Cybersecurity · head to head
NordVPN vs Reflect

NordVPN
Cybersecurity
Consumer and business VPN from Nord Security, registered in Panama, with repeated third-party no-logs audits.
- From
- $3.99/month
- Rated
- -
The short version
- Each has a real cost: NordVPN a server in a Finnish datacentre was accessed in March 2018 through a remote management interface left exposed by the hosting provider, and NordVPN did not disclose it until October 2019, so a buyer relying on the company's transparency is relying on a track record that includes a nineteen-month delay.; Reflect no free tier or free plan option
- They diverge on capability: NordVPN covers NordLynx, Reflect covers Bidirectional links.
- Prices and features above were last checked on 30 August 2026.
Where they differ
Only the attributes on which NordVPN and Reflect actually diverge.
Identical on both: free tier (No), user rating (Not yet rated).
What each one covers
Drawn from each product's published feature list. An absence here means we hold no record of it - not that the product lacks it.
Only in NordVPN
- NordLynx
- Audited no-logs policy
- RAM-only servers
- Threat Protection
- Obfuscated servers
- Double VPN
- Kill switch
- Dedicated IP
Only in Reflect
- Bidirectional links
- End-to-end encryption
- AI assistant
- Instant sync
- Daily notes
- Chrome extension
- Calendar sync
- Kindle highlights
What people use each for
The jobs each tool is most often brought in to do.
NordVPN
- A buyer choosing on evidence rather than claims, who wants a no-logs policy that has been audited more than once by a named firmnot Reflect
- Households and individuals wanting one subscription across ten devices including a smart TVnot Reflect
- Travellers and remote workers on hotel and airport networks who need obfuscation where plain VPN protocols are blockednot Reflect
- Small teams needing basic remote access to a shared resource, via the NordLayer business product rather than the consumer appnot Reflect
Reflect
- Productivitynot NordVPN
- Collaborationnot NordVPN
- Task managementnot NordVPN
- Organizationnot NordVPN
Where each one falls short
Documented limitations, not opinions. Every one is a constraint you would hit in normal use.
NordVPN
- A server in a Finnish datacentre was accessed in March 2018 through a remote management interface left exposed by the hosting provider, and NordVPN did not disclose it until October 2019, so a buyer relying on the company's transparency is relying on a track record that includes a nineteen-month delay.
- Pricing depends on a long initial term and reverts to the standard rate at renewal, so the monthly figure that justified the purchase is not what the subscriber pays in the third year, and the cheapest way to stay is usually to cancel and re-subscribe.
- Panamanian registration is selected for the absence of a data retention law, but it also means a subscriber with a dispute has little practical recourse, and the protection rests on a corporate structure the customer cannot inspect or enforce against.
- NordLynx is unavailable for manual and router configurations, so the one device that could cover an entire home network falls back to OpenVPN or IKEv2 with the associated throughput loss, and obfuscated servers likewise only run over OpenVPN.
- Features such as Threat Protection are implemented in the client rather than in the network, so any device using a manual configuration, a router or an unsupported platform receives a bare tunnel without the protections the subscription is sold on.
Reflect
- No free tier or free plan option
- Losing your password means permanent data loss with no recovery option
- Shared notes are not end-to-end encrypted despite platform marketing encryption
- AI features send your content to OpenAI servers (30-day retention)
- Mobile apps have limited offline functionality compared to desktop
Pricing, plan by plan
NordVPN
$3.99/month- Standard$3.99/month
- 6 devices
- 5,500+ servers
- Threat Protection Lite
- Plus$4.99/month
- All Standard features
- Threat Protection Pro
- NordPass password manager
- Complete$5.99/month
- All Plus features
- NordLocker 1TB encrypted cloud
- Identity theft protection
Reflect
$10/monthNo published plan breakdown. See the Reflect review.
Which should you pick?
Choose NordVPN if
- You need nordlynx.
- You work on Web, Desktop, Mobile, Api.
- You also want audited no-logs policy.
Choose Reflect if
- You need bidirectional links.
- You work on Web, macOS, Windows, iOS.
- You also want end-to-end encryption.
Questions people ask
- Is NordVPN or Reflect better?
- Neither clearly leads. NordVPN starts at $3.99/month and Reflect at $10/month, and user ratings are close enough to be indistinguishable. Choose on capability and platform support.
- Which is cheaper, NordVPN or Reflect?
- NordVPN starts at $3.99/month and Reflect at $10/month.
- Does NordVPN or Reflect run on more platforms?
- NordVPN runs on Web, Desktop, Mobile, Api. Reflect runs on Web, macOS, Windows, iOS.
- What is NordVPN best used for?
- NordVPN is most often used for a buyer choosing on evidence rather than claims, who wants a no-logs policy that has been audited more than once by a named firm, households and individuals wanting one subscription across ten devices including a smart tv, travellers and remote workers on hotel and airport networks who need obfuscation where plain vpn protocols are blocked, small teams needing basic remote access to a shared resource, via the nordlayer business product rather than the consumer app. Of those, a buyer choosing on evidence rather than claims, who wants a no-logs policy that has been audited more than once by a named firm and households and individuals wanting one subscription across ten devices including a smart tv are not what Reflect is typically brought in for.
- What can NordVPN do that Reflect cannot?
- NordVPN covers NordLynx, Audited no-logs policy, RAM-only servers, Threat Protection. Reflect covers Bidirectional links, End-to-end encryption, AI assistant, Instant sync.
Answered from the vendors’ own pages
NordVPN: What jurisdiction is NordVPN under?
The VPN service company is registered in Panama, which has no mandatory data retention law for these services. The wider Nord Security group operates from Lithuania.
Reflect: Is there a free tier?
No. Reflect offers only a 14-day free trial before requiring $10/month (billed annually). There is no free plan.
SourceNordVPN: Has the no-logs claim actually been audited?
Yes, more than once. PwC Switzerland examined it in 2018 and 2020 and Deloitte in later engagements. Each is a point-in-time assurance report over stated policy and server configuration, not ongoing monitoring.
Reflect: Does Reflect work offline?
Yes, editing and note-taking work offline on desktop. Mobile apps have offline limitations compared to the desktop experience.
SourceNordVPN: What happened in the 2018 breach?
An attacker reached one rented server in Finland via an insecure remote management tool left in place by the datacentre provider, and obtained a TLS key that had expired. NordVPN disclosed it in October 2019, nineteen months later, and afterwards moved the estate to RAM-only servers.
Reflect: How secure is my data?
Reflect uses end-to-end encryption with XChaCha20-Poly1305. An independent audit by Doyensec found no vulnerabilities. However, audio for transcription and text sent to AI features are processed by OpenAI servers (retained 30 days per OpenAI policy).
SourceNordVPN: How many devices does one subscription cover?
Ten simultaneous connections. A router configured with the service counts as one connection regardless of how many devices sit behind it.
Reflect: Can I export my notes?
Yes. Reflect allows export of your notes, though the primary export method involves using their web and iOS apps with standard export capabilities.
SourceNordVPN: Does it work on restrictive networks?
There are obfuscated servers intended for networks that block VPN protocols, but they run over OpenVPN only and no provider can guarantee access in a country that actively filters. Treat it as best effort.
Related pages
Other head to heads
- NordVPN vs Surfshark
- NordVPN vs 1Password
- NordVPN vs Norton 360
- NordVPN vs LastPass
- NordVPN vs Bitdefender Total Security
- NordVPN vs ExpressVPN
- NordVPN vs IVPN
- NordVPN vs Mullvad VPN
- NordVPN vs Private Internet Access
- NordVPN vs Avast One
- NordVPN vs TunnelBear
- NordVPN vs JumpCloud
- NordVPN vs McAfee Total Protection
- NordVPN vs NICE Actimize
- NordVPN vs Semgrep
- NordVPN vs Spot AI
- NordVPN vs Syft
- NordVPN vs CyberGhost VPN
- NordVPN vs Tana
- NordVPN vs Capacities
- NordVPN vs Fastmail
- NordVPN vs DeskTime
- NordVPN vs LibreOffice
- NordVPN vs Bear Notes
- NordVPN vs AnyList
- NordVPN vs Bear
- NordVPN vs Things 3
- NordVPN vs Foxit PDF Editor
- NordVPN vs TickTick
- NordVPN vs Day One
- NordVPN vs Akiflow
- NordVPN vs Any.do
- NordVPN vs Forest
- NordVPN vs HEY
- NordVPN vs Hubstaff
- NordVPN vs Mealime
- Reflect vs Surfshark
- Reflect vs 1Password
- Reflect vs Norton 360
- Reflect vs LastPass
- Reflect vs Bitdefender Total Security
- Reflect vs ExpressVPN
- Reflect vs IVPN
- Reflect vs Mullvad VPN
- Reflect vs Private Internet Access
- Reflect vs Avast One
- Reflect vs TunnelBear
- Reflect vs JumpCloud
- Reflect vs McAfee Total Protection
- Reflect vs NICE Actimize
- Reflect vs Semgrep
- Reflect vs Spot AI
- Reflect vs Syft
- Reflect vs CyberGhost VPN
- Reflect vs Tana
- Reflect vs Capacities
- Reflect vs Fastmail
- Reflect vs DeskTime
- Reflect vs LibreOffice
- Reflect vs Bear Notes
- Reflect vs AnyList
- Reflect vs Bear
- Reflect vs Things 3
- Reflect vs Foxit PDF Editor
- Reflect vs TickTick
- Reflect vs Day One
- Reflect vs Akiflow
- Reflect vs Any.do
- Reflect vs Forest
- Reflect vs HEY
- Reflect vs Hubstaff
- Reflect vs Mealime

