Softwr

Smart Home · head to head

Blynk vs Zigbee Alliance

Blynk logo

Blynk

Smart Home

IoT cloud platform with mobile app builder for connected devices

From
Free
Rated
-
Zigbee Alliance logo

Zigbee Alliance

Smart Home

Low-power wireless standard for IoT and smart home

From
Free
Rated
-

The short version

  • Each has a real cost: Blynk the free tier covers 5 devices, 1 user, 100,000 messages and one week of data retention; Zigbee Alliance the Internet Archive's capture of the Connectivity Standards Alliance's Zigbee page on 4 January 2024 confirmed Zigbee is a protocol standard rather than a purchased product, with the Alliance's revenue coming from member dues and per-device certification fees rather than a software price list.
  • They diverge on capability: Blynk covers Mobile App Builder, Zigbee Alliance covers Low Power.
  • Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.

Where they differ

Only the attributes on which Blynk and Zigbee Alliance actually diverge.

Attributes where Blynk and Zigbee Alliance differ
AttributeBlynkZigbee Alliance
Pricing modelfreemiumopen-source
PlatformsIOS, Android, Web, Any IoT deviceZigbee devices, Mesh networks, Smart home hubs, IoT platforms
Founded20122002

Identical on both: starting price (Free), free tier (Yes), user rating (Not yet rated), category (Smart Home).

What each one covers

Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.

Only in Blynk

  • Mobile App Builder
  • No-Code Interface
  • Real-Time Control
  • Cloud Storage
  • REST API
  • WebHooks
  • Mobile app
  • Cloud platform

Only in Zigbee Alliance

  • Low Power
  • Mesh Networking
  • Self-Healing
  • Scalable
  • Smart home devices
  • Hubs
  • Controllers
  • Integration platforms

What people use each for

The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.

Blynk

  • Connecting IoT hardware to a hosted dashboard and mobile appnot Zigbee Alliance
  • Over-the-air firmware updates to fleets of devicesnot Zigbee Alliance
  • Automations triggered by device datanot Zigbee Alliance
  • White-label device apps for a hardware productnot Zigbee Alliance
  • Prototyping connected devices before committing to infrastructurenot Zigbee Alliance

Zigbee Alliance

  • Smart lightingnot Blynk
  • Sensor networksnot Blynk
  • Home automationnot Blynk
  • Industrial monitoringnot Blynk

Where each one falls short

Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.

Blynk

  • The free tier covers 5 devices, 1 user, 100,000 messages and one week of data retention
  • Data retention is tiered all the way up, reaching 12 months only on Enterprise
  • Automations and webhooks are rationed, from 5 scenarios and 1 webhook on free to 100 or more on Production
  • Over-the-air update campaigns are capped by tier, at 2 shipments on free and Starter
  • Production plans run from $199 to $1,099 a month depending on device count

Zigbee Alliance

  • The Internet Archive's capture of the Connectivity Standards Alliance's Zigbee page on 4 January 2024 confirmed Zigbee is a protocol standard rather than a purchased product, with the Alliance's revenue coming from member dues and per-device certification fees rather than a software price list.

Pricing, plan by plan

Blynk

Free
  • FreeFree
    • 5 devices, 1 user
    • 1 week data retention
    • 100,000 messages/month
  • Starter$29/month
    • 10 devices, 1 user
    • 1 month data retention
    • 10,000,000 messages/month
  • Prototype$99/month
    • 50 devices and users
    • 6 months data retention
    • Unlimited messages/month
  • Production$199/month
    • 100-1000 devices and users
    • 12 months data retention
    • Unlimited messages/month

Zigbee Alliance

Free
  • Open SpecificationFree
    • Low power mesh
    • Self-healing
    • Interoperable

Which should you pick?

Choose Blynk if

  • You need mobile app builder.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on IOS, Android, Web, Any IoT device.
  • You also want no-code interface.

Choose Zigbee Alliance if

  • You need low power.
  • You want to start without paying.
  • You work on Zigbee devices, Mesh networks, Smart home hubs, IoT platforms.
  • You also want mesh networking.

Questions people ask

Is Blynk or Zigbee Alliance better?
Neither clearly leads. Blynk starts at Free and Zigbee Alliance at Free, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
Which is cheaper, Blynk or Zigbee Alliance?
Blynk starts at Free and Zigbee Alliance at Free.
Does Blynk or Zigbee Alliance run on more platforms?
Blynk runs on IOS, Android, Web, Any IoT device. Zigbee Alliance runs on Zigbee devices, Mesh networks, Smart home hubs, IoT platforms.
Can I use Blynk for free?
Both have a free tier, so you can try either at no cost before committing.
What is Blynk best used for?
Blynk is most often used for connecting iot hardware to a hosted dashboard and mobile app, over-the-air firmware updates to fleets of devices, automations triggered by device data, white-label device apps for a hardware product. Of those, connecting iot hardware to a hosted dashboard and mobile app and over-the-air firmware updates to fleets of devices are not what Zigbee Alliance is typically brought in for.
What can Blynk do that Zigbee Alliance cannot?
Blynk covers Mobile App Builder, No-Code Interface, Real-Time Control, Cloud Storage. Zigbee Alliance covers Low Power, Mesh Networking, Self-Healing, Scalable.

Answered from the vendors’ own pages

Blynk: How much does Blynk cost?

Free plan available; Starter is $29/month; Prototype is $99/month; Production ranges $199-1,099/month; Enterprise has custom pricing.

Source
Zigbee Alliance: Does the Connectivity Standards Alliance charge membership fees?

Membership information is not publicly disclosed on the main website. Prospective members must contact the organization directly or access the member login portal at community.csa-iot.org.

Source
Blynk: What device and user limits does Blynk have?

Free plan supports 5 devices and 1 user. Starter supports 10 devices and 1 user. Prototype supports 50 devices and users. Production supports 100-1,000 devices and users. Enterprise offers custom limits.

Source
Zigbee Alliance: What are the costs for CSA certification or standards development?

Pricing for certification and standards development services is not posted online. Contact the CSA directly through their contact page for specific pricing.

Source
Blynk: How long does Blynk retain data?

Free plan retains data for 1 week. Starter for 1 month. Prototype for 6 months. Production for 12 months. Enterprise can customize retention period.

Source
Zigbee Alliance: Is there a free tier or trial for CSA services?

The homepage does not disclose trial or free tier information. Contact the organization to learn about available options.

Source
Blynk: What message limits apply to Blynk plans?

Free plan includes 100,000 messages/month. Starter allows 10 million messages/month. Prototype and Production tiers include unlimited messages.

Source
Share

Related pages

Other head to heads