See the D-ID review.

Which should you pick?

Choose ChatGPT if

  • You need natural language conversation.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Web, Ios, Android, Api.
  • You also want code generation and debugging.

Choose D-ID if

  • You need photo-to-video.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You also want talking avatars.

Questions people ask

Is ChatGPT or D-ID better?
Neither clearly leads. ChatGPT starts at Free and D-ID at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, ChatGPT or D-ID?
ChatGPT starts at Free and D-ID at Free.
Does ChatGPT or D-ID run on more platforms?
ChatGPT runs on Web, Ios, Android, Api. D-ID runs on Web.
Can I use ChatGPT for free?
Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
What is ChatGPT best used for?
ChatGPT is most often used for content creation, code assistance, research and analysis, learning and education. Of those, content creation and code assistance are not what D-ID is typically brought in for.
What can ChatGPT do that D-ID cannot?
ChatGPT covers Natural language conversation, Code generation and debugging, Text analysis and summarization, Creative writing assistance. D-ID covers Photo-to-video, Talking avatars, Voice cloning, API access. Both handle Web support, Api support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

ChatGPT: Does ChatGPT offer a free plan?

Yes, ChatGPT offers a free tier. You can chat with the AI, generate text, and use basic features without paying, though premium plans are available for enhanced capabilities.

Source
D-ID: How much does D-ID cost?

D-ID pricing is not publicly displayed. The platform offers Trial, Lite, Pro, Advanced, and Enterprise plans, but specific costs are not published. Users must try the free trial or contact sales for pricing information.

Source
ChatGPT: What are ChatGPT's paid plans and pricing?

ChatGPT mentions plans and pricing options on its website, but specific pricing details are not visible from the cached homepage. Visit chatgpt.com/auth/login to view current subscription options and rates.

Source
D-ID: Does D-ID offer a free trial?

Yes, D-ID offers a free trial that users can start at studio.d-id.com. Trial users have access to the platform before committing to a paid plan.

Source
D-ID: What are D-ID's video rendering limits?

D-ID measures usage in minutes for video creation. Minutes deducted from your plan round up to the nearest 15-second interval. Unused minutes do not carry over monthly and are renewed each billing period.

Source
D-ID: Can I upgrade from monthly to annual billing on D-ID?

Yes, D-ID supports both monthly and annual billing options, and users can switch between them anytime. Subscription cancellations remain active through the current billing period.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads