Fitness · head to head
Apple Fitness+ vs Centr
The short version
- Each has a real cost: Apple Fitness+ restricted to Apple ecosystem, not compatible with Android devices or non-Apple platforms; Centr centr Coach app subscription pricing not disclosed on website
- They diverge on capability: Apple Fitness+ covers Studio-style workouts, Centr covers Expert-led workouts.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Apple Fitness+ and Centr actually diverge.
| Attribute | Apple Fitness+ | Centr |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | $9.99/month | $29.99/one-time |
| Pricing model | Unknown | one-time |
| Platforms | iOS, iPadOS, tvOS | Mobile app (iOS/Android assumed) |
| Founded | 1976 | 2019 |
Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Fitness).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Apple Fitness+
- Studio-style workouts
- Real-time Apple Watch metrics
- Personalized recommendations
- Time to Walk
- Meditation sessions
- Apple Music
- Health app
- SharePlay
Only in Centr
- Expert-led workouts
- Meal planning
- Mindfulness content
- Progress tracking
- Self-care routines
- Apple Health
- Android support
Both cover
- Apple Watch
- Ios support
- Web support
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Apple Fitness+
- Workout trackingnot Centr
- Nutrition managementnot Centr
- Health monitoringnot Centr
- Fitness coachingnot Centr
- Wellness improvementnot Centr
Centr
- Home gym users with existing or planned equipment investmentsnot Apple Fitness+
- Athletes training for HYROX racing or longevity-focused conditioningnot Apple Fitness+
- Users seeking equipment-integrated personalised programmingnot Apple Fitness+
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Apple Fitness+
- Restricted to Apple ecosystem, not compatible with Android devices or non-Apple platforms
- Apple Watch is required for optimal functionality and metrics tracking
- No live sessions available, only prerecorded on-demand videos
- Limited Mac support with streaming from iPhone or iPad required
- Simplified approach puts limitations compared to specialized or comprehensive fitness apps
Centr
- Centr Coach app subscription pricing not disclosed on website
- Specific app subscription terms and feature details unavailable
- Equipment is sold individually with no bundled pricing packages mentioned
Pricing, plan by plan
Apple Fitness+
$9.99/monthNo published plan breakdown. See the Apple Fitness+ review.
Centr
$29.99/one-time- Kettlebells$undefined/mo
- Dumbbell Sets$439/mo
- Benches$undefined/mo
- Weighted Vests$72/mo
Which should you pick?
Choose Apple Fitness+ if
- You need studio-style workouts.
- You work on iOS, iPadOS, tvOS.
- You also want real-time apple watch metrics.
Choose Centr if
- You need expert-led workouts.
- You work on Mobile app (iOS/Android assumed).
- You also want meal planning.
Questions people ask
- Is Apple Fitness+ or Centr better?
- Neither clearly leads. Apple Fitness+ starts at $9.99/month and Centr at $29.99/one-time, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Apple Fitness+ or Centr?
- Apple Fitness+ starts at $9.99/month and Centr at $29.99/one-time.
- Does Apple Fitness+ or Centr run on more platforms?
- Apple Fitness+ runs on iOS, iPadOS, tvOS. Centr runs on Mobile app (iOS/Android assumed).
- What is Apple Fitness+ best used for?
- Apple Fitness+ is most often used for workout tracking, nutrition management, health monitoring, fitness coaching. Of those, workout tracking and nutrition management are not what Centr is typically brought in for.
- What can Apple Fitness+ do that Centr cannot?
- Apple Fitness+ covers Studio-style workouts, Real-time Apple Watch metrics, Personalized recommendations, Time to Walk. Centr covers Expert-led workouts, Meal planning, Mindfulness content, Progress tracking. Both handle Apple Watch, Ios support, Web support.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Apple Fitness+: How much does Apple Fitness Plus cost?
Apple Fitness Plus costs $9.99/month or $79.99/year in the US. New subscribers may be eligible for a free trial with the purchase of select Apple devices.
SourceCentr: What is the cheapest Centr fitness equipment?
Centr's most affordable items are kettlebells starting at $29.99. The cheapest functional training system is Centr 1 at $899.
SourceApple Fitness+: Can you share Apple Fitness Plus with family?
Yes, Apple Fitness Plus features Family Sharing compatibility, allowing you to share your subscription with up to five family members at no additional cost.
SourceCentr: How much do Centr's premium home gyms cost?
Centr offers tiered home gyms: Centr 1 at $899, Centr 2 at $2199, Centr 3 at $3299, and the Inspire Series up to $5999.
SourceApple Fitness+: What workout types does Apple Fitness Plus offer?
Apple Fitness Plus supports a wide range of workout types including strength training, yoga, HIIT, cycling, dance, and mindful cooldowns with curated music playlists.
SourceCentr: What is the price range for Centr treadmills?
Centr's treadmills range from $1299 to $3199 depending on features and specifications.
SourceApple Fitness+: Does Apple Fitness Plus integrate with Apple Music?
Yes, one of the strongest features is Apple Music integration, with workouts synced to curated playlists that match pace and intensity.
SourceCentr: Does Centr offer a subscription service?
Yes, Centr Coach is a subscription app that pairs with Centr equipment for guided workouts tailored to fitness levels and goals, but specific subscription pricing is not publicly disclosed.
SourceApple Fitness+: What devices are required to use Apple Fitness Plus?
Apple Fitness Plus requires an Apple device such as iPhone, iPad, or Apple TV. An Apple Watch is more or less mandatory for optimal use and metrics tracking.
SourceRelated pages
More on Apple Fitness+
Other head to heads
- Apple Fitness+ vs Future
- Apple Fitness+ vs Hydrow
- Apple Fitness+ vs Mirror
- Apple Fitness+ vs Tonal
- Apple Fitness+ vs Noom
- Apple Fitness+ vs TrainHeroic
- Apple Fitness+ vs WW (WeightWatchers)
- Apple Fitness+ vs PT Distinction
- Apple Fitness+ vs TrueCoach
- Apple Fitness+ vs Mariana Tek
- Apple Fitness+ vs Trainerize
- Apple Fitness+ vs Nike Training Club
- Apple Fitness+ vs Liteboxer
- Apple Fitness+ vs Pike13
- Apple Fitness+ vs Stronger by Science
- Apple Fitness+ vs JEFIT
- Apple Fitness+ vs Gymshark Training
- Apple Fitness+ vs Tempo
- Apple Fitness+ vs Lose It!
- Apple Fitness+ vs Hevy
- Apple Fitness+ vs Sweat
- Apple Fitness+ vs WellnessLiving
- Apple Fitness+ vs Insight Timer
- Apple Fitness+ vs Sleep Cycle
- Apple Fitness+ vs ABC Fitness
- Apple Fitness+ vs Eight Sleep
- Centr vs Future
- Centr vs Hydrow
- Centr vs Mirror
- Centr vs Tonal
- Centr vs Noom
- Centr vs TrainHeroic
- Centr vs WW (WeightWatchers)
- Centr vs PT Distinction
- Centr vs TrueCoach
- Centr vs Mariana Tek
- Centr vs Trainerize
- Centr vs Nike Training Club
- Centr vs Liteboxer
- Centr vs Pike13
- Centr vs Stronger by Science
- Centr vs JEFIT
- Centr vs Gymshark Training
- Centr vs Tempo
- Centr vs Lose It!
- Centr vs Hevy
- Centr vs Sweat
- Centr vs WellnessLiving
- Centr vs Insight Timer
- Centr vs Sleep Cycle
- Centr vs ABC Fitness
- Centr vs Eight Sleep


