Accounting · head to head
Adyen vs Square

Adyen
Accounting
The payments platform built for growth
- From
- $0.13/per-transaction
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Only Square has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: Adyen there is a minimum monthly invoice, set by industry and business model and only disclosed through the sales team, so small volumes are not economic; Square plus plan pricing not specified in documentation
- They diverge on capability: Adyen covers Risk management, Square covers Point of sale.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Adyen and Square actually diverge.
Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Adyen
- Risk management
- Unified commerce
- Issuing
- Platform payments
- SAP
- Salesforce
- Oracle
- PCI DSS Level 1
Only in Square
- Point of sale
- Invoicing
- Payroll
- Banking
- QuickBooks
- WooCommerce
- Wix
- PCI DSS
Both cover
- Payment processing
- Web support
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Adyen
- Card acquiring with interchange plus pricing for larger merchantsnot Square
- Accepting local payment methods across multiple countriesnot Square
- Settling in several currencies through linked bank accountsnot Square
- Unified online and in-person paymentsnot Square
Square
- Accept payments with all-in-one POS applicationnot Adyen
- Online ordering and basic website creationnot Adyen
- Invoicing and appointment bookingnot Adyen
- Staff scheduling and loyalty programmesnot Adyen
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Adyen
- There is a minimum monthly invoice, set by industry and business model and only disclosed through the sales team, so small volumes are not economic
- Published fees are indicative rather than a rate card, with real pricing negotiated
- Interchange++ means the card cost varies per transaction rather than being a single predictable percentage
- Alternative payment methods carry their own rates on top, such as 3.3 percent plus $0.10 for American Express in North America
Square
- Plus plan pricing not specified in documentation
- Processing fees differ by tier but exact rates not detailed
- Free plan pricing mentioned but specific features for Plus unclear
- Text marketing charged at 3¢ per message after first 500 included
Pricing, plan by plan
Adyen
$0.13/per-transaction- Transaction-Based Pricing$undefined/mo
- Fixed $0.13 USD per transaction
- Variable fee determined by payment method
- No setup fees
Square
Free- FreeFree
- Accept payments with all-in-one POS app
- Online site builder (ordering profiles, basic websites, online stores, booking sites)
- Item library and inventory tracking
- Plus$null/mo
- All Free plan features
- Advanced POS features for food, retail, and appointments
- Lower processing fees on card transactions
Which should you pick?
Choose Adyen if
- You need risk management.
- You work on Web, Api, Pos.
- You also want unified commerce.
Choose Square if
- You need point of sale.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on POS (Mobile app), Web.
- You also want invoicing.
Questions people ask
- Is Adyen or Square better?
- Neither clearly leads. Adyen starts at $0.13/per-transaction and Square at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Adyen or Square?
- Square has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at $0.13/per-transaction for Adyen and Free for Square.
- Does Adyen or Square run on more platforms?
- Adyen runs on Web, Api, Pos. Square runs on POS (Mobile app), Web.
- Can I use Square for free?
- Yes. Square has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Adyen starts at $0.13/per-transaction.
- What is Adyen best used for?
- Adyen is most often used for card acquiring with interchange plus pricing for larger merchants, accepting local payment methods across multiple countries, settling in several currencies through linked bank accounts, unified online and in-person payments. Of those, card acquiring with interchange plus pricing for larger merchants and accepting local payment methods across multiple countries are not what Square is typically brought in for.
- What can Adyen do that Square cannot?
- Adyen covers Risk management, Unified commerce, Issuing, Platform payments. Square covers Point of sale, Invoicing, Payroll, Banking. Both handle Payment processing, Web support.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Adyen: How much does Adyen charge per transaction?
Adyen charges a fixed $0.13 USD per transaction plus a variable fee based on the payment method used. Credit cards typically cost $0.13 + 0.60% + interchange, while digital wallets and BNPL options cost between $0.13 + 0.99% to $0.13 + 4.99%+, depending on the specific method and region.
SourceSquare: Does Square offer a free plan?
Yes, Square's free plan includes an all-in-one POS app, online site builder, item library and inventory tracking, invoicing, appointment scheduling, staff calendars, and checking and savings account access. No subscription fees are charged.
SourceAdyen: Does Adyen have monthly subscription or setup fees?
No, Adyen has no setup fees or monthly recurring charges. You pay only for each transaction processed. The transaction fee structure remains the same regardless of transaction volume or business size.
SourceSquare: What does Square Plus add compared to the free plan?
Square Plus adds advanced POS features for food and retail, lower processing fees on card transactions, custom loyalty programs, unlimited email marketing campaigns, text messaging, and staff scheduling and attendance tracking.
SourceAdyen: What's Adyen's Interchange++ pricing option?
Adyen offers an Interchange++ transparent pricing model that passes interchange and scheme fees directly to merchants instead of bundling them into a percentage rate. This allows visibility into exact costs for each payment method.
SourceAdyen: Can I process payments in multiple currencies with Adyen?
Yes, Adyen supports 100+ payment methods across multiple currencies. You can link multiple bank accounts in different currencies to avoid currency conversion fees on international transactions.
SourceRelated pages
Other head to heads
- Adyen vs Melio
- Adyen vs Ramp
- Adyen vs Airbase
- Adyen vs QuickBooks
- Adyen vs Dodo Payments
- Adyen vs Paddle
- Adyen vs Polar
- Adyen vs Invoice2go
- Adyen vs Zuora
- Adyen vs Medius
- Adyen vs Veem
- Adyen vs Wise Business
- Adyen vs Lexware
- Adyen vs Maxio
- Adyen vs Paychex
- Adyen vs Payoneer
- Adyen vs Rydoo
- Adyen vs Stripe
- Adyen vs KORONA POS
- Adyen vs Heartland Retail
- Adyen vs Shopkeep
- Adyen vs Toast
- Adyen vs BigCommerce
- Adyen vs Medusa
- Adyen vs Retail Pro
- Adyen vs Magento
- Adyen vs Squarespace Commerce
- Adyen vs AliExpress
- Adyen vs commercetools
- Adyen vs Depop
- Adyen vs Mercari
- Adyen vs Poshmark
- Adyen vs Shein
- Adyen vs Temu
- Square vs Melio
- Square vs Ramp
- Square vs Airbase
- Square vs QuickBooks
- Square vs Dodo Payments
- Square vs Paddle
- Square vs Polar
- Square vs Invoice2go
- Square vs Zuora
- Square vs Medius
- Square vs Veem
- Square vs Wise Business
- Square vs Lexware
- Square vs Maxio
- Square vs Paychex
- Square vs Payoneer
- Square vs Rydoo
- Square vs Stripe
- Square vs KORONA POS
- Square vs Heartland Retail
- Square vs Shopkeep
- Square vs Toast
- Square vs BigCommerce
- Square vs Medusa
- Square vs Retail Pro
- Square vs Magento
- Square vs Squarespace Commerce
- Square vs AliExpress
- Square vs commercetools
- Square vs Depop
- Square vs Mercari
- Square vs Poshmark
- Square vs Shein
- Square vs Temu

