Softwr

AI · head to head

D-ID vs Pika

D-ID logo

D-ID

AI

AI-powered talking avatar generation

From
Free
Rated
-
Pika logo

Pika

AI

AI video generation made simple

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: D-ID pricing details are not published on the main pricing page; specific costs for Trial, Lite, Pro, Advanced, or Enterprise plans are not disclosed; Pika maximum video length of 3-8 seconds per generation, requiring multiple renders for longer content
  • They diverge on capability: D-ID covers Photo-to-video, Pika covers Text-to-video.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which D-ID and Pika actually diverge.

Attributes where D-ID and Pika differ
AttributeD-IDPika
Pricing modelsubscriptionUnknown
Founded20172023

Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), platforms (Web), user rating (Not yet rated), category (AI).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in D-ID

  • Photo-to-video
  • Talking avatars
  • Voice cloning
  • API access
  • API access
  • ChatGPT integration
  • Web SDK
  • Api support

Only in Pika

  • Text-to-video
  • Image-to-video
  • Video editing
  • Lip sync
  • Discord
  • Web interface
  • Discord support

Both cover

  • Web support

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

D-ID

  • AI video generation with digital avatarsnot Pika
  • Multilingual video creation in 120+ languagesnot Pika
  • API-driven video automationnot Pika

Pika

  • ai tools managementnot D-ID
  • Workflow automationnot D-ID
  • Reportingnot D-ID

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

D-ID

  • Pricing details are not published on the main pricing page; specific costs for Trial, Lite, Pro, Advanced, or Enterprise plans are not disclosed
  • Multiple pricing sections (Studio vs API) exist but neither displays actual dollar amounts or feature breakdowns
  • Enterprise pricing requires contacting sales directly

Pika

  • Maximum video length of 3-8 seconds per generation, requiring multiple renders for longer content
  • Inconsistent output quality with character morphing, distortion, and temporal inconsistencies like flickering textures
  • Poor handling of complex scenes with multiple characters showing body distortions and weak character consistency across frames
  • No native audio generation, requiring separate tools to add sound to silent videos
  • Customer service and billing issues with complaints of non-responsive support and confusing billing practices

Pricing, plan by plan

D-ID

Free

No published plan breakdown. See the D-ID review.

Pika

Free
  • FreeFree
    • 80 credits
    • 3-second clips
  • Standard$8/month
    • 700 credits
    • 3-second clips
  • Pro$28/month
    • 2,300 credits
    • Watermark-free
    • Commercial use

Which should you pick?

Choose D-ID if

  • You need photo-to-video.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You also want talking avatars.

Choose Pika if

  • You need text-to-video.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You also want image-to-video.

Questions people ask

Is D-ID or Pika better?
Neither clearly leads. D-ID starts at Free and Pika at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, D-ID or Pika?
D-ID starts at Free and Pika at Free.
Does D-ID or Pika run on more platforms?
Both run on Web, so platform support will not decide this one for you.
Can I use D-ID for free?
Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
What is D-ID best used for?
D-ID is most often used for ai video generation with digital avatars, multilingual video creation in 120+ languages, api-driven video automation. Of those, ai video generation with digital avatars and multilingual video creation in 120+ languages are not what Pika is typically brought in for.
What can D-ID do that Pika cannot?
D-ID covers Photo-to-video, Talking avatars, Voice cloning, API access. Pika covers Text-to-video, Image-to-video, Video editing, Lip sync. Both handle Web support.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

D-ID: How much does D-ID cost?

D-ID pricing is not publicly displayed. The platform offers Trial, Lite, Pro, Advanced, and Enterprise plans, but specific costs are not published. Users must try the free trial or contact sales for pricing information.

Source
Pika: What are Pika's pricing plans?

Pika offers Free ($0, 80 credits), Standard ($8/month, 700 credits), Pro ($28/month, 2,300 credits with watermark-free output), and Fancy ($76/month, 6,000 credits). Annual billing saves approximately 20% versus monthly pricing.

Source
D-ID: Does D-ID offer a free trial?

Yes, D-ID offers a free trial that users can start at studio.d-id.com. Trial users have access to the platform before committing to a paid plan.

Source
Pika: What video features does Pika support?

Pika 2.5 supports text-to-video, image-to-video, and video-to-video editing with effects like Pikaffects (physics effects), Pikadditions (insert objects), Pikaswaps (replace objects), Pikaframes (keyframe interpolation), and Pikatwists (stylistic transformations).

Source
D-ID: What are D-ID's video rendering limits?

D-ID measures usage in minutes for video creation. Minutes deducted from your plan round up to the nearest 15-second interval. Unused minutes do not carry over monthly and are renewed each billing period.

Source
Pika: What is the maximum video length Pika can generate?

Pika can generate videos of 3 to 8 seconds in length. Longer videos require multiple generations or video extension features.

Source
D-ID: Can I upgrade from monthly to annual billing on D-ID?

Yes, D-ID supports both monthly and annual billing options, and users can switch between them anytime. Subscription cancellations remain active through the current billing period.

Source
Pika: Do free tier videos include a watermark?

Yes. Free users receive a Pika watermark on all video outputs. Paid tiers starting at Pro ($28/month) offer watermark-free videos.

Source
Pika: Does Pika generate audio for videos?

No. Pika does not generate native audio. Videos arrive silent and require a separate step to add sound tracks or voiceovers.

Share

Related pages

Other head to heads