E-Commerce · head to head
Square vs Swell Commerce
The short version
- Only Square has a free tier, so it costs nothing to try first.
- Each has a real cost: Square plus plan pricing not specified in documentation; Swell Commerce each plan carries an annual revenue ceiling, and exceeding it is charged as a percentage of the excess: 2 percent on Starter down to 0.4 percent on Unlimited
- They diverge on capability: Square covers Payment processing, Swell Commerce covers Headless architecture.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which Square and Swell Commerce actually diverge.
| Attribute | Square | Swell Commerce |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free | $29/month |
| Pricing model | freemium | subscription |
| Free tier | Yes | No |
| Platforms | POS (Mobile app), Web | Web |
| Founded | 2009 | 2019 |
Identical on both: user rating (Not yet rated), category (E-Commerce).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in Square
- Payment processing
- Point of sale
- Invoicing
- Payroll
- Banking
- QuickBooks
- WooCommerce
- Wix
Only in Swell Commerce
- Headless architecture
- GraphQL & REST APIs
- Subscription commerce
- Multi-currency support
- Inventory management
- Custom checkout
- Webhook integrations
- Developer-friendly SDK
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
Square
- Accept payments with all-in-one POS applicationnot Swell Commerce
- Online ordering and basic website creationnot Swell Commerce
- Invoicing and appointment bookingnot Swell Commerce
- Staff scheduling and loyalty programmesnot Swell Commerce
Swell Commerce
- Running a headless commerce backend with APIs for a custom storefrontnot Square
- Selling subscription products alongside one off purchasesnot Square
- Operating multi currency stores from one commerce backendnot Square
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
Square
- Plus plan pricing not specified in documentation
- Processing fees differ by tier but exact rates not detailed
- Free plan pricing mentioned but specific features for Plus unclear
- Text marketing charged at 3¢ per message after first 500 included
Swell Commerce
- Each plan carries an annual revenue ceiling, and exceeding it is charged as a percentage of the excess: 2 percent on Starter down to 0.4 percent on Unlimited
- Starter at $29 a month allows 2 admin users and includes only 100,000 API requests and 1GB of storage per month
- Additional API requests cost $5 per 100,000 and extra storage $5 per GB
- Role based permissions and developer support are restricted to the Unlimited plan at $2,250 a month
- Advanced reports and priced currencies require the Standard plan or higher
- Published prices are the billed yearly rates, so monthly billing costs more
Pricing, plan by plan
Square
Free- FreeFree
- Accept payments with all-in-one POS app
- Online site builder (ordering profiles, basic websites, online stores, booking sites)
- Item library and inventory tracking
- Plus$null/mo
- All Free plan features
- Advanced POS features for food, retail, and appointments
- Lower processing fees on card transactions
Swell Commerce
$29/month- Starter$29/month
- Up to $50K annual revenue
- Basic reports
- Up to 5 admin users
- Basic$79/month
- Up to $250K annual revenue
- Most popular plan
- Basic reports
- Standard$299/month
- Up to $1M annual revenue
- Advanced reports
- Up to 15 admin users
- Unlimited$2250/month
- Up to $5M annual revenue
- Unlimited scalability and granular control
- Unlimited admin users
Which should you pick?
Choose Square if
- You need payment processing.
- You want to start without paying.
- You work on POS (Mobile app), Web.
- You also want point of sale.
Choose Swell Commerce if
- You need headless architecture.
- You also want graphql & rest apis.
Questions people ask
- Is Square or Swell Commerce better?
- Neither clearly leads. Square starts at Free and Swell Commerce at $29/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, Square or Swell Commerce?
- Square has a free tier; the other does not. Paid plans start at Free for Square and $29/month for Swell Commerce.
- Does Square or Swell Commerce run on more platforms?
- Square runs on POS (Mobile app), Web. Swell Commerce runs on Web.
- Can I use Square for free?
- Yes. Square has a free tier, so you can try it without paying. Swell Commerce starts at $29/month.
- What is Square best used for?
- Square is most often used for accept payments with all-in-one pos application, online ordering and basic website creation, invoicing and appointment booking, staff scheduling and loyalty programmes. Of those, accept payments with all-in-one pos application and online ordering and basic website creation are not what Swell Commerce is typically brought in for.
- What can Square do that Swell Commerce cannot?
- Square covers Payment processing, Point of sale, Invoicing, Payroll. Swell Commerce covers Headless architecture, GraphQL & REST APIs, Subscription commerce, Multi-currency support.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
Square: Does Square offer a free plan?
Yes, Square's free plan includes an all-in-one POS app, online site builder, item library and inventory tracking, invoicing, appointment scheduling, staff calendars, and checking and savings account access. No subscription fees are charged.
SourceSwell Commerce: How much does Swell Commerce cost?
Swell offers four tiers starting at $29 per month for Starter and going up to $2,250 per month for Unlimited. Annual billing provides a 25% discount compared to monthly billing. All prices are in USD.
SourceSquare: What does Square Plus add compared to the free plan?
Square Plus adds advanced POS features for food and retail, lower processing fees on card transactions, custom loyalty programs, unlimited email marketing campaigns, text messaging, and staff scheduling and attendance tracking.
SourceSwell Commerce: What are Swell's revenue tier overages?
Each plan includes a revenue ceiling based on 12-month trailing sales. Starter allows up to $50K with 2% overage, Basic allows $250K with 1.5% overage, Standard allows $1M with 1% overage, and Unlimited allows $5M with 0.4% overage. Custom plans are available for merchants exceeding $10M annually.
SourceRelated pages
More on Swell Commerce
Other head to heads
- Square vs Stripe
- Square vs KORONA POS
- Square vs Heartland Retail
- Square vs Shopkeep
- Square vs Toast
- Square vs BigCommerce
- Square vs Medusa
- Square vs Retail Pro
- Square vs Magento
- Square vs Squarespace Commerce
- Square vs AliExpress
- Square vs commercetools
- Square vs Temu
- Square vs Vinted
- Square vs Klarna
- Square vs NCR Voyix
- Square vs Checkout.com
- Square vs Vendure
- Square vs Contentful
- Square vs Braze
- Square vs Oracle Commerce
- Square vs Saleor
- Square vs Shopify
- Square vs CJ Dropshipping
- Square vs eBay
- Square vs Erply
- Square vs FastSpring
- Swell Commerce vs Stripe
- Swell Commerce vs KORONA POS
- Swell Commerce vs Heartland Retail
- Swell Commerce vs Shopkeep
- Swell Commerce vs Toast
- Swell Commerce vs BigCommerce
- Swell Commerce vs Medusa
- Swell Commerce vs Retail Pro
- Swell Commerce vs Magento
- Swell Commerce vs Squarespace Commerce
- Swell Commerce vs AliExpress
- Swell Commerce vs commercetools
- Swell Commerce vs Temu
- Swell Commerce vs Vinted
- Swell Commerce vs Klarna
- Swell Commerce vs NCR Voyix
- Swell Commerce vs Checkout.com
- Swell Commerce vs Vendure
- Swell Commerce vs Contentful
- Swell Commerce vs Braze
- Swell Commerce vs Oracle Commerce
- Swell Commerce vs Saleor
- Swell Commerce vs Shopify
- Swell Commerce vs CJ Dropshipping
- Swell Commerce vs eBay
- Swell Commerce vs Erply
- Swell Commerce vs FastSpring


